We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved La Chanceliere”
Review of La Chanceliere

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sancerre
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Chanceliere
Ranked #1 of 11 Sancerre B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2012

A really nice B&B where you are also made to feel very welcome. The owners are very helpful and Nicole even took us to and collected us from restaurants! Maybe a little expensive for a B&B, but worth every penny!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bettina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 149 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed one night (10th Aug) at La Chanceliere on our way to Belcastel further south. It looked charming on tripadvisor and it was even more charming in real life.

Greeted by the lovely host who helped us out with our minimal French, we were shown to our bedrooms. Very comfortable and stylish, with an en-suite bathroom in our bedroom, our daughters shared a bedroom next door. There were complimentary refreshments in the relaxed communal sitting room.

The house is in a lovely spot with fabulous views. We took a walk in the evening to the local restaurant and had an acceptable meal.

After a very good nights sleep we had a delicious breakfast of fresh fruit, pastries, bread, selection of yoghurt's, cheese, ham - a feast, with a good cup of tea too! Followed by coffee! Definitely the best breakfast we had for the whole fortnight (and probably a while to come).

The hosts couldn't have been more charming and helpful, their two dogs were also a big hit. My husband had his bike with him for the trip and they kindly let us park inside the walls of the property so we didn't have to worry about taking the bike off the roof.

I will definitely stop there again, I could only find fault with one thing which was the toilet was a little small, and despite obvious efforts to keep it fresh, didn't have great ventilation making it a little smelly. BUT I'd put up with it because the property and hosts far outweighed the minor fault.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mumanddad_with_kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

La Chanceliere provided a wonderful short break in Sancerre. Nicole and Jacques were the perfect hosts. Attentive enough to ensure we had all that we needed, discreet enough to allow us to enjoy our wine on their wonderful terrace. Nicole was very helpful in suggesting places to visit and even invited us to dine with her and Jacques when she realised that none of her recommended places to eat would be open on the night that we arrived.
The house is in a stunning setting with a great view of Sancerre. The terrace was the perfect spot for a relaxed breakfast.
Our room was spacious and very comfortable. The bathroom was a good size, although as mentioned in a previous review, the toilet was in a separate room next door but this did not detract from the stay in any way.
Our hosts were generous, from the bottle of wine enjoyed on the terrace at the end of each day, to the landing area from where you could relax in one of the comfy armchairs enjoying the complimentary coffee, tea, water or small bottles of beers.
Nicole and Jacques made us feel at home in their home.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a high quality. Some of the smaller rooms do have a bathroom with toilet but with o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pocketbird41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

What a wonderful b and b. Nicole spoke really good English and even joked about my partner being as strong as crocodile Dundee. She was a wealth of information in regards as to where to go and what to do. The room was beautifully decorated with lots of lamps and chocolates the sheets were crisp and pressed, just what your looking forward to after you have driven 6 hrs which was our case. The breakfast was the piece de resistance on the terrace with a view to die for. A warm and welcoming home away from home. Strongly recommended.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Gidget R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Don't be mislead by the B&B tag on this place - it is certainly much more like a boutique hotel. Mme Audibert's personalized breakfast tables on the terrasse is the perfect way to start a long day with wine tasting. And she knows where to go (and certainly where not !) - follow her advise. We did and experienced a "close encounter of the third kind" with Sancerre wines.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trygve K N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

My girlfriend and our three month old spent one night here to break our journey from the UK to the Languedoc and wish we could have stayed longer. The property is beautiful and in a superb central location with views up to Sancerre. It's also a great location from where to pick up some of the brilliant local wines. M et Mme were very friendly and very accommodating of our little baby, recommending a restaurant a few yards away that was great with kids. Breakfast on the terrace the next morning was spot on - lovely fruit, yoghurt, breads etc. Our room was great with a comfy bed, lovely view and great bathroom. The only downside was the toilet was in a room just outside the door to our bedroom off the main corridor. That's the only reason why we haven't rated this hotel five stars - and it won't stop us coming back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrownNutOnion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We were due to stay here for 3 nights in late July but unfortunately had to leave a day early. (there was no charge for this cancellation)
The Audibert's are just the most delightful couple, they make the whole stay a joy. From the stunning terrace view to the amazing breakfast to the most sincere welcome that leaves you in no doubt that you are truly welcome in their home.
If you are heading to this part of France or looking for a stop over, look no further than here...you will NOT be disappointed.
Thank you so much Jacques and Nicole, see you again soon.
Tony and Natalie.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Willzy6110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sancerre hotels
0.9 mi away
Le Clos Saint Martin
Le Clos Saint Martin
#2 of 8 in Sancerre
195 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Le Panoramic
Hotel Le Panoramic
#3 of 8 in Sancerre
236 reviews
7.1 mi away
Chateau de Beaujeu
Chateau de Beaujeu
#1 of 1 in Sens Beaujeu
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel la Buissonniere
Hotel la Buissonniere
#1 of 1 in Bannay
78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Verger Fleuri
Le Verger Fleuri
#1 of 1 in Saint-Satur
28 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel de la Loire
Hotel de la Loire
#4 of 8 in Sancerre
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Chanceliere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Chanceliere

Address: 5, rue Hilaire Amagat | Saint Satur, 18300, Sancerre, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Berry > Cher > Sancerre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Sancerre
Price Range: $136 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful XVIIIth century manor house has wonderfully large lounges and has large south facing terrace with panoramic view of Sancerre with its vines and castle on the top of the hill.The hosts Jacques and Nicole, have been welcoming guests for over 12 years. They have taken pride in the insuring the beauty and comfort of their naturally quiet ensuite bedrooms. The rooms are beautifully decorated and filled antique family furniture. You have all amenities including fine bedding, under floor heating and a little lift.The breakfast is served on the terrace or in one of the salons depending on the weather.We can organize cellar visits and wine tasting for Sancerre and Pouilly fume. We are also very happy to help and recommend the area activities and restaurants and if you are looking for a non wine activity, we can arrange Golf, Tennis and Canoeing on la Loire which are all very close by. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing