We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in Domme” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cabanoix et Chataignes

Cabanoix et Chataignes
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Domme
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $41
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best in Domme”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

The Trip advisor reviewers are right! This is the number one restaurant in Domme. Our family went three times in two weeks and each time we had a great experience. The desserts are also fabulous, so save some space.

Helpful?
1 Thank Masood A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    138
    32
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

As a family of 9 with 4 kids under 10, we enjoyed a wonderful lunch at Cabanoix beginning of August. Our table was large on the balcony. The set lunch menu was impressive and kids pay half price. Fois gras is on the menu offered in several ways. We tasted three kinds, all excellent. Other delicious choices besides the fois gras. Service was good as well. I would agree, it was our best meal while in France this year.

Helpful?
Thank Sandrine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“What more can be said?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

All the glowing reviews of this restaurant are true! We had a marvelous dinner last evening which will be long remembered. Un grand merci to all the reviewers on Trip Advisor who led us to this gem. Now we need any excuse we can find to get back to Domme.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chemins-du-monde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“OUR BEST MEAL IN FRANCE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

We dined here with friends and had a fantastic meal. The hostess was charming and the six of us all enjoyed our food immensely. We had been told that Lyon was the eating capital of France but the food we enjoyed at Cabanoix was really first class, as was the house wine which we chose. Everybody who was dining there that evening had a good time and there was a lovely atmosphere of diners enjoying the food and company. We tried to book for the following night but unfortunately they were fully booked. One cannot compare this experience to the other two restaurants we ate at in Domme, which seemed to cater to tourists with an average meal with little attention of detail.At 30Eu per head for a three course meal, with stunning presentation and tastes this was certainly our best meal after two weeks in France.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Terrence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food, But The Atmosphere Is Poor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

The food at this restaurant is really good and the desserts were to die for! Yum, Yum a real treat. The outside area looks shabby and the atmosphere is not great (subtle background music would help) but don't be put off by this because the food is very good and this makes up for these shortcomings. The inside of the restaurant is very nice and on a coooler sumer evening we could not sit inside which we found strange, and this is really not very customer friendly.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank gwtshrops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabanoix et Chataignes also viewed

La Roque-Gageac, Dordogne
 

Been to Cabanoix et Chataignes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing