We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A Wonderful Vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de la Marine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de la Marine
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

My husband and I were fortunate enough to stay in this lovely hotel for 2 nights in the middle of May without prior reservations. The friendly young woman at the reception desk was able to offer us accommodations, although in a different room each night. This wasn't a problem because the rooms were right next to each other and the hotel staff transferred our luggage from one room to the other while we were out sightseeing.

Arromanches des bain is a small town on what WWII history buffs know as Gold beach. The hotel is centrally located and within walking distance to various shops, cafes and the local museum.

The hotel is cozy and has a restaurant facing the beach where we enjoyed a lovely breakfast buffet everyday. What a great way to wake up with a cup of coffee or tea.We also opted to have dinner there in the evening. My seafood entrees were expertly prepared and delicious. My husband had chicken prepared with a creamy mushroom sauce and silky mashed potatoes that were memorable.

Both my husband and I enjoyed a pre-dinner cocktail called a Kir Normande which is local cider (cidre) with a splash of creme de cassis, as well as a postprandial Calvados, also locally made.

The rooms were simply decorated, well-maintained and had a spectacular view of the beach--we could open the windows up to let the ocean breezes into the room. There is an elevator, as well as a stairway to get to the upper floors.

All of the front desk staff was warm, friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English. Before we left for Paris, the young woman at the desk advised us that driving a car in Paris can be a nervewracking experience and perhaps we should use another method of transportation for our visit. Thankfully, we took her advice and dropped the car off before heading into Paris by taxi.Her advice spared us from spending hours in frenetic, rush hour traffic.

Watching the sun set on Arromanches beach was beyond beautiful and will stay with me the rest of my life. Seeing the WWII artifacts remaining on the beach was a poignant reminder of the sacrifices those before us made to secure the freedom we often take for granted.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cydny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    171
    90
    36
    29
See reviews for
101
243
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Superb location, second to none, adjacent to the DDay landing beach. Parking limited, but there is a free car park nearby. Staff friendly and helpful. But the bedroom was tiny, and storage space very limited. We couldn't unpack as there was nowhere to put anything and we were tripping over our bags all the time. We asked to be moved to a bigger room which meant a hefty price increase. The larger room was lovely, superb views, we opened the window and could hear the waves on the beach. Conveniently situated for the museum and I recommend a visit to the 360* cinema. We did enjoy our stay. The sense of history is very strong and it's an emotional experience remembering the events of 70 years ago.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mutleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

People can be too quick to say you can't get good service in France. Admittedly, when people speak a different language it can be harder to connect. BUT the staff at Hotel de la Marine are amazing, friendly, kind, happy and they also have great English language skills that make things that much easier.
The hotel has a restaurant right on the beach, the food is great and you can also include dinner, as well as breakfast, in your room rate. The included dinner does not give you access to expensive seafood like oysters, but you can use the value of your meal to make other selections and then pay the difference.
Great hotel and excellent service.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are of course the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLRinSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Languedoc-Roussillon, France
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed one night here in May, having picked out the hotel many years ago as one we wanted to visit, and were pleased to have eventually made it here. The welcome was first class, as was the dinner. The room was small, with very little room to pass between the bed and the furniture, but it was clean and comfortable. The location and history of Arromanches means that there are a lot of English guests there (including an old gentleman who complained the food was "too foreign". I wonder what he expected...), but the very French ambience made up for that.

La Marine is a lovely small hotel which I will probably go back to in future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardfromFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

I took my 89 year old friend who was confined to a wheelchair, back to Arromanches for the first time since he saw action on the 6th June 1944, the Hotel staff were superb in their respect and care for him. This charming Hotel (which was commandeered by the Nazis, during their occupation of France), is a throw back to the days when service and courtesy was the norm. The restaurant which overlooked the beach, offers superb cuisine, with seafood a speciality. The ensuite room we had on the 2nd floor (accessed by a lift) offered unrivalled views of the beaches. It was very clean and spacious for our requirements.

Room Tip: Good room 2nd floor overlooking the beach, don't miss the newsreel in the museum. Lots of friend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulio3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in October 2013 during a 8 day Normandy trip. This old hotel just oozes ambiance, with point blank views of the Mulberry Harbour. We had booked a seaview and we got that, it's so close to the beach, well worth it. It was very gusty one evening and we were pleased to hear the high tide surf. We were very impressed with the quality of service at front desk and restaurant. Make sure you reserve a table early, or you may not get one, as it is popular with hotel guests as well as others in the area. We had decent breakfasts as part of our package. The first floor room and bathroom were small, but expected considering the age. A burnt out bathroom light bulb was quickly replaced. We found the wifi worked great from our room.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a sea view for maximum ambience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denville, NJ, USA
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

My husband and I had reservations for two nights at the end of this September 2013. When we first arrived in our room we were overcome with the horrible smell of fish, cigarette smoke and bleach. The carpet was absolutely filthy in which you would not walk on bare footed. My husband almost broke his neck in the shower because evidently they forgot to rinse the tub of the bleach that was trying to kill the fish smell. Maybe someone cleaned their fish there? We slept with the windows open to eliminate the odor as well as having no AC however, that just brought the street noises and bright lights into our room. After getting no sleep for the night we checked out the next morning while explaining the situation to the receptionist without any satisfaction. She still charged us for two nights stay because of our reservations even though we only stayed one night. Once again it's a great location but not worth the loss of a nights sleep.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roxyquad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel de la mar... M, Responsable relations clients at Hotel de la Marine, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Sir,
We thank you very much to have taken the time to share your experience about our property. Our ultimate goal is your satisfaction and are really sorry to failed with you.
We also would like to share your stay, because we can hear many things but only if that's true.
You booked 2 nights with a well-known web site agency at the end of September with a great deal for the price. You checked in and were disapointed because you did not have a view on the sea (but that was the deal... good price but no view). At your check-in except the fact of the view, we did not have any comments about a smell of fish in your room, dirty carpets or all the things you described ?? It seems really strange to think that you were able to stay in if what you describe is true. We can understand that you were disappointed but we can't let you write wrong things about our propery. And overall because you wrote us an email threaten us to write comments on all the sites you can find if we did not refund you the night we charged you.
Regarding the bleach, it is totally forbidden to use it in the hotel, so you didn't have the possibilty to smell bleach.
Regarding the noise you can heard, the room you had was in the street of the reception. In this small street (a one way street and a dead street), the only traffic you can have is 2 cars going in our small car park (full at around 4pm). AlsoArromandhes is a small village with no Casino, no night club and has the reputation of a very quiet village, so we really wonder what kind of noise you can heard except sea gulls maybe !
So really once again, we are really sorry that you did not enjoyed your stay but please don't write such things when it is not true just because you're disappointed.
We wish you a very pleasant day.
Mme Durand Lénaïc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Arromanches-les-Bains hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arromanches-les-Bains
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
#1 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Mulberry
Le Mulberry
#2 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Normandie
Hotel de Normandie
#4 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
3.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel D'arromanches
Hotel D'arromanches
#5 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.4 mi away
Les Villas d'Arromanches
Les Villas d'Arromanches
#1 of 2 in Tracy-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
7.5 mi away
La Cremaillere
La Cremaillere
#1 of 2 in Courseulles-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Marine

Property: Hotel de la Marine
Address: 1 quai du Canada, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Arromanches-les-Bains
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Arromanches-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Marine 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de la Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Marine Hotel
Hotel De La Marine Arromanches-Les-Bains, France - Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing