We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value & Nice Location”
Review of Hotel de la Loire

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de la Loire
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sancerre
Reviewed October 28, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights in the Hotel de la Loire whilst exploring the area in and around Sancerre. This hotel is not in Sancerre itself (that's about 4km away) but it is in a quiet location right on the Loire, in an area with a few restaurants and bars within easy walking distance.

When we booked we asked for the Louis XV or Provencale room. We were given the Coloniale, which was fine. The room itself is a good size, although a sofa and or armchairs would have been better than the spare bed. It overlooks the Loire (past the restaurants and trees across the road, but you can see the river). The bathroom is very small and the shower isn't brilliant - the shower head moves around at random if you have the water pressure at a decent level and usually ends up spraying the floor, or worse still the lights above the mirror (which didn't appear to be very well insulated!).

The bed is comfortable and the room seemed to be quiet until somebody in the room above started walking up and down at 3.00 in the morning. This wouldn't be a problem in the other first floor rooms as they don't have rooms above them.

The private car park is free and is locked at night.

Breakfast is okay, nothing special, but in a pretty room.

Of the restaurants nearby I would strongly recommend Carla's Ship, next door to the hotel. We ate there one night and had drinks on two other nights. The food is fresh and imaginative and the atmosphere is lovely and cosy. Carla herself is very friendly and helpful.

I would definitely not recommend the Bord de Loire restaurant across the road. The food was okay but the service was awful. We did see the owner (possibly) talking to two French couples and being very chatty and friendly. The lady who served us, however, could not have been less friendly. Everything was almost thrown down in front of us, with no grace and certainly no trace of a smile.

For a cheap, typically French meal, try Le Petit Berry, a bar/cafe with fixed price menus.

We didn't manage to try L'Auberge de St Thibault, although we heard it was good and wished that we had gone there instead of Bord de Loire.

Room Tip: First floor rooms overlooking the Loire are best. Coloniale is the only room with a room above it, s...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluesprout61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
There are newer reviews for Hotel de la Loire
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 95 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2011

I am confused by the previous listing, as we were at this hotel for 5 days last week and have a completely different opinion.

The hotel is in a charming older building right next to the Loire River. We had no trouble getting in, as whenever we rang the bell, within a minute someone showed up to let us in. Check in was informal, but the woman was courteous and showed us to our room. It was Provencal, the room we asked for on our reservation. It is one flight up and there is no elevator. Our room was spacious, clean, well decorated and faced the river. We left our windows open at night, but closed our curtains and never had a problem with noise. Maybe it is noisier on the ground floor.

There is no restaurant at the hotel, but Carla's Ship is right next door, which is good. We didn't try the restaurant across the street, but someone said that was OK. There are 4 or 5 more restaurants within walking distance, so no problem to find dinner.

We enjoyed the breakfasts. It was the normal croissants, breads, fruit, cereals, yogurts, juices, and tea or coffee, but they also had eggs, some fresh ham, and cheese. We always
saw someone in the breakfast room and they refilled any item that ran out. My husband particularly enjoyed the homemade jams and we bought some to take home.

The owners were particularly nice and gave us a bottle of Sancerre wine when we left.

We would definitely come back to this hotel the next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the Loire. Be aware that there is no elevator.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yupoarist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We had the Regency room. Absolutely beautiful. Fantastic shower! We had paid for a river facing room but the Regency room is on the first floor and the only view is the bar across the street. Very noisy at night from street noise and noisy in the morning as the room is right next to the front desk and near the breakfast room. Breakfast was a strange affair as it is all set up for you to do yourself but there is no one to ask if you need anything, if anything is empty. You kind of just wander in and get some stuff and do your own thing. I would highly recommend choosing a room much higher up (not sure if there is an elevator) and away from the noise. I wouldn't waste the money on breakfast with a bakery in town.

Room Tip: Do not choose the regency room - too noisy. Find out if there is an elevator before choosing a room...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gloryb2god
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel- the room was beautiful and service excellent.

Room Tip: If can can get a Loire side room they have a beautiful view, especially if there is a sunrise throug...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauljonathan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

A simple hotel with very clean and large rooms. The rooms with a view on the Loire river are the best ones, the view is really nice.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berry36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Spent two nights here at the beginning of June. Had a lovely room on the top floor with antique furniture and lots of frills.
We chose not to take breakfast but the dining room was absolutely charming, beautiful tiled floor.
The hotel is actually in the commune of St. Thibault which is just an extension of Saint Satur. Glad we chose to stay here as it was very peaceful.
We were able to walk to Sancerre and enjoyed a very nice lunch in the town square and of course some wine. Walked back through the vineyards to Hotel de la Loire.
Very nice pub next door called Carla's Ship, good food and nice atmosphere. Tried the restaurant across from the hotel on our second night - (can't recall the name, but it's right on the river) - not such a great experience food-wise - just o.k. but charming wait staff.
Happy with our stay and would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cardiffvalleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Arrived a few minutes before 3pm. Hotel is easy to find, and we were happy about the sign saying that the hotel "opened" at 3pm. The door was locked, so we rang the bell, and a minute later, a lady walked up to the hotel from the street, opened the door, and let us in. At the same time, another young lady was coming down the stairs inside, I assume she was the one answering our ringing the bell. Check-in was very informal - she just asked for our names, then showed us to our room. We had specified the room we wanted in the reservation - la chambre anglaise - and while it was on the 2nd floor with a rather steep and narrow staircase and no lift, it was the only room on that floor, the highest room of the hotel, and it overlooked the Loire river. Beautiful, vast room, cute decor, beautiful old furniture, very large bathroom with bath tub/shower. Very clean and pretty well maintained, though the bathroom floor was anything but even and there were some large gaps between the pieces of laminate on the floor, which left me wondering about rotting beams, given that we splashed a bit while showering.
The hotel has a free and enclosed parking in the back, for which you have to manually open a large iron gate. The lady said it was locked at 9pm, so we ended up parking on the street because we came back later and did not bother to check if it was still open. Parked on the street - free, and no problem in such a small-town area.
We got some recommendations about what to see in the area from the lady who let us in, but nothing we couldn't have found out ourselves.
Check-out the next morning was as informal as check-in: there were a few receipts prepared at the small table that served as front desk, and we had to ring a bell so someone would take care of us.
The front desk was the only weird thing about the hotel - no one was ever there, so getting information or assistance might have been difficult if we had had any issues. More of a B&B attitude, I suppose, not very hotel-like. Other than that, it was a marvelous experience.

Room Tip: Check out their rooms online, and take your pick!
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank europeenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sancerre
1.3 mi away
Le Clos Saint Martin
Le Clos Saint Martin
#2 of 8 in Sancerre
193 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Le Panoramic
Hotel Le Panoramic
#3 of 8 in Sancerre
231 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel la Buissonniere
Hotel la Buissonniere
#1 of 1 in Bannay
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Chateau de Beaujeu
Chateau de Beaujeu
#1 of 1 in Sens Beaujeu
71 reviews
7.4 mi away
Logis Le Relais de Pouilly
Logis Le Relais de Pouilly
#1 of 2 in Pouilly sur Loire
125 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Verger Fleuri
Le Verger Fleuri
#1 of 1 in Saint-Satur
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Loire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Loire

Address: 2 Quai de la Loire | Saint Satur, 18300, Sancerre, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Berry > Cher > Sancerre
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Sancerre
Price Range: $90 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Loire 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel de la Loire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing