We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“There's no place like Domme (La Tabatiere)”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of La Tabatiere

Le hameau
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Le hameau
Ensemble
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Le hameau
Ensemble
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Domme, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ed l
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“There's no place like Domme (La Tabatiere)”
Reviewed August 24, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a fabulous experience at our cottage near Domme and Sarlat next to the Dordogne River! Our hosts were friendly and knowledgeable about the area. The home was quiet and well equipped. Being the main tourist season the traffic near Sarlat was quite congested, but we were just far enough away that it didn't affect our activities at all. We enjoyed a canoe ride, that was just 5 minutes from the house. It was a Rick Steves-recommended canoe company so the location was perfect.

I used Google earth to view route in from Vitrac in advance and that made getting there quite easy. We visited Domme early one morning for one of the most spectacular views around.

Can't say enough about our stay. It was great!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Convenient location and house had everything we needed.
Liked least: Can't thiink of anything.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2016
Thank you to our guests in San Diego (California) Michelle and Ed for their comments on our beautiful cottage and Region. We are delighted that you will have had a great stay.
thanks again
Sabine and Xavier
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranF976
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A gem of a gite!”
Reviewed July 13, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We spent a wonderful 2, weeks in La Tabatière , a gem of a gite in a beautiful location. It is comfortable, clean and well equipped and has a lovely patio looking up to Domme. Sabine and Xavier are lovely people and friendly and helpful hosts while being unobtrusive. We would recommend La Tabatière without reservation. Thank you for everything Sabine and Xavier.
Fran and Malcolm, Derbyshire, England.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location. It was magnificent!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 14, 2016
Thanks a lot for your beautiful comments Fran and Malcom

We hope to see you again in our peaceful place,

Best

Sabine and Xavier
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grahamwyn...
Caldicot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“An extremely well appointed property in an idyllic setting”
Reviewed July 12, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This pretty property is very close to a wide range of visitor attractions, and yet just 1 hr from Bergerac airport. This was our sixth visit and have already booked for a longer visit next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The complete package offered by this property
Liked least: Only one week was available this visit.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2016
Chers Jenny et Graham
Merci pour vos beaux commentaires sur La Tabatière et votre enthousiasme, Nous sommes ravis que vous ayez passé un très bon séjour dans notre cottage.
A bientôt
Sabine et Xavier
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 21, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the area it was set in
Liked least: nothing whatsoever
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 28, 2016
Merci chers Maree et Keith pour vos commentaires sur La Tabatière. Nous sommes ravis que vous ayez passé un très bon séjour chez nous
Merci encore Sabine et Xavier.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
joybill60
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent accomodation in an outstanding area”
Reviewed September 14, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The gite was well presented, well equipped and well maintained and very comfortable. The hosts were always available for help should it be needed and were very welcoming. The property was ideally situated for exploring the Dordogne and was close to the river with three restaurants in easy walking distance. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenny440
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely gite, great location”
Reviewed July 12, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The gite is very well equipped and was just right for two. It is in a great location with canoeing and riverside restaurant within walking distance. Very quiet location with the hosts next door to answer any questions. A very short walk takes you to two further restaurants. The nearest shop for provisions is about 3 miles away. There is a small river beach also within walking distance for a cooling dip. It was a very hot week during our stay and a plug in fan for the bedroom would be a welcome addition. We would certainly return and enjoyed our stay thoroughly. The gite is within easy reach of Sarlat , Domme and other popular places to visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing