We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Decent Meal” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brasserie Au 6 Juin

Brasserie Au 6 Juin
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ferney-Voltaire, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Decent Meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We ate here twice during our stay in Arromanches. It wasn't bad, but nothing memorable. The service was prompt and nice enough. It's a large restaurant with a lot of volume, so it felt a little impersonal and rushed, which is uncommon for France. Still, it's a tourist town and most of the people who come here aren't interested in the hours-long French dining experience.

The food was good and basic. If you're looking for something quick, but substantial (i.e. more than just pizza or crepes), Brasserie Au 6 Juin is passable.

One thing to note: If you see a table on the outside terrace and that's where you want to sit, grab it. Don't wait for the staff to seat you there. We were polite enough to ask in advance and while we were busy asking, someone else sat at the table we wanted. Because our French isn't that great, we couldn't dispute that we had asked for the table ahead of the couple who simply took it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jmkincaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    187
    103
    67
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Two soups, a beer and a new mortgage”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

This place was just OK. It was rather expensive for a relatively poorly prepared menu. It was value for money as the cheese sauce repeated on me for 48 hours...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank PaulandHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, TX
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Clearly this place gets uneven review but my experience here was great. We were in Arromanches-les-Bain in June, 22013. The menu was extensive but the seafood, steamed or grilled, seemed to be the best. Our server understood very little English but we used our serviceable French to translate the menu and point. It worked. Excellent deserts and after-lunch coffee. A bustling restaurant, I would recommend it and will return when there again.

How would you feel if someone came to your restaurant and spoke none of your language and expected you to figure it out for them? I understand a server coping an attitude after the umpteenth time. If you go to France, learn a little French or at least carry some kind of translator with you. Geez.

Historically, I believe the residents of some French towns remember Liberation Day and appreciate the sacrifice of 1944 even today, St. Mere Eglise was like that. Arronmanches was flattened by the Brits before they came ashore and with minimal Nazi presence. I understand they might feel differently, even though it was a long time ago. If you go on vacation to a foreign country, don't leave your sensibilities at home. Take the difficulties with a grain of salt, too, and you'll have a better trip.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wind-In-His-Hair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
127 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Simple but tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were part of a large group and seated in the banquet room upstairs. Salads, wine and water were already at the table and we were served a traditional chicken dish for lunch. Prompt, friendly service and clean restrooms (always a plus!).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Milendr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good lunch time venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stopped here for lunch one lunchtime whilst in the region and had a lovely family meal.

We were served promptly and well by the waiter - we used our basic French when ordering but he was happy to chip in with bits of English when we struggled. He did little things for our son, such as bringing sweets and a straw to make having his drink easier.

The food was good - it was a little more expensive that some of the other restaurants on the Arromanches main street.

We had a local regional speciality - pork in cider sauce. The meat was well cooked and tender, with a good amount of sauce - not too much or too little. Our sons meal was brought with ours so we could all eat together.

The restaurant had good wash room facilities too.

Worth a visit, but still prefer le Bistrot which is absolutely lovely.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Au 6 Juin also viewed

Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 

Been to Brasserie Au 6 Juin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing