We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best Meal in Arromanches” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Le Papagall

Restaurant Le Papagall
Price range: $0 - $39
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ferney-Voltaire, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best Meal in Arromanches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We ate at a few restaurants while we were in Arromanches and this was the best of the three. The food was outstanding and the service was quite good. The dining room was a little loud and the noise was not helped by the presence of some overly energetic, unruly, and unsupervised children (the parents were more interested in quaffing their wine then managing their hellions.)

That aside, though, the atmosphere was pleasant and warm. We chose to order the "Decouverte Menu" (Discovery Menu) and enjoyed several innovative and well-constructed dishes. We both started with the Decouverte du Pappagall, featuring foie gras, smoked salmon, and smoked duck. All three were excellent. The smoked duck was especially flavorful and the foie gras was modest, but tasty.

We followed our starters with the duck in cider sauce with the potatoes dauphinoise. Both were excellent! Then we finished the evening off with dessert, which was okay. (That doesn't mean the desserts are bad. It just means we both made choices we ended up not particularly liking. But, that's the risk you take when you're adventurous and try something new!)

All-in-all, a good meal in a nice atmosphere. The owner came out and interacted with us, in terms of making recommendations and chatting. He was friendly and conversant in English, and he was clearly very proud of the food they create at this restaurant. That pride shone through in the menu and the quality of the meal we ate. If we're ever in Arromanches again, we would definitely eat here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jmkincaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    55
    23
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We went here on recommendation from other persons at the hotel.

Sure, it was late in the evening and the chef must have been tired or absent. The carbonara was looking like something from a fastfood restaurant, but atleast the taste of the pasta was ok. The sauce was not top notch...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MartinLindfors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Where NOT to eat in Arromanches”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Located ideally on one corner of the main shopping street of Arromanches which coincidently houses most of its restaurants the Logis de France Pappagall appears promising - in terms of menu and by way of comparison with the rest. It was recommended to us as being very good - perhaps the chef had his annual vacation (it was august).

Apparences deceive. We had a variety of different dishes (incl 2 3-course menus) and all were very mediocre. Even the seafood which required little preparation was very disappointing. The meat sauces and desserts were of the packaged variety. The prices were ok but only if you didn't consider the quality. Three separate guests of our hotel ate there the same night. By coincidence we heard from all three that they shared our poor experience.

Unfortunately for the Pappagall Arromanches is blessed with an excellent and very fairly priced restaurant - the Petits assiettes restaurant of the Mulberry Hotel. Visitors here would be well served avoiding the former and frequenting the latter!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Esdorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
Level Contributor
88 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“We used it twice in 3 days”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Very good, once with the kids, and then later with friends. It fills up quick on a Saturday, but we got in at 6.30 and it was pretty quiet. By 8 it was full. Monday night it was empty. Food was standard fare but cooked well, i enjoyed the Duck. Nice little bar next door that looked cosy....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank woodydog666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

After seeing Le Papagall rated as 2nd best in Arromanches, we decided to give it a try. However we did not realise that it is the best of an average selection of restaurants in this tourist destination. The service was very slow due to an inexperienced young girl serving alone. We waited a long time for our food, which was dry & overcooked when it arrived. As if it had been cooked & left under a heat lamp or equivalent. Looking around at other diners meals, if you like chips/French fries, you'll be fine as most plates were overflowing with them. The décor is OK, but my place setting was sticky. Having watched the table near being cleared, I could understand why. The table settings were not changed, just given a cursory wipe. Not the best, but we have had worse.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Boatbum40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Le Papagall also viewed

Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 

Been to Restaurant Le Papagall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing