We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our third stay”
other travelers have booked this property
La Bergerie 200 year old farmhouse in the ancient village of Eus, un plus beaux villages de France
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
La Bergerie 200 year old farmhouse in the ancient village of Eus, un plus beaux villages de France
Eus climbing up the valley with 18th Century Church of Saint Vincent perched on top New kitchen 2017, induction hobs, marble tops and an island.  Cooks paradise.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
La Bergerie 200 year old farmhouse in the ancient village of Eus, un plus beaux villages de France
Eus climbing up the valley with 18th Century Church of Saint Vincent perched on top
New kitchen 2017, induction hobs, marble tops and an island.  Cooks paradise.
New master en suite 2017
Long lunches by the pool
Spacious master bedroom with en suite bathroom and original exposed stone feature walls
Double bedroom, flooded with early morning light, why not treat yourself to breakfast in bed?
Double bedroom with en suite shower room and WC
A quite corner to sit and read in the shade
One of the two twin bedded rooms
The other twin bedded room
Comfortable lounge, cool and airy in summer, warm and toasty in the winter, with a cosy log fire
Whether you want gourmet dinners or quick snacks we have all the equipment you could need.
Which to choose, dinner on the terrace with the village of Eus as a magnificent backdrop or.......
....dinner on the terrace with the stunning view of Mount Canigou as a backdrop?
Family bathroom, all bathrooms have heaters or heated towels rails
Relax by the pool with a good book and a glass of something long and icy cold
La Bergerie with Eus peeking out in the background
The Mimosas in spring give the village a golden glow and the fragrance is like no other.
The 18th Century Church of Saint Vincent keeps a watchful eye over the village
Wander through the narrow cobbled streets search out a multitude of small artists studios and shops
Craft market in Eus on one of the village squares in the summer
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Prades, Pyrenees-Orientales, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
walkerhb
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Our third stay”
Reviewed May 21, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We enjoy staying at La Bergerie so much we keep going back. It has a great position, good amenities, fabulous views and so many places to visit. Everything is comfortable and the upstairs is split up in such a way as to allow different families to have their own areas. We were the first to test run the new kitchen and master bathroom, which were excellent and hitch free. The weather was even warm enough to use the pool.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 22, 2017
Thank you, we're pleased you enjoyed your stay again and that you liked the new kitchen and master bathroom. We look forward to meeting you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithaCha...
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Majestic French Property”
Reviewed October 22, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Two family of fours stayed here in October and we had a great time. Plenty of space and we'll equipped kitchen with great open living room with open fire . (Logs were chargeable in October ). Bedrooms were very comfortable with John Lewis bedding, pillows, decor and throughout. Strong Wi-Fi kept the teenagers happy and the owner bad good books, good tourist info and good walk guides. We paid £750 for the week and this was good value. Eus village is 500 meters walk to the church at the top of the hill. We also walked to the abandoned village of Comes from Eus which is well signposted and a good 2 1/2 hour walk there and back. Eus lived up to its label as the sunniest village HM France!. Hope you found this review useful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polali
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Incroyable!!”
Reviewed July 16, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I cannot recommend La Bergerie more highly, nor the assistance we received from the property's caretaker, Julie. After following the detailed directions we arrived at the house in Eus and were blown away by the stunning setting, with views across the valley and towards the mountains in one direction then up to the beautiful village above in the other. The house was incredibly well equipped for our party of four adults and five children, especially the kitchen that had every conceivable pot, utensil and modcon you could wish for. The pool was perfect and although not fenced off the alarm system gave us the peace of mind we needed with five children aged from 8 to 16 months. The location is fabulous, with a cafe bistrot and a fantastic tapas restaurant a short walk away up the hill. There is a hypermarket a very short drive away in Prades and lots of interesting places to visit nearby such as Villefranche and the Little Yellow Train. As a keen runner, I was spoilt for choice with the beautiful trails up and around the hills practically on the doorstep. We had a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing break and with any luck will be returning in the future.

Traveling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francevis...
Uk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Truly Amazing Holiday”
Reviewed February 6, 2016 for a stay in August 2015

Incredible views met us on arrival at La Bergerie. To the north, the stunning village of Eus seems to tumble down the hillside towards La Bergerie. To the south and across the fertile Têt valley, Canigo rises to a magnificent 9,000 feet. We could even see the small glacier close to its summit.

La Bergerie is really well equipped and to a high standard. The pool alarm, the fire blanket & extinguisher and the smoke & CO alarms made me feel really safe. These were important to me as I have three very active girls. Touches like UK adapters in all rooms were welcome. I was really happy to find that ten pool towels were also provided – that was a first for me!

The TV and internet just worked. The girls were happy that they could watch UK television and Netflix when the sun was at its fiercest. Watching Mia and Me on Netflix was an unexpected bonus for the girls! The internet was fast and reliable.

The pool was clean and inviting with several pool toys available. The pool had been cleaned before we arrived and once during our stay. We had great difficulty getting the girls to get out of it – even to eat!

The region has lots to offer to a family. We visited the animal park at Casteil, the pool at Vernet les Bains (with slides, toys, etc), the water park at Les Argeles and the beautiful seaside village of Collioure. We also took a trip on the Petit Train Jaune to the ski stations in the High Pyrenees. My husband even babysat for one afternoon whilst I visited the spa at Moltig les Bains for a little pampering!

All in all we spent a fabulous week at La Bergerie and didn’t want to leave. The house is as described, very well equipped and everything worked. The region is a delight. It offers something for both adults and children. I would recommend La Bergerie without reservation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool, TV and WiFi
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 7, 2016
Thank you for the glowing review, don't forget we offer a discount to returning guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorothy F
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Blissful Escape from Life Inside the M25”
Reviewed January 21, 2016 for a stay in September 2015

After leaving the trunk roads behind, we drove for 20-30 minutes on deserted roads, through pretty countryside to find La Bergerie nestling invitingly into the hillside below the outstanding medieval village of Eus.

On entering, we were charmed by the rustic interior with exposed stone walls, beams and tiled floors. The location and the barn together immediately creating a feeling of ease and relaxation that simply got stronger day by day. The kitchen had everything we needed readily to hand and the open plan dining made for informality and togetherness. Beds were extremely comfortable and the showers had great pressure.

We loved having supper outside on the pool terrace with the lights of the village twinkling above us. Later, we lolled on squashy sofas and relished the luxury of being able to watch our favourite programmes on the full English TV service. What with that and the internet, it was all gain and no pain.

La Bergerie is perfectly placed for outings. More very interesting places than we could visit in two weeks, mostly within an hour's easy drive, and as before through traffic free beautiful scenery. I should not fail to mention the fantastic SuperU supermarket only a 10 minute drive away with absolutely every requirement catered for, including fresh French deli.

We didn't want to leave and can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character of property. Location
Liked least: Nothing in particular. Leaving!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah L
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“We loved this place!”
Reviewed September 14, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We loved this place! Beautiful setting at the bottom of Eus with great views of the village and the mountains on the other side. We found the house spacious and clean with a host of mod cons and an excellent TV set up with loads of channels. We particularly like the outside with the BBQ and large covered area to eat and drink but the star is the pool and the most comfortable loungers we have ever sat in. All in all, a very lovely and memorable stay. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: leaving!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J G
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Lack of attention to detail”
Reviewed June 29, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Visited La Bergerie for 11 nights June 2015.

On arrival cleaning issues were noted below the level of what was expected.
. All horizontal surfaces required cleaning in the kitchen and bedrooms and this was more than just
settled dust.
. Finger marks on mirrors and low level vertical glass panels.
. The agent admitted that the master bedroom had not been cleaned at all other than to change
the sheets
. Cups had brown stains inside, plates and glasses required washing to remove marks that were
more than dishwasher streaks.
. Water left in coffee machine
. Greasy pizza boxes left in the waste paper for fire lighting basket.
. Pile of wall dust on the landing.
. During the stay whilst using the floor duster it was pushed under the bed in the second en suite
and a quantity of dust and fluff were dragged out which had accumulated over quite a period.
. Oven required cleaning.
. The barbecue was extremely dirty and the first intended barbecue had to be cancelled until it was
cleaned.
The above are basic cleaning issues which should automatically be addressed after every let. The agent explained that there had been a lot to do after the previous let and they had to get an extra cleaner and they did not have time to do it all. They were aware that our ETA was not until 1900 hours which gave 9 hours for proper cleaning.
Other issues.
. The shelves in the refrigerator were broken and taped together with duct tape. These would not
stay in position when items were placed on them and we did suffer breakages when the
shelves fell out on opening the door. The agent stated that they were not broken but were badly
designed and the tape was there to keep them in place
. Despite following the instructions in the folder and trying various other options we could not get
the English channels on the TV for two days until sorted out by the agent.
. Water leaking through the ceiling requiring the use of a container to catch it. The agent stated that
this had been an ongoing problem and thought it was fixed. We had the option of putting up with
it or having a plumber in to take up the floorboards and have one bathroom out of use. We chose
the former
. The shower head adjuster in the second en suite was broken and would not stay in the required
position on the riser bar and the shower door did not close properly.
. The bath screen in the family bathroom moved on the wall and barely touched the rim of the bath
and care had to be taken not to catch it and knock it over the bath edge and allow water to escape
underneath.
. The master en suite is not a full en suite as the toilet for this was a separate room on the landing
with no hand washing facilities. The shower door in this en suite also did not close properly and
on one occasion fell off due to the runners being broken. This was potentially dangerous.
. When the upstairs toilets were flushed brown water and particles of faeces sometimes collected
in the downstairs toilet requiring this to also be flushed.
. A number of floor tiles were cracked, some with sharp edges which could cut bare feet.
. The website clearly states that bed linen is changed weekly but this did not happen. The agent
stated that this only applies to two week lettings but we were only just short of this and it does
not indicate this exception on the website.
The agent stated that the some parts of the property are due for refurbishment but if so this should
be reflected in the advertising. The agent said that other people looked through these problems which suggests we should have ignored them. Each of these issues are minor in themselves and could have easily been rectified making this negative report unnecessary.
La Bergerie fell far short of the description on the website which is a shame for what is potentially a
lovely property in a beautiful setting.
Eus itself is a charming village but does not have a village shop. The nearest place for provisions is the supermarket a 5 minute car ride away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing