We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“G and J”
Review of Maison Prades

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Prades
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maison Prades
Ranked #1 of 9 Prades B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Geelong, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“G and J”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Maison Prades is outstanding, the best chamber d'hote we've experienced. And it's down to two amazingly cultured and generous gentlemen - Benoit and Robson, our hosts. They know their region and have canny travel advice not only for Prades, or the beautifully precarious village of Eus nearby, or the world-renowned experience of Le Train Jaune (the yellow train) that winds up the precipitous valleys of the Tet to the snowfields, but also for Villefranche village and its fortifications. The maison's rooms are all well-appointed and 'themed', if that's the word, each with a distinctive colour and its own artworks, not to mention the sunshine (more sunshine hours here than anywhere else in France) that frames the white peaks of Mont Canigou from each window and accompanies breakfast - Robson's culinary specialty - in the garden . Benoit and Robson are uncommonly generous and thoughtful hosts who are concerned to know their guests individually - it becomes almost a family-like connection - and then go far beyond the call of duty in making their stay memorable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gk112013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robson S, Propriétaire at Maison Prades, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Graham, your comments are very much appreciated. We hope you and Judy had a nice journey back to your corner of Australia. Thank you also for the pictures you professionally made of our home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
163
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Gunnison, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We were lucky to spend several nights with Robson and Benoit - excellent hosts - excellent meals - clean rooms - great garden and some excellent riding right out town.

Really can't say enough about the Maison Prades - its the place to stay should you end up in Prades.

Thanks Robson and Benoit for your attention to detail and wonderful conversation - also should you have the opportunity to be staying there when they are doing dinner by all means partake -

Tom and Courtenay
Colorado USA

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robson S, Propriétaire at Maison Prades, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Many thanks for your very positive comments. We appreciated your company and your musical skills.
Hope all is well with both of you.
Benoit and Robson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Maison Prades was the first Chambre d'hote in France that we stayed on our trip. We booked four wonderful days/nights. Our first night we had a delicious meal that was a rich and savory fish stew with four other couples from four different countries speaking three different languages. Robson managed the dinner party with amazing skill and grace. Everyone had a great time and we all had a great conversation, and wonderful meal. The other meal recommendations were very good, although some just outside of Prades (you need a car to do most visiting of the area).
Both Ben and Robson are truly thoughtful and considerate hosts. All restaurant recommendations, local trips and destinations ideas, and market suggestions were spot on and terrific. These two understand the details, both in their beautiful home and the guest rooms, but also reminding you about were (and when/go early!) to park when visiting the Coast. Or the mountain roads to try to see a Cathar Castle or two. It is hard to believe what an oasis this home and garden is when you drive up the busy street, but the noise stops at the door and our room and breakfast were both peaceful and delicious.
Our room was the Rose room and it had a stunning view of the garden and the Canigou Mountain peak. The room was incredibly clean, the bed beautifuly made up with great linens, a working and functional Wi-Fi, and all was quiet and restful. This was not just a comfortable place to stay for us; it grounded our entire month trip.
My husband was recently diagnosed with Celiac, which I mentioned to Robson via email. He made our meal with sincere effort, gluten free for my husband..... AND found bread that was gluten free so he could enjoy the delicous homemade jams that was shared every morning.
This actually changed the nature of the trip for us, we were able to find G.F. bread and crackers for the entire month, all over Southern France as a result of Robson’s help. Often the grocery stores were not aware they carried these products but Robson explained where to find them (what aisle), and we managed to do so in 6 different Super-U and Intermarché stores in 6 different cities.
I will sum up this review with the simple truth that we want to come back soon, and would not hesitate to use Maison Prades as the home base for visiting surrounding area.

Room Tip: If you do not like the color red/rose, chose a different color room. But the view from the room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robson S, Owner at Maison Prades, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Many thanks Kathleen for this very positive review.
It is a great encouragement for us to read your comments, it keeps our motivation high.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay at Maison Prades, Benoit and Robson were excellent hosts, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are very clean and the décor is very tasteful.. Breakfast in the garden is so nice....something we are not used to in Scotland! Robsons's homemade preserves and cakes are a delight, and if you get a chance to have dinner, we would recommend it. Benoit and Robson work very hard to give clients a memorable stay. We would have no hesitation in returning to Maison Prades.

Dave and Brenda, Aberdeenshire, Scotland.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davie_a_smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robson S, Propriétaire at Maison Prades, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Brenda and dave, thank you for the nice words you wrote about us and our home. It was a pleasure to have you two around and thank you also for sharing our table for dinner. I am glad you enjoyed the menu and the Brazilian dish we prepared. Should you return to Prades please do not hesitate to contact us. It will be great to see you two again. Warmest wishes. Robson and Benoit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed with Our two children for 3 Days at maison Prades.
It s THE best chambre d hotes we have ever been to!
THE owners Benoit en Robson maken you feel like you are at home ( but than better )
Breakfast is served outsite with all things That are homemade.
We also enjoyed dinner made by THE ' master chef' Robson! It was devine!
THE rooms are decorated with Great Style! THE right luxurious materials and furniture Bring you in a very special atmosphere!
It s all so peaceful, THE garden is so beautiful ! THE kids also loved It!
And in THE neighbourhood there are so Many things to do and see! Not even That far away.
In one word : we loved THE house and adored THE owners!
Two men who take care of you and make you feel like queen and king!
We Will come back next year.
Thans a lot Benoit and Robson!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dimienmuriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robson S, Propriétaire at Maison Prades, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Bonjour Dimiti, Muriel, Charlotte and Thomas. What can I say, such live characters as you four. It was very enjoyable for us the three days you spent at our home. Thank you for your time to write this review and we hope to see you again in the future. Best wishes. Robson and Benoit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We enjoyed our brief time at Maison Prades in April 2013.
This quiet town is set in a green valley between tall mountain ranges, We reached it from the Pyrenhees (via the train jaune), on our way to Spain.
A plain terrace from the outside, the house, and our bedroom, were stylishly furnished. The rooms have mountain views and there's a pleasant garden out the back.
Robson was an attentive host, waking early to organise outr breakfast so that we caught our train (the house is close to the station).
We would happily stay here again,
Peter and Chona.

Room Tip: We stayed in the front, but rooms at the back have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterChonaDavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robson S, Propriétaire at Maison Prades, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Bonjour Peter, Chona and Zachary

Thank you for your review. I am happy you enjoyed your brief passage for Prades and our home. It was a pleasure to have you all around and I really enjoyed our chat in the garden. I am sure Zachary will remember this trip for a long time, you had a great plan and covered a lot of ground. Well done and it was a real pleasure to hear from you all again. best wishes, Robson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This was one of the best bed and breakfast places I have ever stayed in. Robson was a very gracious host and was always there whenever we needed some advice or tips on where to go. He even sent me an e-mail with the names of places to eat around the area which was really helpful. Breakfast delicious and our room was cozy and cute. I will definitely be coming back here next time I am in France.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viv R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robson S, Propriétaire at Maison Prades, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Bonjour Vivian, it was great to have you two in our home. We hope the rest of your European trip went according to plan. Thank you for the nice comments about our home. If you are travelling in the area again please do not hesitate to contact us. Warmest wishes. Robson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prades
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Glycines
Hotel Les Glycines
#1 of 2 in Prades
44 reviews
2.9 mi away
Chateau De Riell
Chateau De Riell
#1 of 2 in Molitg-les-Bains
247 reviews
2.8 mi away
Le Grand Hotel
Le Grand Hotel
#2 of 2 in Molitg-les-Bains
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hotel Princess
Hotel Princess
#1 of 4 in Vernet-Les-Bains
160 reviews
11.5 mi away
Riberach Hotel Cave-Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Hotel Hexagone
Hotel Hexagone
#2 of 2 in Prades
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Prades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Prades

Property: Maison Prades
Address: 51 avenue General de Gaulle, 66500 Prades, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Prades
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Prades
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Benoit and Robson have the pleasure of welcoming you to Maison Prades.The house dates back to 1870 and has 5 en-suite bedrooms with a large garden, private parking and a wonderful view of the surrounding mountains.Maison Prades is a 5 minute stroll from the town centre with all its restaurants, cafes and shops.Weather permitting, you will have breakfast in the garden. We serve a variety of delicious food and think you will find it particularly hard to resist our homemade cakes and jams!We serve dinner (table d’hôtes) on Mondays and Wenesdays. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing