We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Ideal for a base whilst doing the 'operation overlord' tour” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick
Level Contributor
105 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Ideal for a base whilst doing the 'operation overlord' tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

As others have said this is a motel rather than a hotel but the very reason I booked it was because it had off street parking (5 paces away from your room door).Due to late arrival of ferry the front door was locked and we had to ring to get the keys to our room. The room was clean with all the usual amenities but can be a little noisy if you have noisy guests next to or above you. Breakfast was from 08.30 to 10am in the main reception area where there were delicious croissants available.The small town with it's many cafes is just 200-300 yards away.This hotel/motel is just a 45 minute drive away along the coast from the ferry port at Ouistreham and could not be better placed for those doing the 'Operation Overlord' tour as we were

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Setch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    71
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
63
86
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Clean, roomy, all comforts from great towels to shaving kit. We travel by bike and the owner, a cyclist also, even offered to service our equipment. Lovely breakfast and delightful hosts. Town is small so the convenient location didn't matter a great deal but the hotel was surrounded by restaurants and a food market.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hkavet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palermo, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

I and my husband, with our 2 small pets have been here last july (2012) and liked it very much.
Great location to visit the Normandy invasion beaches, walking distance to Arromanches beach and museum, free parking, wi-fi, good french breakfast.
Our room (n.1) was very spacious, nice, clean and confortable, like a 3stars-room.
Madame Sylvie, the owner, is very kind, friendly and helpful.
She also run a lovely and not expensive creperie-restaurant just walking distance to hotel. We had dinner twice there and ate very good "gallettes", crepes and normandy dishes: very recommended !!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank an70ro58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassaigne France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed two nights on our way to UK for holiday (we live in SW France) as we wanted to see the WW2 sites, War graves, museums etc. Good basic motel style accomodation with excellent hosts who made our stay very pleasant. Surprised how much there is to see so we shall be returning to spend more time exploring the landing sites and visitor centres and will definitely be staying at L'ideal Mountbatten which makes an excellent base. Hotel is less than five minutes walk from "town" centre restaurants, beach with remains of Mulberry Harbour, museums, etc. Arrived late in the evening but the 6th June Brasserie who had finished cooking provided a one plate meal and sweet so we ate there the rest of our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IrvinandJacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

The hotel has recently changed its name to L'IDEAL Mountbatten and I can no longer find the limited web site that did exist at the time of booking the accomodation. This is a motel style hotel with 9 rooms split over two levels with car parking just a few metres away from the ground floor rooms. Location is very good, being in the centre of Arromanches. Rooms are spacious and functional and were extremely clean. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. Bathroom was adequate but had little shelf space or storage and the shower head with a flexible hose was positioned at waist height! Tea and coffee making facilities are a big let down which consisted of a kettle, 2 tea bags and 2 satchets of coffee but no milk and 2 plastic vending type disposable cups. Breakfast was typically French with croissant, bread, one choice of cereal and cheese, tea and coffee. In summary a good spot for a stay of just 1 or 2 nights.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mont Vernon, Nh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed here two nights while exploring the Normandy coast. The location was great---quiet but just a block or two from the center of town. Parking was right across from our room. The room was very spacious, bed was comfortable, bathroom adequate but lacking shelf space. The hand shower was tricky to use. The reception staff person spoke no English. The breakfast was basic although the breakfast room was very nice.

We had trouble locating the place as it seems to have changed its name to L'Ideal with Mountbatten in very small letters below that. We were not informed of that change.

Our arrival was a bit of a nightmare. We came well within the posted check in time to find reception locked and empty. We tried the alternate location mentioned on the posted sign to find it closed with no one there. With no European phones, we were not able to call the posted number. Finally, a stranger happened by who was able to make the phone contact for us. We were told that that the key was inside the door of our room and we could check in the next morning. Then all was well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MVGranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel for 2 nights at a cost of 175 euro. Was expecting a bit better for the money.
Good points were; Good location for Normandy beaches and WW2 sites and cemeteries, Rooms were clean and owners were very pleasant when they were there and car parking was good.
We stayed in room 5. On the minus side; Toilet seat was broken, basin had very large cracks in it, glass shelf had large chip out of one side, Shower head bracket was positioned at chest height so you could not have a proper shower and the tv had no english channels at all. Breakfast was also a disappointment with a single croissant each and a french stick between two. The was some cheese and yogourt available as well as tea and orange/apple juice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chalexuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arromanches-les-Bains
0.1 mi away
Le Mulberry
Le Mulberry
#2 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Marine
Hotel de la Marine
#3 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Normandie
Hotel de Normandie
#4 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
3.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Les Villas d'Arromanches
Les Villas d'Arromanches
#1 of 2 in Tracy-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
7.6 mi away
La Cremaillere
La Cremaillere
#1 of 2 in Courseulles-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ferme de la Ranconniere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten

Property: Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
Address: 20 boulevard Gilbert Longuet, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Arromanches-les-Bains
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Arromanches-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel L'Ideal Le Mountbatten Arromanches-Les-Bains, France - Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing