We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“First visit to Arromanchies” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Mounie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chez Mounie
Barnsley
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First visit to Arromanchies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Godd location, charming hosts, rooms clean, traditional French decor. An ideal hotel that gets you in the spirit for very moving issues you are about to see during your stay in the town and surrounding area. Would definitely there again if I returned.

Room Tip: If you are a late riser ask for a room at the front. If you like church bells, which start at 07.00h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarleneBarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    9
    5
    7
See reviews for
12
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed only a night. A nice large room with a clean bathroom which accommodated the three of us. Breakfast OK. A Nice common area with a lot of books and a nice piano. Unfortunately it is allowed to smoke there (and the owner smokes quite a lot). On the down side a stale smell pervaded the place (fortunately not the bedroom).

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank GiordanoD371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Myosotis room. The room and the bathroom were spacious and clean. The hosts were very nice and prepared a lovely breakfast for us each morning with fresh croissants and jam.

As other reviewers noted, the hosts do smoke. We were there when the weather was warm and the windows were open, so the smoke didn't bother us at all (neither my husband nor I smoke). Keep in mind, this is not the Hilton. This is an older French couple opening up their historic home to you. When we were there, the couple had found a baby bird that had fallen from it's nest and they were wrapping it in towels and feeding it moistened bread crumbs. They were a very nice and genuine couple.

The location was great, the town is quaint and beautiful. The restaurants were fantastic, the beach was beautiful... We loved it so much, we are returning again next month.

Room Tip: The Myosotis room seems to be the most spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn7679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We could only stay for 1 night next door at the Normandy Beach B&B which was a shame as that was lovely so we had 2 nights here. The owners smoke and the smell wafted up to the room when they lit up, then stayed as a stale smell the whole time. The bathroom was just behind a partition so there was no privacy which was disconcerting. Luckily the Normandy Beach allowed us to breakfast with them and thank goodness because I don't think I would have risked a meal here.
The only consolation was that the bed was comfortable. Not worth the 60 euros per night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belinda95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Arromanches-les-Bains hotels

5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
QLD
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We spent thankfully only 1 night here. The tiny room on the grouund floor was cramped and smelled bad. If the place has been renovated then I think they forgot about this room. For 65 euro a night is is not good value.There was no bath mat of shower curtain and the very old sink did not drain. There was one chair to sit on which was old and stained. The painting had not been completed and I could only dream of a TV like others have mentioned. The smell of stale cigarettes has permeated everything and my clothes are still smelling of it days later. We did not bother with breakfast .
I also woke up in the morning covered in bites but the window had not been open??
If there is nothing else available In this town go to Bayeux.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Spent 2 nights here during cycle tour of the Landing beaches. Great location and house very "french". Room and ensuite cleana nd comfortable, but unfortunately we could smell the host's cigarettes constantly and the room was v noisy due to it's close proximity to the road and the church bells! The most expensive place we stayed , to say the room rate did not include breakfast. But the room did have a TV, which other B and B rooms seem not to have

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neurone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horseheads, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

M. Jacques is very accommodating. Beds were comfortable and rooms were very clean. French breakfast was simple but fresh. Easy walk to town and beach sites.
By French standards a fine place. If your standards are U.S., note that floors creak and animals may be found in the house. I love that so not a problem for me.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyKathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arromanches-les-Bains
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Normandie
Hotel de Normandie
#4 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
3.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Mulberry
Le Mulberry
#2 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel D'arromanches
Hotel D'arromanches
#5 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Marine
Hotel de la Marine
#3 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 stars 432 reviews
0.4 mi away
Les Villas d'Arromanches
Les Villas d'Arromanches
#2 of 2 in Tracy-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 stars 172 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
#2 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
4.0 of 5 stars 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Mounie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Mounie

Property: Chez Mounie
Address: 14 rue Maurice Lithare, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Arromanches-les-Bains
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Arromanches-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chez Mounie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chez Mounie Arromanches-Les-Bains, France - Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing