We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vezac
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Lys de Castelnaud
Ranked #2 of 4 Vezac B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Great Falls, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful Stay”
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Staying at Nathalys' chambre was a great recommendation by travel writer Rick Steves. We six family members couldn't have been happier with the location and hospitality of our hostess. She stayed up late on our night of arrival to make sure we arrived safely and did everything in her power to make our stay comfortable. It was so enjoyable we wanted to stay a second night but unfortunately she was full. All three of our rooms looked directly across the river at Chateau de Castlenaud (coincidentally pictured on the cover of Steves' 2011 "France" book) which is beautifully lit at night. I highly recommend Le Lys to anyone visiting the Dordogne. We would love to return to Nathalys' chambre d'hotes.

Room Tip: Two rooms share a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William K G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    14
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
37
131
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kadima
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights at the wonderful Lys de Castelnaud.
It was our honeymoon and very first experience at a bed and breakfast and we absolutely loved it there.
When we arrived Nathalys provided us all of the information and maps needed to explore the whole Dordogne region, as well as restaurant recommendations (which turned out to be delish!). She gave us brochures of sites and activities to do. There are loads to see in Dordogne. We don't speak French but that was not a problem, Nathalys speaks great English! She also made the restaurant and canoe reservations for us.
Three of the nights we stayed in the "Artist Guesthouse". It's like staying in your very own place. There is a separate entrance and car park. It is so spacious and comfortable. A plus for us was having a BBQ grill outside our room for our use. An evening BBQ under the stars with a direct view of the Chateau de Castelnaud was just perfect. Breakfast was delicious and generous. The location is ideal. We would recommend this B&B to anyone visiting the Dordogne. Nathalys and Dominique were so hospitable and really made us feel like home. In fact, we miss it there!

Room Tip: The artist room is perfect for couples or families, spacious and comfortable! Quiet, with no noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckitz808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Lyme, Connecticut, United States
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in September 2011 and had a wonderful experience. Nathalie and Dominique did everything possible to make the stay perfect. Upon arrival, Nathalie sat down with us to explain the accommodations and describe the things to do and see in the area. She also gave great recommendations about restaurants in the area. She provided excellent french breakfasts each day. It is a great location as a base to see the Dordogne

Room Tip: All rooms were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed at Lys de Castelnaud in July 2011. I don’t want to repeat all good things that were written here about Nathalys, Dominique and their Bed and Breakfast. I just want to say that I completely agree with everybody who wrote the excellent reviews here. We too had a wonderful experience and if we ever have a chance we’ll stay at Lys de Castelnaud again without any hesitation at all.
Thank you, Nathalys!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekrenit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

I have only good things to say about The Lys. From the beginning to the end of our 7 nights stay, it was enjoyable to stay here. Nathalie and Dominique were always generous with well needed advice in planning our day's activities. We are from Montreal, Canada and so speak french but Nathalie speaks well in english as we found out once several english speaking guests arrived. Breakfasts were lovely with attention to detail. I especially enjoyed being able to sit and relax with a glass of wine on the terrace with the spectacular view, after a busy day of sightseeing( there is lots to see here) I was sad to leave and hope to return to this lovely area which captivated me so and do not hesitate to recommend to anyone who is thinking of staying here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cocojam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedville, Virginia, USA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2011

While traveling through the Perigord Noire, my husband, another couple and I, spent a delightful April evening, night and morning at this charming inn. The eclectic and fun hostess, Nathalie, was so very hospitable and we enjoyed her tour and stories while we took in the spectacular views of the countryside and castles from the veranda. Nathalie's charming husband, Dominique also made us feel like family, even sharing his homemade liqueur and jams. Though I was the sole French speaker, our hosts were able to communicate very well with us all. We ate a delicious dinner at the long table with other guests, retired to our comfortable rooms and awoke to a very pleasant French breakfast. We only wished that we could have extended our stay! We have told the story of our stay at Le Lys de Castelnaud over and over again with pleasure and we look forward to a return visit one day.

Room Tip: Market Day in nearby Sarlat is magical!
See more room tips
Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jeanne989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Staying at Lys de Castelnaud was such a happy experience for us. We had come to the Dordogne region to visit the prehistoric caves, enjoy the regional produce and pates, and see the picturesque towns along the Dordogne and Vezere Rivers. We read about Le Lys de Castelnaud online, and were very pleased with our 5-day stay there.

Nathalie and Dominique were very welcoming, gave us excellent recommendations to local restaurants, and helped us plan our daily excursions. They also suggested visits to towns and sites we would have missed had we been on our own.

I can't say enough about the pleasant and delicious breakfasts of home made jams and preserves and fresh breads, shared with other guests who were interesting to talk with. We feel very fortunate to have found such a clean, comfortable, quiet, well-located chambre d'hôte, and we think of our young enthusiastic hosts as the key to enjoying our trip to Dordogne.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francophile6421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vezac
2.2 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
236 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel L'Oustal de Vezac
2.9 mi away
Hotel Le Clos Roussillon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Relais des Cinq Chateaux
3.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Plaisance
5.5 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#6 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Lys de Castelnaud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Lys de Castelnaud

Property: Le Lys de Castelnaud
Address: Le Luc, 24220 Vezac, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Vezac
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Vezac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nathalie and Dominique will welcome you to their atypical B & B in the heart of the Dordogne Valley. Come to go back to your roots in Black Perigord. We place verdure surroundings and a private car park at your disposal. Come to discover an area full of sporting and tourist's activities in warm and authentic surroundings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Lys De Castelnaud France/Vezac, Dordogne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing