We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect D-Day Beach Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de la Marine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de la Marine
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect D-Day Beach Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Couldn't have been happier with the hotel and the location as the focal point for D-Day beach tour. Wonderful beach and sea view enabling us to truly get the perspective of D-Day. The main D-Day museum (a must) is less than 100m away and the small town vibe is friendly and inviting.
The only minor irritation was that wifi access was mostly limited to the bar and reception area (really only an annoyance).

Room Tip: Seaviews are available and well worth the modest additional price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George_USA90254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    171
    90
    36
    29
See reviews for
101
243
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington Hills Mi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Ocean front hotel, smack in the middle of the five historic D-day Normandy landings. Perfect for everything we wanted, great restaurant. A short walk to muesem & shops. Front desk & restaurant folks spoke English & were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sargestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We have stayed a few times in the past at this wonderful hotel. The location and view is superb, backed up by friendly welcoming staff. We booked recently to celebrate our 25th wedding ann, and booking and confirmation via e-mail was quick and painless. If you love seafood, then this is the hotel for you. A wide range of choice, all locally caught backed up with an excellent view over Gold Beach whilst you dine. Despite the fact they are mainly a seafood restaurant, they are happy to supply alternatives if this is not your type of meal. Being a vegetarian, trying to get a meal other than meat in a country where meat is almost a religion can sometimes prove a problem. This is not the case at the La Marine, they happily supplied whatever I requested. One evening I simply fancied a cheese & mushroom omelette, a it was one of the best I had ever had, the chef clearly put a lot of effort into it with a few nice additional extras.
The hotel itself is very old and can be noisy from other guests (depending on your room) at night, but it is always very well kept and spotlessly clean. We stayed for six nights and although we did not request it, the towels were changed every day. We will return.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Beach, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Great location, right on the beach. The room was small but clean and with a sea view. This was a great value at the off-season rate. The staff were exceptional. They spoke excellent English and were extremely helpful. All in all, a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Len2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Very adequate hotel for a visit to Arromanches. Very pleasant reception and breakfast staff. Has an elevator, which is nice. Rooms small and clean. Plumbing good. Main thing is the
location about one hundred meters across the parking lot, which is free from 7PM to 9AM, from the main attraction in the town, the Musee du Embarquement. We parked there late, after some difficulty finding the hotel, got up in the morning, breakfasted, walked over to the museum, spent a couple of hours there, looked for the parking attendant, could not find him so we got into the car and simply drove out after the barrier mysteriously opened for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the sea, that's the other half of the charm of this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank docB44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

True, this is an old hotel, and that is part of its charm. We made our reservations several months in advance and snagged a twin room on the sea with windows on two sides. It was perfect. The beds were comfy and the bath was plenty roomy for our two night stay. We had dinner in the dining room the first night with one of us ordering the 3 course menu and the other a main course. The appetizer of 6 oysters was shared between the two of us, and dessert was plenty for two. While it was fairly pricy, we felt we got our money's worth. The complimentary breakfast was generous and we had a drink in the bar both evenings. The staff was gracious and helpful.

Room Tip: Make reservations early and be specific what you want. The room prices are posted and you get what...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KJCS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Spur of the moment decision to stay at hotel since we planned a day trip from Paris only. Restaurant drew us in. Good menu but very overpriced. Staff very friendly which helped to make up for the minuses in the room. Small with terrible mattress. Beautiful view but room too hot. For every plus there was a minus. Again staff was four star room was one star.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jancoxaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arromanches-les-Bains
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
#1 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Mulberry
Le Mulberry
#2 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Normandie
Hotel de Normandie
#4 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
3.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel D'arromanches
Hotel D'arromanches
#5 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.4 mi away
Les Villas d'Arromanches
Les Villas d'Arromanches
#1 of 2 in Tracy-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
7.5 mi away
La Cremaillere
La Cremaillere
#1 of 2 in Courseulles-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Marine

Property: Hotel de la Marine
Address: 1 quai du Canada, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Arromanches-les-Bains
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Arromanches-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Marine 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de la Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Marine Hotel
Hotel De La Marine Arromanches-Les-Bains, France - Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing