We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Hotel de la Marine, Arromanches-les-Bains” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Marine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel de la Marine
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hotel de la Marine, Arromanches-les-Bains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

No luxury hotel this, but the sea views (including of the remains of the Mulberry Harbour) are rather splendid. The rooms are pretty basic - perhaps even a little tired - and you really do want one with a sea view if possible. The people who run the hotel are very friendly and helpful. There is a pleasant bar and a rather nice (if a tad pricey) restaurant - again with great views.

The hotel is right on the sea front, so we were lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves each night. Car parking isn't difficult with a bit of persistence, free overnight and all day in other parts of the small town. Arromanches is on the western edge of Gold Beach, so ideal for exploring west into Omaha and Utah or east for Gold and Juno. The town itself has an interesting museum and the excellent 365 degree cinema. Lovely Calvados countryside all around and Bayeux just a stones throw away.

Room Tip: Don't book through a bucket shop - go straight to the hotel and ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_Lee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    159
    84
    33
    27
See reviews for
98
226
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch in Bayeux France on our way to Omaha Beach. We asked our waiter for a good hotel and he suggested La Marina. It is not on Omaha Beach but about 12 miles north along the beach. The town it's in is where the allied built a port starting 2 days after D Day. Bust the museum and see the film. Now about the hotel, right on the water, great view from the dining room and good food. Typical European breakfast. Ask for parking in the back. Wifi poor!!!
Enjoy
Tom Brown

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brownt42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
136 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed here for just a night, but it was a nice stay. The parking lot is very small, so it leaves you to find street parking, pay to park in the lot or wait until after 7pm to park in the lot for free. The room had a lovely view from the windows and hearing the ocean at night was really nice. (Injury side note: The bed frames stick way out and are covered by the comfortor. Both my companion and and I nailed our shins on the wood frames) The bathroom was lovely and spacious, nice change of pace after traveling for three weeks. Our stay was short, but pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishTravelingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hotel is in a beautiful location and the rooms have the best beach views in Arromanches. The staff is friendly and the rooms are clean. We opted for the morning breakfast with the room and found it to be adequate (bread, jams, hard-boiled eggs, cheese and meat). The room was very small but adequate for touring. The bed was horrible! We were not able to find a comfortable position on the extremely soft mattress the entire 5 nights of our stay. Hotel staff offers internet but advises access in the hotel bar. Even in the bar, we were only able to access internet 2 of the 5 nights and then connectivity was not good enough to support Skype. There is an elevator but staff turns it off overnight and so if you leave before 8:00 a.m., you must lug all your luggage down the very narrow, steep and winding staircase (we were on the 3rd floor).

Room Tip: Be sure to reserve a room with a sea view. You can only guarantee a sea view when making reservatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HTL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Hotel Marine is ideally placed for visits to the D-Day landing beaches and is situated at Quai du Canada, right on the seafront.
Staff were very pleasant and helpful and we were given a room on the 3rd floor with a seaview!
We were a little disappointed that the room had a 'smell of cigarettes' about it and looked 'tired'!
We were not looking for anything 'flashy' and we certainly didn't get it but it was clean and the bathroom was functional.
Overall ok - location superb.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view - well worth it and the higher the better -ie 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunshineRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Coming from Italy, me my wife and our son (12 yeras old). It was a nice experience considering all the aspects:
1) Pratically the hotel is located in front the sea (few meters), the view is really impressive.
2) The restaurant is perfect, we had a dinner and a lunch with good and fresh fish well prepared
3) The public car parking is a few meters from the hotel. In the night is free of charge.
4) and a 100 meters from the hotel there is the musèe du debarquement which is an important site for who likes to know more details about this important event of european history during last world war. In few words the perfect hotel for the planned scope of our visit. It was a relaxing and interesting stop in France during our trip . Roberto & his family from Italy

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberto C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
93 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is a great little hotel. the place is clean with attached restaurant. Breakfast was included. Wine sold in the lobby, very nice. It is located right in the middle of the town and looks out onto the remains of the WWII Mulberry harbor. There is a nice museum and casino just east of the hotel and lots of places to explore.

Room Tip: The more you pay the higher the floor you'll be located. If there is a lot happening on the boa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bthaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arromanches-les-Bains
0.2 mi away
Le Mulberry
Le Mulberry
#2 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 stars 169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
#1 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Normandie
Hotel de Normandie
#4 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
3.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel D'arromanches
Hotel D'arromanches
#5 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
0.4 mi away
Les Villas d'Arromanches
Les Villas d'Arromanches
#1 of 2 in Tracy-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
#2 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
4.0 of 5 stars 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Marine

Property: Hotel de la Marine
Address: 1 quai du Canada, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Arromanches-les-Bains
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Arromanches-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Marine 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de la Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Marine Hotel
Hotel De La Marine Arromanches-Les-Bains, France - Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing