We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint”

Restaurant Le Galie
Ranked #1 of 28 Restaurants in Prades
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quaint”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Lovely wine and delicious menu du terroir. Friendly with great food. Wine list was superb. Would return without hesitation.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joliscious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    58
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

We went there the day of our arrival in Prades without a reservation, but did get a seat. The food was extremely good, and so we went back the next day. We tried the other menue and were as satisfied as the day before. The lady serving us was very helpful and tried to explain the food in English since our French is more than limited.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delightful discovery in Prades”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have just moved to the area and went to La Galie on our very first night in Prades. We were late (we got lost though it is easy to find actually), but the waitress greeted us warmly and assured us it was no problem. The service, food, place and price are all excellent. We were well looked after and the waitress was very tolerant of our limited French, taking the time to explain all about the area at the end of our meal. We are going back there this evening for a friend's birthday meal, as we know it will be a lovely meal and a jolly evening. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Interesting and inventive menu”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This restaurant offers two menus (29 and 39 euros) in the evening selected from its interesting but short a la carte. Each course was interesting and inventive with many flavours in each dish. It was full and several people were turned away so you need to reserve.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EdiScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb food, shame about the decor and service could be better”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had a fabulous meal here, the quality of the food, the chef's interpretation and presentation was without doubt superior standard. It is not cheap though and the restaurant really needs some interior design as it feels a little like a bus station cafe in the north of England. It wouldn't take much to get that on a par with the food. Service - the waitress did her job and was efficient in a clinical way but a little lacking in personality, so front of house could be a lot better. To bring this up to the standard of the chef and his food, it needs a makeover inside, a better wine list and effervescent service. It would then be Michelin star! I still recommend it though, as it was such a great gastronomic experience and the negatives did not spoil the evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sporty31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Le Galie also viewed

Prades, Pyrenees-Orientales
Villefranche-de-Conflent, Pyrenees-Orientales
 
Prades, Pyrenees-Orientales
Prades, Pyrenees-Orientales
 
Eus, Pyrenees-Orientales
Taurinya, Pyrenees-Orientales
 

Been to Restaurant Le Galie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing