We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the beach”
Review of Hotel de Normandie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de Normandie
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Close to the beach”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

The location was great in the centre of Arromanches. It was close to the beach and we saw a beautiful sunset. The hotel had some charm and they had free parking, if the parking lot wasn't full, which it was. We woke up to the sound of sea gulls.
There was no elevator and the room was small. Our daughter got her own room which she liked. The Wi-Fi did not work in the rooms. It was difficult to find a good restaurant in Arromanches, so we went to Bayeux.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Len H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    74
    64
    33
    28
See reviews for
64
109
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

This was once a nice hotel. But they have divided up the rooms into telephone boxes. Worst of all, their primary business is feeding coach parties, so they have no time and no facilities for customers. Not even one seat, let alone a guest lounge. (Actually, there is a guest lounge, but it is full of coach parties having dinner.)

And I never saw anyone on the front desk. In fact, there is no front desk, it is now full of coach parties having dinner.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tatelyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Arromanches-les-Bains hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights stay.Great location to explore the coastline and WW2 history,
Situated directly on Gold beach.We stayed in Room 1 which overlooks the sea - double and single bed which we paid extra for.Would definitely stay there again.Very french and nice enough people.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jvolney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

This property has a great location right on the waterfront where the port was built to support the D-Day landing and right across the street from the Debarquement Museum. It is quite old and dated, but priced accordingly. Parking is free. Food is okay. Hotel reception staff was fine; restaurant staff was not rude but would not win any hospitality awards.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trekkers1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Although the Normandie must get a lot of business, due to it's location, there doesnt seem to have been any re-investment in recent memory.The facilities are basic. Entering the shower was a bit of a trial as it was only about 8" wide at the door and the shower nozzle didn't attach to the wall so you had to hold it. I agree with another reviewer who said it needs a jolly good scrub. No internet connection. Staff not friendly nor helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We booked a room for 2 nights in March and we loved it. The hotel is "old school" and it has a lot of charm and the quality/price ratio is really good.
Location: In front of the beach and the old Mulberry Harbor and in the center of the town. Only 10 mins from Bayeux and 20-30 mins from Omaha Beach.
Hotel: Three stories with no elevator. Old house type but clean and charming.
Room: Basic. Heating, TV and updated bathrooms. Very clean
Service: The staff was very friendly and spoke basic english
Pets: They accept pets at no extra cost.
Wifi: I was in the third floor and had no signal. Even on the first floor the reception was pretty bad.
Other: They have a hair dryer in the bathroom. No irons in the room. They have those refillable shower gels in the shower so bring your own shampoo/gel if that's crucial for you.
Overall, we had a great stay and I would definitively stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SebastianDelgado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Spent two nights at this Hotel, good location and views of sea and what's left of the Mulberry Harbour. Room okay, clean and plenty of hot water. Convenient for a drink and bite to eat after a busy day visiting the many places of interest in the area. Feel very good value for money and would stay again.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank mahri16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arromanches-les-Bains
0.0 mi away
Hotel de la Marine
Hotel de la Marine
#2 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
#1 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
209 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel D'arromanches
Hotel D'arromanches
#4 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Mulberry
Le Mulberry
#3 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Les Villas d'Arromanches
Les Villas d'Arromanches
#1 of 2 in Tracy-sur-Mer
231 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#2 of 2 in Courseulles-sur-Mer
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Normandie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Normandie

Property: Hotel de Normandie
Address: 5 Place du 6 Juin 1944, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Arromanches-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Arromanches-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de Normandie 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel de Normandie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Normandie Arromanches-Les-Bains, France - Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing