We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spot, near Luray Caverns”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn New Market Battlefield
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in New Market
Reviewed July 12, 2009

The hotles locations' is right of the highway.Turn right immediately onto the road leading up next to the exit. The hotel is dated and the room we had was okay for 1 night. It seems as if they are making an effort to spruce it up but the possibilities maybe limited due to the building age.
Luray and the Luray caverns are about 15 to 25 minute drive away from this location. Free wifi, good enough speed.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dooandherb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (630)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

610 - 616 of 630 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2009

Location is OK. the other side of busy interstate from the small town high street. Room was clean but dark. Fridge worked.

Internet does not work with anything but Windows PC and Explorer (Mac/Linux/Opera/Firefox forget it). Safe was broken.

Main problem is that with the exception of one lady, the staff (including reception) spoke almost no English. OK if you have Indian language though. If you have to stay, don't pay more than $45 including tax.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
Thank acension1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2009

This hotel was extremely dirty, almost to the extent that we thought of spending the night in our car rather than in the room. We got there very late in the night, and were so dead tired that we didnt just leave. I guess I had not imagined the extent of horrible room that was in store for us.
-- The carpet was nasty ( it looked like it was not cleaned in decades; guaranteed that I have never seen a dirtier carpet anywhere in my life!!). We stayed in our shoes to avoid keeping one toe on the carpet.
-- The bed was aweful, sheets were stained, and more importantly the bed completely sloped at one end, so I kept falling if I didnt sleep snugly near my husband.
-- The bathroom lights did not work, the hair dryer had a web of worms forming in it.
-- The place was not dusted.
-- Lastly, really, the hotel had only 3 rooms occupied, and the next morning we were the only car in the parking lot at the time of checkout.
-- We shared our complains with the staff, but there were indian people who didnt seem to care.
-- I could barely sleep at night, and I only waited for it to be morning at to leave ASAP.
-- We had booked the place on the phone, so sadly we suffered.

PLEASE spare yourself a terrible experience. There are towns of other hotels in the area, that might be like $5 -10 more... but you wont hate your stay....

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeefine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2009

Our room was cold and it took until about 4 am before it started feeling warm. We requested extra blankets and the ones that they brought seemed dirty and had holes in them. The king size bed was broken on one side. The toilet looked like it had not been scrubbed in over a month. The "free wi fi" was not working which might explain the bad TV reception. The owners did not speak English very well, so it was hard to communicate with them. This is so unacceptable. Clean toilets and clean blankets with no holes are not that hard to deliver. And is it too much to ask for the bed not to be broken in?? Definately will not stay here again!!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Purpleisnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2008

My husband and I were on our honeymoon. We had stayed at a really nice bed and breakfast for a few days, and were enjoying our stay so much that we decided to find a hotel room to spend an extra night in VA. We had been in New Market most of the day and decided to just find a hotel there instead of driving around aimlessly at night to find a place. We figured a Days Inn would be a safe bet, right? WRONG. Trust me, we are not very picky people but this place was downright DISGUSTING. We slept in our clothes because the bedding was filthy. We didn't even get showers in the morning because they were nasty. Now, I am a person who enjoys camping and believe me when I tell you that showering outside in the middle of the woods would be preferable to being inside this hotel. Had it not been for the late hour and last minute decision we would have been out of there. The desk staff was rude, the breakfast was pathetic. I have nothing nice to say about this place. You couldn't pay me to stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2003, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meesh233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2008

We stayed here on our way to Philly and NYC coming out of NC. Guys, this is an easy decision. Nothing fancy, no frills, just your basic stop-
over motel with a pool. I was very happy with this location, it was convenient to the highway and made a good "half-way" point for us. Exterior hallways make it convenient to get from our vehicle to the room, in and out quick. The pool was relaxing after many hours of driving.

The hotel is actually located on the site of a small battlefield and New Market as a town is very picturesque, quaint town and worth a quick drive-through visit (at least for dinner or fast food). The area is underdeveloped and very scenic with the mountains. If you're on your way somewhere you can't go wrong staying here. It was the nicest motel I saw in the area. Book it.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBTrips-NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2008

When we arrived and opened the door, the smell was unbelievable. It smelled like an old wet dog. I sprayed hair spray through the room because I had no room deodorant, and then we left for awhile . Came back and still smelled like the family dog was in there.
Went to the refrigerator and someone else's stale piece of pizza was laying inside, unwrapped and shriveled up.
Went to the bathroom and someone else's dirty washcloth was draped across the shower curtain rod.
There was hair in the tub and mold all around.
The sink faucet kept falling apart and the hair dryer didn't work.
I called the manager and he said he would take care of it, but when we left, the pizza, the washcloth, the mold and the broken hair dryer was still there, along with the wet dog smell.
The free continental "breakfast" was disgusting. The bread was stale, there was cold boiled eggs, and the juice was so watered down that there was barely any color to it.
We have stayed in many, many hotels and motels, but this was by far the most disgusting place we have ever stayed.
When you are driving through New Market, KEEP DRIVING!!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank docsgirl1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Market
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Shenandoah Valley
13.8 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
17 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
12.7 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
138 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn New Market Battlefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn New Market Battlefield

Address: 9360 George Collin Pkwy, New Market, VA 22844-9500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah County > New Market
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in New Market
Price Range: $55 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn New Market Battlefield 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Welcome to Historic Town of New Market. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure; alone or with family or with pets; you will always be comforted with friendly smiles and clean rooms. * During your stay you can enjoy our free continental breakfast * seasonal outdoor pool * Shenandoah National Park 15 miles; New Market Battlefield .5 mile; Luray Caverns 15 miles; Endless Caverns 10miles; Shenandoah Caverns 6 miles; * Skiing, Golfing and Fishing nearby * Shopping * White Water Rafting * Our in room features include: * Free Wireless High Speed Internet * Coffee Maker, Micro-Fridge, Hair Dryer, * 27 Flat Screen TV with Cable and HBO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Days Inn New Market Battlefield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn New Market, Battlefield Hotel New Market
New Market Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing