We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view!”
Review of Hotel l'Esplanade

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel l'Esplanade
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Domme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We were touring from Barcelona to the Black forest so we booked one night in Domme. We got lost and we were supposed to get there by 4pm, we end up getting there after 8pm and our host was waiting for us!
Getting into town was lovely, but finding out where we were going to sleep was even better. The place was lovely, charming decor, comfortable bed - the treat came the morning after when we went downstairs to have breakfast, what a view!
I didn't want to go! But we had to keep going...
This is few of the places I do remember vividly from our 3 week-trip. If we get the chance to go back, I won't doubt going to L'Esplanade again and stay longer!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 300 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2012

We spent a night at l'Esplanade in July.
The hotel is lovely, nicely decorated. Our room was pretty, a little small but comfortable, and the price very reasonable.
But the best was the fantastic dinner we had on the hotel terrasse overlooking the Dordogne river.
I am French, and I go to France every year, and it was the most delicious meal I had on this trip.
Hope to go back in 2013.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We spent 4 wonderful nights at L'Esplanade, in a lovely room with a balcony overlooking the river and the valley. From here we explored the region, with terrific advice from Sophie, the owner and enthusiastic hostess. Breakfast in our room every morning, then our excursion with our rental car to many off-the-beaten-track little towns suggested by Sophie, to the caves and major sights, etc. Dinner at the hotel a few nights was excellent, with a fine wine list and impeccable service. Parking on site was available.

Room Tip: Contact Sophie and ask for a room with a view -- it's a superior room and costs a bit more, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alandynner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed one night here. Booked through Alternative Travel Walking Tours in Oxfort England as part of our walking tour of the Dordogne Valley. The hotel sits right on the edge of a cliff with stunning views of the Dordogne River and the breathtaking bucolic Dordogne Valley. The room was clean and adequate in size. The restaurant was quite a nice surprise as well. Foie gras was excellent and the serving size was very generous. Also enjoyed sweetbreads with morel mushrooms and then a meringue filled with raspberries. Really delicious! The town of Domme is charming and worth an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sxeight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

When I booked online via a travel website, I was only given 2 or 3 bedroom options. There was no mention of a superior room, which means rooms with a view were sold out. I think if you got one of these rooms you'd be happy but we didn't so we were staying in an overpriced hotel looking into neighbours. Worse - we had no curtains on the bathroom!

The breakfast was expensive and not a buffet (you get a small basket of mini croissants and bread for 15 euro).

While the staff were pleasant and hardworking, we can't help but feel misled by this hotel. If they had given us all the facts, we would have stayed somewhere easier to access (in the valley closer to attractions) and cheaper.

Room Tip: Superior room only
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JR_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We spent 4 nights in L'Esplanade in Domme (Dordogne valley). Great central location for exploring the Dordogne area. Hotel has amazing views of the Dordogne valley. It's a very nice hotel, clean, quiet (except during the day when all the visitors flock to Domme), and very reasonably priced. They have a great restaurant, however it's very expensive ($70/p) and the service can be spotty. There are 2-3 other restaurants near by - within 5 mins walking distance. Parking is free between 6pm and 11am. So it worked great for us, we left the city when visitors started to arrive and returned when they were leaving. Hotel doesn't have a designated parking lot. Hotel staff was very friendly. Rooms are small - about 15'x15'. I would recommend rooms facing the valley - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mytravelnotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Sept 27-30, 2012

I would probably say that Domme would be a good base to extend day trips into the Dordogne, especially if your interests lie in the Cro-Magnon caves, Les Beaux villages, and the medieval castles along the Dordogne River. And Hotel l'Esplanade would be the only choice in Domme to offer prime views of the river and beyond from a point at the top of the cliff.
Sophie, one of the owners, greeted us and deployed her help to carry our luggage to the rooms. She is a model of efficiency through her cool exterior. Our smallish room was one of two with a one-table balcony. It was worth the extra cost (140€). To sit at the table--with a drink and an i-pod of French romantic ballads--on the balcony which overlooked the winding river and fields of crops beyond was a magical experience. Just below the balcony was the belvedere and path that visitors used to cross from the square to a village garden.
We had dinner 30 minutes after we checked in. A former Michelin-starred resto, it was still a cut above in creativity and taste. I opted for the 48€ menu du jour of an escargot starter, sweetbread main, and a dome-shaped raspberry meringue pie. The next day we had the continental breakfast which was probably not worth the 13€.
I enjoyed the stay and would stay again if given the room with the balcony.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank alohatripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Domme
5.3 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
273 reviews
6.1 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
584 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Nouvel Hotel
Le Nouvel Hotel
#3 of 3 in Domme
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#6 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
675 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#2 of 2 in Beynac-et-Cazenac
176 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel La Hoirie
Hotel La Hoirie
#13 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel l'Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Esplanade

Address: le Bourg, 24250 Domme, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Domme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Domme
Price Range: $104 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel l'Esplanade 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel l'Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Esplanade
l Esplanade Hotel Domme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing