We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Old charming hotel beautifully situated” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de Normandie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel de Normandie
Peron, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Old charming hotel beautifully situated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

We spent two nights at Le Normandie with our two pre-teens. Let's first give the bad points :: we were on the third floor without a lift and had very heavy suitcases and the lamps above the bed did not work.

Apart from that we were very happy with our stay. The room was spacious, clean, the shower room was modern and the beds very comfortable. We had two windows including one overlooking the sea.

Breakfast was not cheap but apart from the usual you got ham and could get an omelette or fried eggs. There was tinned fruit cocktail but also a fresh salad.

The hotel is on the beach and near the museum so in a great situation. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Agnes F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    62
    59
    30
    25
See reviews for
60
93
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Wa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Wife and I stayed at this hotel in early June. One night. During our vacation in France, we stayed in eight hotels. This was the clear loser. They put us in a room on the top floor. Cons: The ceiling was sloped so I couldn't stand up straight in half the room. Room was very small. The bed was probably the original bed when the hotel first opened. The floors creaked, and you could hear people creaking their way up the stairs at night. Pros: It was clean. Cheap. Great location (Right by the beach). We passed on the breakfast and got a wonderful pastry at a nearby Patisserie. Bottom line: If you're looking for a cheap place to stay in Arromanches, this place will fit the bill. Just remember, it's inexpensive for a reason. By the way, we absolutely loved the town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Arromanches-les-Bains hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

It really was like 'Allo 'Allo when we arrived through what seemed like the back door, took a while to find our booking then realised it was only booked as Mark not our full name. Went up a winding staircase to a bijou and compact room, but it was clean with a shower en-suite, which was fine for one night. Glad we hadn't booked longer as Arromanches is very expensive living off the D Day landings. The whole town is obviously getting ready for June as there is scaffolding everywhere, including the Hotel de Normandie

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gillyval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
149 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

I am a very experienced traveller to France (twice a year for the past 15 years). This is the first negative review that I have posted about a hotel. The full fee of €360 was taken from my account at the time of booking (via booking.com) last October. Hotel de Normandie then proceeded to charge me another €529.50 for our stay. I refused to pay. This sum was removed from my account a second time, plus breakfast charges (total €539.50) without permission AFTER I left the hotel. The staff did not have English (I have some French). They were most unhelpful. In fact, I was glibly told that the money would be removed whether I liked it or not and am not trying to sort the issue out through Visa and booking.com
Breakfasts were terrible. Croissants were burnt. Breads were so so. Fruit came from tins. There was only one cereal (cornflakes). Water at breakfast was only provided on request and most begrudgingly. Coffee and tea were very poor in quality.
One of our two rooms smelled of stale cigarette smoke. We specifically requested non-smoking.
Hotel was booked via booking.com? Another company interested in their cut of the profits without any interest in the user?

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Powerpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

Having only paid £100 for 5 nights (booking.com) i was a bit apprehensive, but need not have been.
The room we had (no1) was a very large triple with sea and side views. There was a desk, armchair small chair, pouffe and stool, so no shortage of seating. The room was cleaned most days and sheets twice. Clean towels were offered every day.
The staff were all very friendly and pleasant.
Yes, it is dated, but the for the money, that wasnt an issue.
We ate ate the restaurant on our last night and the food was very good (wish i`d eaten there more!)
The hotel is well located for the d-day beaches and Bayeux and a short drive from Ouistreham.
We would definately stay again, but in the summer next time as a lot was closed.
The stairs were a bit creaky at night, but that wouldnt deter us from returning!!

Room Tip: room 1 was a corner room. Facing the sea and the side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank szwandtkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

We chose this hotel as it was perfectly located for our two night trip to discover the D-Day beaches and was very reasonably priced. The hotel is suitable if you are only looking for a clean, comfortable bed to sleep in at night while visiting the area. It is perfectly located across the beach and within walking distance of two D-day landing museums in a very pretty coastal town. A basic breakfast is available and the hotel restaurant is also acceptable.

Room Tip: Ask for a seafront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Odette77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, UK
Level Contributor
247 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

I chose this Hotel as I wanted to explore the D-Day beaches and also because it was the cheapest Logis de France in the area ( €195 for 3 nights )

The main plus point for the Hotel is the location, it's almost right opposite the beach ( there's a road and a smallish car park between the two ) and several of the rooms have sea views. Room 1 is the best for a view.

Parking is quite limited at the Hotel itself, there is space for about 4 cars in a small parking area to the left of the Hotel and manoeuvring can be a bit tricky when the car park is busy. Failing that there is the public ( chargeable) hotel right opposite.

The reception area is very small, which isn't suprising given that the establishment clearly gets more revenue from the restaurant which is where most of the space had gone. Check in was simple and we were given a key within less than a minute.

Access to the rooms is via a flight of creaky and dusty stairs - there are no lifts which would mean that this hotel is not really suitable for those with mobility impairments. Rooms are spread over 4 different levels.

Our room was fairly standard with the basics you would expect, although the TV remote control was chained to one particular piece of furniture and the number of channels was very limited. The bathroom had ample space with a shower but unfortunately the head would not fix to the wall, also it was sometimes difficult to get a comfortable water temperature. The amount of shower gel / soap provided seemed to be quite limited and im glad I brought my own.

The bed itself was very comfortable and with shutters on the windows there was no light disturbance.

Breakfast at the hotel was the typical over priced continental experience and at €9 per person we only took it on one day and used a nearby cafe on the others.

The restaurant clearly caters for the number of ( non French ) tourists and the menu clearly reflects this. Prices were a little on the high side and therefore we only ate there on the first night. That said, the service was efficient and there was nothing to complain about in terms of the food quality, it just wasnt anything special.

If you want a good meal in town itself then I strongly recommend avoiding any of the those on the main street which all appear to be tourist traps to some extent.

All in all it was a decent enough stay and I can't really fault it, it's nothing special though and wouldn't advise making a special trip to stay here unless you want to be in Arromanches itself.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frontera2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arromanches-les-Bains
0.2 mi away
Le Mulberry
Le Mulberry
#2 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
#1 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Marine
Hotel de la Marine
#3 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel D'arromanches
Hotel D'arromanches
#5 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.5 mi away
Les Villas d'Arromanches
Les Villas d'Arromanches
#1 of 2 in Tracy-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
7.4 mi away
La Cremaillere
La Cremaillere
#1 of 2 in Courseulles-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Normandie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Normandie

Property: Hotel de Normandie
Address: 5 Place du 6 Juin 1944, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Arromanches-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Arromanches-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de Normandie 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel de Normandie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Normandie Arromanches-Les-Bains, France - Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing