We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for somewhere to sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel for 2 nights at a cost of 175 euro. Was expecting a bit better for the money.
Good points were; Good location for Normandy beaches and WW2 sites and cemeteries, Rooms were clean and owners were very pleasant when they were there and car parking was good.
We stayed in room 5. On the minus side; Toilet seat was broken, basin had very large cracks in it, glass shelf had large chip out of one side, Shower head bracket was positioned at chest height so you could not have a proper shower and the tv had no english channels at all. Breakfast was also a disappointment with a single croissant each and a french stick between two. The was some cheese and yogourt available as well as tea and orange/apple juice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chalexuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 233 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

The location is very good (50m from the beach) and there is a supermarket just across the street. The downside is the the room is very basic: It is a bit small, the ground rooms are 4m away from the parking area. You have to manually hod the shower tab while taking a shower. There was no Internet connection in the hotel for 3 days while we were there, and for me that was unacceptable. The breakfast is very minimal

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelzil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We got there at about 10.00 pm due to the ferry times, the reception was closed but there was a number to ring. We were told that the key was in the door, which turned out to be the case. The room doors go straight onto the external balcony which is a layout that I have not come across before. The room was basic with rather old fashioned furniture. It was en suite and had tea and coffee making facilities which was welcome. It was clean and a reasonable size. Car parking was very good as you can see your car below from the balcony. The breakfast was possibly the most minimal I have ever had. There was juice, tea/coffee, one croissant and jam. Not ideal for those that prefer the 'full English'. The dining room decor was pleasant as were the waitresses. It is in the main town so the restaurants etc are only a 2 minute walk away.

Room Tip: I think that all the rooms are pretty much the same at this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prospero555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This is a motel not a hotel. On arrival at the allocated time the place was closed with a notice showing a telephone number to ring . Our party of four had english based mobiles and
consequently had difficulty with the code given. Eventually we were connected and told our room numbers which were open with the keys inside! This is not what i would expect from a hotel - no reception. The rooms were small dark with a door leading onto the car park and very basic but were cleaned to a good standard each day. The breakfast was held in the cafe attached and consisted of bread jam croissant tea/coffe and fruit juice.. This was at a cost of 65Euros per person per night not good value!

The Location made up for the lack of everything else

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pennybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2009

We chose this hotel because of the proximity to the D-Day beaches. The parking is tight but good. It's near a small market, as well as the restaurants, boulangeries, etc. And of course the beach is within walking distance. The hotel operator does not speak a lot of English, but with our very minimal French we were able to communicate with no problems.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheMalandros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2008

We were very pleased with this hotel. Found it as we drove past and it was 65 euros (breakfast included) for a lovely first floor double room, elegantly furnished, very clean with great bathroom. Good car parking, close to centre of town, friendly reception and a generous breakfast with offers of more baguette and coffee. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JennyDLaunceston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank emma g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arromanches-les-Bains
0.1 mi away
Le Mulberry
Le Mulberry
#4 of 6 in Arromanches-les-Bains
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Marine
Hotel de la Marine
#3 of 6 in Arromanches-les-Bains
511 reviews
0.3 mi away
Les Villas d'Arromanches
Les Villas d'Arromanches
#2 of 6 in Arromanches-les-Bains
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Domaine de la Ranconniere et de Mathan
0.1 mi away
Hotel D'arromanches
Hotel D'arromanches
#5 of 6 in Arromanches-les-Bains
74 reviews
7.6 mi away
La Cremaillere
La Cremaillere
#1 of 2 in Courseulles-sur-Mer
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten

Address: 20 boulevard Gilbert Longuet, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Arromanches-les-Bains
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Arromanches-les-Bains
Price Range: $78 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel L'Ideal Le Mountbatten Arromanches-Les-Bains, France - Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing