We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”

Hotel de Normandie Restaurant
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Our food arrived rather more quickly than expected and it tasted very much as though it had been through the microwave rather than cooked in the traditional way. The cola certainly wasn't a brand leader and seemed to have a slightly oily film and was served without ice or a straw but, bizarrely, with a large cocktail stirrer stuck in the glass. Not particularly cheap and although the waiting staff were friendly the food was barely OK and we didn't linger.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank pensioneer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    66
    73
    50
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Perfect moules normandes....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

In May, the highlight of a short trip to Normandy was a day in the blustery sunshine eating our way through a bowl of moules normandes. In August, we stopped here on the way from the ferry terminal for our first lunch in France again. About ten degrees warmer, much more crowded, we settled down for round two. The moles normandes were - again - superb: a vast pan of moles, in a creamy soup with shreds of salty carrot and celery. You tend to accept good food or plenty of for: the Hotel de Normandie does both, although at summer lunchtimes the service can take time.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigBrightBlueSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Had a couple of pints before eating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

This was our last day if our cycle tour Camped in town camp site just up the road Served good beer and we decided to eat there as well Nice big tables that seated all seven of us Good seafood set menus not a bad price for a tourist area We usually did plat du jour in small villages That are a absolute bargain

Helpful?
Thank PeterB472013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fast Food!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

During our visit to Arromanches we wanted a quick meal! I have never had a med rare steak served so quickly - it beats KFC and Macs. However, it was cooked how I liked it and my wife's a ham cheese salad was well presented. Food was good, but the service could have been a bit slower!

Helpful?
Thank Howard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Don't go here for Moules Frites”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Our second trip to France and we had been looking forward to moules which we had enjoyed so much a few years earlier in Cherbourg. The moules here were so small, the size of my pinkie fingernail, that we had a hard time finding them! To top it off, the waiter insisted we had to pay extra for the fries although the menu clearly stated they were included.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel de Normandie Restaurant also viewed

Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 

Been to Hotel de Normandie Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing