We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A lovely view and a lovely meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Marine

La Marine
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A lovely view and a lovely meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Being the first time that we had visited France as a couple, we were seeking a week of quiet sight-seeing and by choosing to visit out of season, this restaurant was almost perfect. We ate there mid week, just after the easter holidays and the restaurant was very quiet. We were given a table in front of the window without a reservation, with lovely sea views and the waiter was very efficient, if not a little abrupt. The food was of very high standard, but in this sort of establishment, you are obviously paying for the setting/surroundings, so quite pricey. We both went for the steak and as usual, it was perfect, totally as expected. The parking is very convenient and is in close proximity to the D-Day museum and a series of quaint little souvenir shops. I have visited this restaurant before with family, and I will be visiting again on our next trip to Normandy.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RobG520d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    171
    88
    38
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
191 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Hotel restaurant with great view of the beach and sea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

The hotel restaurant is located on the seafront at Arromanches on the opposite side of the square from the D-Day Museum. Without a dinner reservation we were given a table with a sea view by the friendly staff. My husband chose oysters from Utah beach to start (which turned out to be the best we'd ever tasted) and I had foie gras. For our second course we chose sea bass which was served on a creamy risotto with peas and bacon. The bass was cut from a large fish and been attractively grilled. We ended our meal with cheese for one and a desert for the other. With a delicious bottle of Quincy, a half-bottle of Perrier water and two coffees, our meal came to EUR 110, not our idea of cheap but well-worth it for the quality of the food, wine and the view.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oldbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Quite simply the best restaurant on the d-day routes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

wonderful, fish dishes are fabulous and the service is excellent.Be prepared for a wait and if not to cold sit outside and soak up the atmosphere of this beautiful little corner of the world.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
153 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Average food and strained service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Not impressed. Decent but that's it.
Our moules were overcooked, it took them 30 minutes to make them and the service was rather unimpressive bordering on impolite. The price, however, was steep for what we got.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank DoctorDebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“High prices for not more than average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Fabulous view of an historic beach but, unfortunately, you can't eat a view... and the food did not go beyond average (and that's a stretch, but I don't want to be mean...), which means that the pretty steep prices were not justified. Our expectations had been high and we were all disappointed: mean portions, one guest's steak was a good 50% gristle, the vegetables accompanying each main course were minuscule (at best) and the desserts turned out to be a real "come-down". Service: friendly enough but a little bit too much on the slow side. Lastly, I did not fail to notice that the lovely baguette slices were served resting on a cloth that was meant to be white but that really, really could have done with a good old wash in boiling hot water! Would not go there again and would not recommend.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank homeandaway23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Marine also viewed

Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, Calvados
 

Been to La Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing