We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Pas mal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bistro

Le Bistro
Price range: $16 - $29
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pas mal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We ate at Le Bistrot on a busy day in mid-August. 'Average' seems a little unfair - but it wasn't 'Very Good' either. I had Moules Normandes (with cider), which didn't include chips in the price but was very tasty indeed, and far less salty than others I've had in France. My wife had an unremarkable green salad (is there any other kind in a French bistro?) and a pleasant pasta bolognese. With a beer, it came to €29, which seems ok for such a nice location right near the seafront. Service was very good - a young guy who was quick and attentive and pleasant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DoktorGarrard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    79
    55
    28
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Two great meals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Excellent food, great service and made you feel welcome despite us not speaking much french. Will visit again next time we return to the area!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frances N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent local cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We discovered this restaurant our first year in Normandy and have been at least twice every year for three years now.

We love the atmosphere of the place and its outside seating which is perfect on a sunny day. They have a well priced menu with a good selection of courses, including pasta, pizza, salads and local specialities such as moules et frites (mussels and fries), poulet au cidre (chicken in cider) and filet mignon (pork fillet) in a creamy pommeau sauce.

I'd highly recommend it especially poulet au cidre, great value and great food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My family are regulars at Le Bistrot when we are in Arromanches, which we visit every summer as a part of our family holiday in Normandy. We do love the restaurant, although it does have some flaws.

The main attraction, the food, is always lovely - we have never had a bad meal there. The only time we had a problem (the lasagne was cold) the staff were very kind and dealt with the problem quickly and efficiently. Much of the choice is fairly Europeanized e.g. pizza, pasta but there are also some lovely French dishes to try. My particular favourite is the Poulet au Cidre (chicjen in cider) which was divine. The mussels of all varieties are also lovely, as is the Fillet mignon avec sauce pommeau (pork fillet with pommeau sauce). The crepes are also delicious.

The downsides - well, the actually restaurant is a nice set up but pretty small, hence it does get crowded and can be a bit of a squeeze at times, particularly in bad whether. There is an outside seating area but this is on a busy pedestrian area so is not really ideal. Also, when the restaurant is busy the service can be a bit slow and less welcoming. However, generally we have always found the staff lovely, and the fact we make the effort to try as well as we can to speak French where possible also goes down well. The staff are particularly good with kids - my five year old son has charmed more than one waitress there and gets rather spoilt by them as a result.

The food is slightly pricey - but only slightly and it is comparible with prices elsewhere in the town/area. I would have liked more choices of French speciality dishes on the menu also.

Overall though, we do really like the Bistrot and the niggles are not enough to put us off, and we would recommend you pay a visit if in the area.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stracs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
138 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Crowded, but clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Had some nice moules et frites in blue cheese sauce here, a little pricey, but similar to most other places in the town, service was a bit slow and not so friendly, but restaurant was clean and smart with seats on the main pedestrianised street.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank marktheevildude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistro also viewed

Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 

Been to Le Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing