We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Choice in Arromanches”
Review of La Marine

La Marine
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“The Best Choice in Arromanches”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Not much else around if you want something different from fast food. Reasonable food but over-priced.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ww1guide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    203
    111
    46
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Tasty with great views”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

On a rainy June evening, we explored the small town of Arromanches. On our innkeeper's recommendation, we ate at La Marine. For folks like us who eat early in the evening, the 7 pm first seating was a little late (but made us feel very European). We are glad we waited! The food was lovely. Cod has a reputation for being plain, but the cod and risotto I had melted in my mouth. The service was perfect. Sullivan, our waiter, treated us well, helping us understand the menu when needed (we do not speak French). In addition to the tasty food, we were able to watch the sea during dinner. The restaurant is arranged so that every table has a view of the sea. If you want a relaxing place to treat yourself for dinner, visit La Marine.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TryingoutTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

of course the view is great but besides that (and you can obviously get the same view just sitting on the promenade) La Marine is nothing special. Actually a bit disappointing and especially very expensive. not far from the cost of the Michelin star chateau we dined in the night before...This is a place which most probably decided that given its location and stream of diners who are the hotel's guest, working too hard is not really necessary. Hence 3 waiters serving an entire full restaurant, a tiny fish as a main course and a bouillabaisse which was more of a Gerber soup than anything resembling it's origins. Would not recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruripen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“BRILLIANT VIEW”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

One of the most brilliat views of the landing beach GOLD.
My food was piping hot, well presented and delicious. Very good prices and a super draught beer. Much enjoyed and i will return (to use a phrase)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A dsiappointing return visit”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This must be our fourth trip to La Marine restaurant, have also stayed at the hotel. The food and location are great - the restaurant interior is lovely and great views of the sea/Mulberry Harbour. The food is a great quality although comes at a price! What let it down for us was a grumpy waiter - we had made an early evening reservation but this clearly wasn't to the waiter's liking. One of his colleagues was very helpful but this particular waiter's surliness put a dampner on the meal. Pity, because this had previously been a 'must do' on our list in the Normandy region.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NattyD01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Marine also viewed

Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 

Been to La Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing