We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and comfortable with a warm welcome”
Review of Maison Prades

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Prades
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maison Prades
Ranked #1 of 9 Prades B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Our hosts Robson and Benoit made us feel at home immediately and Maison Prades proved to be the perfect base for exploring this fascinating area. Our spacious room with its enormous bed, overlooked the quiet and beautiful garden with views to the ever-changing Canigou mountain. Each morning the breakfast, served outdoors, was a treat with great coffee, fresh produce and delicious home-made jams - especially the apricot!

We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MA-RS-LON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 248 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2011

One of our favourite stops on our tour of southern France. It was the first chambre d'hôte we stayed in and the experience meant we wished we'd stayed in more. Located in Prades, 5 minutes walk from the centre ville, this charming 5 bedroom townhouse doesn't disappoint. Welcomed by the owners Robson and Bendoit it had a real feeling of home from home. We chose a room at the back of the house with stunning views of mount Canigou. Each room is individually furnished to a high standard with unique features. There is a fridge for guests to use and a wonderful garden to relax in after a day of exploring. We chose to visit Villefranche on Bendoits recommendation and then took the train juane up into the Pyrenees. After a great day we asked Robson for local restaurant recommendations and he gave us a few options to choose from. We tried restaurant Meridiane and it was fantastic. A great value meal with excellent food and service. We would definitely recommend Maison Prades, not just because it's a lovely place to stay and the hosts hospitable, this is also a great part of France to visit. We'll definitely be back!

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Sno78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2010

Fabulous french B&B set in peaceful gardens & surrounded by stunning views of Canigou. This B&B has everything you would want from a top french B&B; charming rooms, friendly knowledgeable hostess and brilliant breakfast. The highlight for us was eating french pastry for breakfast in the sunshine on the terrace. We would definetly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mr_mrsSmith77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

Pristine bed linens, perfectly brewed tea, inviting sitting room, flaky croissants, and plenty of hot water made our three night stay at Maison Prades a delight. Angela was warm and gracious and quite helpful. Her decor is eclectic, a mixture of beautiful antiques and funky bric-a-brac, and an artistic triumph. We hope to return.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaseyT77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

Possibly the best small guest house we have stayed in. Lovely French house with views from the back rooms to die for. Angela, the host, could not have been more accomodating, assisting us with our problematic travel issues after recent industrial action on French Railways. Very homely accomodation with attractive bedrooms and a guests lounge with wood burning stove. Excellent breakfast served around a large dining table. Enclosed garden with all you need during warm weather for a relaxing stay including chairs/loungers and outdoor cooking area. Cannot recommend the Maison Prades enough and is certainly worth a detour if you are in the Perpignan area. The only slight drawback some may find is that the bedrooms do not have locks, although this was not an issue for us. If you are using public transport as we did, the bus stop is 2 mins away with cheap and regular buses towards Perpignan and Villefranche and the railway station is 5 mins away. Stay here, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flares12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2010

I would strongly recommend this bed and breakfast. It was good value for money and the hostess was super-friendly. Only a short drive from Villefranche. Parking available outside.

The hostess was helpful and recommend local tourist destinations (including a nearby spa) and a good bistro-style restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katy_mouse83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

From the minute you are welcomed into Angela's unique (in the best possible way) home she shares a real sense of friendship and a relaxed willingness to share her home. Each room is quirky - Angela has effortlessly created casual and comfy rooms - all themed with interesting bits and pieces and subtle colour schemes. The linen is immaculate; the views of Canigou from both rooms we've stayed in are wonderful; breakfast is taken round a huge "french" table with other guests - a feast with all sorts of treats including seasonal homemade preserves if you're lucky! In the summer we had breakfast on the patio under the grape vines and looking out to the beautiful garden - just lovely! We have only stayed twice but neither time has been long enough, and we are already looking forward to our nest visit - longer this time fro sure!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzycook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prades
2.9 mi away
Chateau De Riell
Chateau De Riell
#1 of 2 in Molitg-les-Bains
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Glycines
Hotel Les Glycines
#1 of 2 in Prades
48 reviews
2.8 mi away
Le Grand Hotel
Le Grand Hotel
#2 of 2 in Molitg-les-Bains
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hotel Princess
Hotel Princess
#1 of 4 in Vernet-Les-Bains
183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Domaine De La Tannerie
0.5 mi away
Maison 225
Maison 225
#2 of 9 in Prades
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Prades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Prades

Address: 51 avenue General de Gaulle, 66500 Prades, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Prades
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Prades
Price Range: $65 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison Prades 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Benoit and Robson have the pleasure of welcoming you to Maison Prades.The house dates back to 1870 and has 5 en-suite bedrooms with a large garden, private parking and a wonderful view of the surrounding mountains.Maison Prades is a 5 minute stroll from the town centre with all its restaurants, cafes and shops.Weather permitting, you will have breakfast in the garden. We serve a variety of delicious food and think you will find it particularly hard to resist our homemade cakes and jams!We serve dinner (table d’hôtes) on Mondays and Wenesdays. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing