We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite simply the best restaurant on the d-day routes”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Marine

La Marine
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Quite simply the best restaurant on the d-day routes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

wonderful, fish dishes are fabulous and the service is excellent.Be prepared for a wait and if not to cold sit outside and soak up the atmosphere of this beautiful little corner of the world.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    180
    93
    40
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
165 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Average food and strained service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Not impressed. Decent but that's it.
Our moules were overcooked, it took them 30 minutes to make them and the service was rather unimpressive bordering on impolite. The price, however, was steep for what we got.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank DoctorDebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“High prices for not more than average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Fabulous view of an historic beach but, unfortunately, you can't eat a view... and the food did not go beyond average (and that's a stretch, but I don't want to be mean...), which means that the pretty steep prices were not justified. Our expectations had been high and we were all disappointed: mean portions, one guest's steak was a good 50% gristle, the vegetables accompanying each main course were minuscule (at best) and the desserts turned out to be a real "come-down". Service: friendly enough but a little bit too much on the slow side. Lastly, I did not fail to notice that the lovely baguette slices were served resting on a cloth that was meant to be white but that really, really could have done with a good old wash in boiling hot water! Would not go there again and would not recommend.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank homeandaway23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveland, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Ordinary Food- Nice view”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Six of us ate at LaMarine this past week. I had a gin and tonic for e9, which is outrageous. We had pea soup, bland cool plaice, cold tasteless noodles, and eight o'clock dessert. The server was extremely busy, and didn't come back to check on us until we were about done, when we were able to order water. After a wonderful dinner the night before, as well as many other French Hotel good meals, for the e35 each person, this was a sad experience.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Morgan_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good food, slow service an massive portions!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

The food is quite good, although the portions they serve are twice as big as one would expect. I suggest getting half a portion if you are not ravenous, because I could not finish my plate of Moules Mariniere even after a whole day of visiting museums! Overall a good place to eat.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lucas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Marine also viewed

Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 

Been to La Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing