We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Friendly French Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Mulberry

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Mulberry
Certificate of Excellence
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly French Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We picked the hotel at random and arrived at 15:30,completing a long journey ahead of time. That's when we discovered the hotel was closed until 17:00. I didn't expect to enjoy our stay. The staff were very welcomig and the room was clean and comfortable, without being luxurious. The food made up for it all - a limited menu (which I believe is updated daily) with a good range of well presented French dishes at a reasonable price - and a sensinble wine list.
The staff continued to be charming and very helpful, advising us on trips and visits.
We will be going back - just later in the afternoon.

Room Tip: Check opening times
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PPguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    79
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
65
67
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barkway, Herts, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We have been eating here every time we have visited over the last ten years. This has covered two changes in ownership, and the present incarnation is probably the best. The menu is small but the quality high, specializing in regional dishes.What they do they do very well. Service, whilst not of regimental efficiency, is helpful, friendly and suits the informal atmosphere of the place. Whilst we have never stayed here ourselves, friends who have are complimentary about the hotel accommodation. Euro for Euro my favorite eating place in town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnWarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crediton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The hotel is clean, comfortable, inexpensive and has a great location in the historic D-Day town of Arromanches. The sea front is nearby with extraordinary views of the channel and the floating concrete harbours (Mulberries) which were towed across from Britain in June 1944. The restaurant in the hotel is outstanding and the food is of very high quality. I recommend Hotel le Mulberry very strongly indeed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hywel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed in a large room on the top floor in the late May, pre-D Day commemoration season. As a result, Arromanches was very quiet, with many restaurants and the one English pub, closed weekdays.

Our room was very comfortable, and the morning breakfasts were exactly as described. Allowed us a good start to our Normandy touring. It was easy to get to the main highway to travel southwest to St Lo, and points beyond, and was just east of the Omaha Beach Cemetery and Memorial. Because it was the last week May, tour buses were at a minimum, and we had many places to ourselves.

We has no idea that there were still parts of the 1944 Mulberries that created the temporary harbor still in the harbor.

It is a moving and memorable place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We did a lot of research before deciding where to launch our family's tour of the DDay Beaches. There were other options right on the water, which has its appeal, but hands down this proved to be what we'd hoped for in terms of local welcome and warmth. The hotel is immaculately kept with pride by a wonderful family committed to every detail. The rooms are simple, extremely clean and newly redone. Lovely starched linens and new, comfortable beds. Very accommodating of families/children.

As for the meals, we were demi-pension, thus had both dinner and breakfast. Sophie, who co-runs the hotel with her husband, takes pride in every detail -- from the table settings to each of the generous courses. Her offerings are creative, delicious and purchased fresh based on the market daily. Enjoy the warm reception area and dining, where the proprietors will dote on you!

This was the perfect point of departure for our tour (quick walk to the local DDay museum and impressive Arromanches coast, where an amazingly elaborate articifical harbor was erected in a matter of days following the June 6th invasion of allied forces). We even liked the dreary winter weather, which somehow seemed fitting!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ldsmartt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed in the Mulberry after reviewing the comments on tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. The staff is very friendly, the room was clean and confortable. By chance we didn't had much luggage and were young, the staircase is very small and absolutely not suited for unfit people. The restaurant offers a great menu. Not much choice, but very good food. The breakfast was also very nice.
Pro : staff, food, location
Cons : parking (street), unsuitable for elderly or physically impaired people (staircase).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerome B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmond, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We liked the hotel very much , we had a good room and we liked the lounge, were you can enjoy after the great surroundings of arromanches and we had a good diner in the restaurant. The personal was very helpfull . The Son and Mother welcomed us when we arrived and the father helped in the restaurant

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jleenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arromanches-les-Bains
0.1 mi away
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
#1 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Marine
Hotel de la Marine
#3 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 stars 421 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Normandie
Hotel de Normandie
#4 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
3.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
La Cremaillere
La Cremaillere
#1 of 2 in Courseulles-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 stars 829 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ferme de la Ranconniere
0.1 mi away
Hotel D'arromanches
Hotel D'arromanches
#5 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mulberry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mulberry

Property: Le Mulberry
Address: 6 rue Maurice Lithare, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Arromanches-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Arromanches-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Mulberry 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Le Mulberry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mulberry Hotel Arromanches-Les-Bains
Le Mulberry Arromanches-Les-Bains, France - Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing