We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, decent price”
Review of Southern Kitchen

Southern Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in New Market
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food, decent price”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

My family and I travelled to Luray Caverns this past week. After touring the caverns we were starving. My wife did not want to eat at the café at the caverns due to price so we searched for somewhere close. My wife found Southern Kitchen through Yelp and suggested we try it. The fried chicken is incredible! The rest of the menu is good, not exceptional, but good and reasonably priced.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mowens2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    175
    58
    26
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend Getaway”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Fantastic 1955 time warp - good solid cooking, friendly service from local ladies, exacting decor - original table bases supporting formica tops in booths with individual jukeboxes! Still offered a good tuna wrap, good club, great home made potato salad AND beer and wine. On top of that the price is right.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BarGirl1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willoughby, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Visited Twice”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Excellent service and food. We traveled with friends who made a visit last year. The fried chicken, beef vegetable soup, peanut soup and pie are beyond delicious. You will not be disappointed with a great meal. Decent prices too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MihaSlovenia12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
431 reviews
303 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Home cookin'”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

On our way to South Carolina we stopped to do some antiquing. The shop owner suggested Southern Kitchen when we asked for a place the "locals" would have lunch. I had the meat loaf special. It was like Mom makes with the best mashed potatoes. My friend had two of the best pork chops she has ever tasted. Their stewed tomatoes were awesome. We were too full for dessert!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gwenrich8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best fried chicken and peanut soup”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

I stopped here for dinner a couple nights ago on the recommendation of a friend. It's a little pricier than other places I've stopped at in the area but the quality was good and it's definitely old school. The fried chicken was better than my Grandmother's (but don't tell her I said that). The peanut soup was not what I expected, but it was delicious. And I'm pretty sure the pie and merengue on it were both homemade.

Helpful?
Thank Mallowpufft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Kitchen also viewed

New Market, Shenandoah County
New Market, Shenandoah County
 
New Market, Shenandoah County
New Market, Shenandoah County
 
New Market, Shenandoah County
 

Been to Southern Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing