We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and beautiful view”

Les Jardins de l'Imaginaire
Attraction details
Baarn
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great and beautiful view”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I walked on my own through the gardens because the others had headphones. It was a nice garden, but not many flowers in the summertime. That's a pity. But beautiful views over Terrasson. It's a nice town. The waterballet was great. I enjoyed also the rosegarden.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hans_20955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    91
    56
    42
    17
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Contemporary gardens”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by these gardens. As noted, your visit must start with a guided tour (in French). There is a booklet at the desk if you need an English translation - if you have time, read this ahead of your tour so you can look while on the tour. Our guide spoke clearly so we were able to follow most of the French. You are able to stay after the tour to extend your visit.

There are several parts to the garden intended to evoke different thoughts and feelings. I found them all visually interesting and an imaginative take on the formal garden with lovely views over the town from various points on the walk. I found the very last feature with the maps of the world's great rivers in bronze a bit weak and not up to the standard of the rest of the garden.

Don't come if you are expecting lots of flowers and be able to sit and have a picnic. It's not that kind of garden. Do come to see a different twist on a formal garden.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DrFToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
450 reviews
202 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Unusual, good concept but too controlled”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The tour commentary is a bit tedious as it is all in French and the English translation available isn't great. The gardens themselves are well done and there are some great views of the town but there is not much chance to enjoy them without the guide rambling on.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hemmo1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice and excellent guide tour. The vues are magnefique”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The tour was not too long what we liked and we got a good explanation on the story how this carden was shaped

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joop O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limoges
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We agree with the following reviews really. It was hard to enjoy these gardens, or use ones imagination about them, in the company of a guide who was wired-up with a head-microphone and amplification and told us far more than we needed to know (we read the English translation booklet). The visit was too controlled. The gardens themselves were rather uncomfortable in their planning, I thought, with a formal rose-garden pushed down into one side of our walk-way and a water-garden that was a surface with jets of water up at the end of the walk-way. it's true, as well, that there are no flowers - except for the roses. There is a glass-house, but it's not used for anything interesting.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Jardins de l'Imaginaire also viewed

 

Been to Les Jardins de l'Imaginaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing