We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above average hotel in beautiful location”
Review of Hotel l'Esplanade

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel l'Esplanade
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Domme
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Above average hotel in beautiful location”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at Hotel l'Esplanade for two nights. We loved the view out our window of the Dordogne Valley. When the sun shines it is simply striking. Our room was comfortable and although the window shouldn't be opened because of insects, the air conditioner kept things noisy but cool.

If you are a foodie, make reservations at the restaurant. Cuisine is experimental, interesting, tasty, local, and memorable. Most of the staff is bi- or tri-lingual, good at their jobs and friendly in the reserved way of the French.

We enjoyed being in Domme after the tourists left for the day. Its charm quotient goes up threefold without mobs of tour groups roaming the streets.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie_7070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    84
    30
    13
    7
See reviews for
50
176
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2012

You will not be disappointed. Domme is beautiful and l'Esplanade is the place to stay. It will help finding your way if you have a GPS. This area of France was our favorite after spending three weeks traveling around France in May. Would definitely recommend May. The tourist invasion had not begun.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Patty34135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This place was wonderful! What an unexpected treat the little town of Domme is and this hotel is at the top. The restaurant's prices were very high so we went next door and had great food and the same view -

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed here in August for 4 nights in room no. 15 with balcony. The room was very outdated and no tissues were provided in the bathroom, but the view was unparalleled. We chose this hotel because of the location and the reputation of the restaurant. Domme is a lovely little town with a few shops and restaurants. They had a cute little market on Thursday morning. It was a pretty good base for exploring the area and the view from the terrace during dinner was amazing. Parking is limited, but available on the street. The food was good. Hats off to the cook. But the manageress was yelling at the staff and everyone could hear. If its one thing I hate about going to a hotel/restaurant is to have your managers/owners yelling at the staff in front of customers. Not a way to run a business and of course kind of ruined the ambience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosa1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

This wonderfully charming hotel sits atop a large hill that overlooks the Dordogne Valley. It is absolutely an amazing hotel nestled in an absolutely amazing little town. I had a wonderful room on the top floor and it had the best bathroom I had seen for over a month. The floors creaked, the carpets were artistic, the renovations were superbly done, the place was clean, the beds were comfortable and the staff was very helpful and kind. It seems like no one knows about Domme, I was there in high season and did not find the town crowded--a good thing because parking is limited. This is well worth the drive. Just spend the day shopping in the little artistic shops, dine in one of the lovely little restaurants, stroll the streets, spend the night...just enjoy it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DonnaSebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We stayed for 1 night on our self-guided cycling tour - we rode up the big hill to get to Domme, and the hotel was a wonderful place to stay and relax for the evening. The view over the valley was amazing - both in the afternoon and evening as well as in the morning as the mist was rising and falling.
The room was big enough and had a good size bath as well as wi-fi and tv.
Our dinner was included in our tour price so I cannot comment on the value but the meal was great - as was the service and we found all staff very helpful with our very little french!
I would definately go back there if in the area again.

Room Tip: Suggest asking for a room with a view over the valley - we were just lucky but it would be worth ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TigerTiges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

From the moment we arrived till we departed 5 days later, the entire hotel staff gave us a warm welcome and were always exceptionally pleasant and willing to accommodate our needs.

Our stay was made more enjoyable by the help from Sophie who spoke both English and French and was just wonderful in assisting us with local tour suggestions, made a hairdresser appointment for us in Sarlat and provided food and wine translations in the restaurant.

The spacious, clean and comfortable room and adjoining ‘modern’ bathroom were immaculate and had ‘stunning’ views from both areas over the Dordogne valley. Combined with free Wi-Fi in our room and free car parking adjoining the hotel, what more would you want?

Both the ground floor meals area and separate elegant French style restaurant overlooked the valley and provided magnificent views at breakfasts and for that romantic occasion in the restaurant at night. Speaking of the restaurant, the menu was of an exceptional high quality, excellent wines, food was delicious and the desserts to die for!

Simply a great hotel within the charm of Domme - Highly recommend. More importantly, we would stay there again, we loved Domme and L'Esplanade.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrowee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Domme
5.2 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
246 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Plaisance
6.0 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Nouvel Hotel
Le Nouvel Hotel
#3 of 3 in Domme
16 reviews
6.1 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
548 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Perigord
Hotel Le Perigord
#2 of 4 in La Roque-Gageac
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel l'Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Esplanade

Property: Hotel l'Esplanade
Address: le Bourg, 24250 Domme, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Domme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Domme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel l'Esplanade 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel l'Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Esplanade
l Esplanade Hotel Domme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing