We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid like the plague!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Rennes Cesson
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Cesson-Sevigne
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Where to begin! First, hotel is very difficult to find even with our GPS. Signage is lousy both on the building and on feeder streets leading to building. Hotel is located in a strip office (?) bulding. Reception area was staffed by a young man who was holding down the fort on a weekend. When we got to the room (on the ground floor facing a busy highway) we found it smallish but clean as was the bathroom. Lighting was atrocious. Tried to use the wifi (after having to go to the front desk to get the login info that we should have been given upon checkin) and couldn't access it. Front desk said other person on the ground floor hadn't complained so must be my computer. Took my netbook to him as well as my iPod Touch. He couldn't log in either. His solution was not to see if the wireless server was actually on (he had not personally asked the other guest if he had tried to use the wifi) but to tell me that he could do nothing. We had to drive into the other Mercure near the rail station to use our netbook in their lobby to make our further travel arrangements as well as check email. Next morning we discovered that the wifi was working - apparently the morning desk person remembered to turn on the wifi server! No apologies were forthcoming. Avoid this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSU_prof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 295 reviews

An Accor traveler
Jersey
92
Reviewed September 24, 2011

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

I use the Mercure here fairly regularly - I travel from home in Jersey to my parents' home in Perigord, and this is an ideal stop, right next to the <i>rocade</i>. The rooms are consistently good and clean, the beds are comfortable, and the breakfast is very respectable. Check-in staff are helpful. The one minor niggle I have is that the air conditioning is set to blow hot, and a decent set of instructions on how to reprogram it to blow cold would have been useful.

That apart, I see no reason to go look anywhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLibrarianSaysOok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Good value for money. We knew the location but if you didn't want to eat in the restaurant then we couldn't see any where else in the close vicinity. We had a very good meal here though and although on the main route into Rennes excellent glazing meant there was no traffic noise at night. Large room. The only downside was breakfast. One over worked waitress couldn't keep up with demand. We had to clear a table and hunt round for crockery and cutlery.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roonie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Unfortunately due to the national strike in France on October 12th 2010 I was unable to travel to Rennes so never actually stayed in the hotel. My review is about how the hotel management and Accor hotels in general dealt with my situation. My basic complaint is the fact that they have refused to refund any of the cost of my booking 295 Euros despite the circumstances being out with my control I could not get to France on the day I should have travelled (12/10/10) and was unable to find a reasonable way of getting their the day after either. I accept that the rate I booked under would normally mean non refundable but would expect under the circumstances the hotel to show some common sense and good faith. I contacted the hotel several times by phone and e mail but was given no help at all. What is also disappointing is the fact the Accor group do not make it easy at all to escalate customer service issues. using the contact function on their web site gets your e mail redirected to the same hotel manager who ignored me in the first place. All in all this has left a very bitter taste and despite the fact they are within their legal rights not to offer any compensation I find it ethically and morally wrong. the law should be changed!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Service
3  Thank Honest_Dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Allez ailleurs
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2017, traveled on business
Thank Lionel93160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucile J, Directeur général at Mercure Rennes Cesson, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Didier A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cesson-Sevigne
0.9 mi away
Hotel Les Loges
Hotel Les Loges
#1 of 6 in Chantepie
181 reviews
2.5 mi away
Brit Hotel Atalante Beaulieu
Brit Hotel Atalante Beaulieu
#1 of 12 in Cesson-Sevigne
106 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Rennes Cesson
Ibis Budget Rennes Cesson
#8 of 12 in Cesson-Sevigne
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ibis Rennes Cesson
Ibis Rennes Cesson
#2 of 12 in Cesson-Sevigne
170 reviews
2 mi away
Le Clos Champel
Le Clos Champel
#9 of 12 in Cesson-Sevigne
70 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Germinal
Le Germinal
#3 of 12 in Cesson-Sevigne
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Rennes Cesson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Rennes Cesson

Address: 40 rue du Bignon | Forum de la rocade, 35510 Cesson-Sevigne, France
Location: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Cesson-Sevigne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Cesson-Sevigne
Price Range: $84 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Rennes Cesson 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly built latest generation 3 star hotel offering 61 ultramodern luxury rooms. Located just 5 minutes from the centre of Rennes on the ring roads allowing easy access to all key locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Rennes Cesson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing