We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location let down by poor service and terrible food.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Bistro

Le Bistro
Price range: $15 - $28
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location let down by poor service and terrible food.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

In fairness we chose probably the busiest day of the year to visit...the 70th anniversary if the D-Day landings however we felt that did not excuse the very slow and surly service, overpriced menu and very poor food. A pity. One to avoid!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Olliedog2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    91
    58
    31
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Location awesome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

The restaurant is in the heart of Arromanches. Nice place to eat the Moules, but if you don't like it they have options for every taste like french cuisine, pizza and burger. At night a band plays good music. However if you like crowdy and noisy place don't go.

Helpful?
Thank Vivi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“If you like your fish soup tasting like mud, this is the place.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Avoid like the plague. I know what to expect of fish soup , but the only connection between this concoction and the marine world, would be if they had dredged it from the bottom. I can't believe it wasn't microwaved , it was still boiling 20 mins after it's arrival. As for main course , I'm still waiting for it several hours later !! 50 mins after ordering (magnet de canard ) I asked after it's whereabouts . " in the kitchen" , came the reply. Not sure if he meant if I should go and get it myself, or maybe even catch-it ?after another 10 minster gave up, paid up, and left.
Incidentally , ordered a bottle of cider (11 euros if you please). Told waiter it wasn't chilled. Rather than get a new bottle , he just stuck it in a bag of ice. And that made such a difference. Not.
My son's pizza was burnt, not entirely unusual but a bit much when the salami is back and curled over. The restaurant manages 1 star because my other son thought his spaghetti bolognese was ok ,

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AdrianH_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Two Good Meals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Ate there on two separate evenings, good service and good food. Plenty of time to relax and enjoy the meals without being rushed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Served by a very nice waitress we both went for the moules in camembert sauce and frites followed by plum tart.. Good generous serving for 12 euros. Would go back again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 277rita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistro also viewed

Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 

Been to Le Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing