We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, attentive service”

Restaurant a L'Esperance
Ranked #18 of 45 Restaurants in Wissembourg
Price range: $11 - $21
Cuisines: French
Restaurant details
Reviewed September 15, 2018 via mobile

We stopped by for lunch and enjoyed delicious tarte flambés. The service was quick and very attentive, so our experience is completely different than stated in other reviews. There were French guests as well (a previous review stated otherwise). The restaurant looks different and more elegant than a few years ago when I visited first. Altogether it was a very pleasant lunch stop and we'll probably be back.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Unelma333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 70 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2016

We have been here twice before and it was fair - the kids liked the fries. We live here and I am used to the pace of French Service. But the Waiter decided he didn't like us so he just stopped coming to our table. My wife - who's French - made the "mistake" of asking the waiter when our children's' food would arrive. He put in place operation Escargot. That is when they slow everything down to a snails pace - usually employed by the farmers and state officials. We should have known better when zero French were in the Resto. Only Germans & tourists. Worst Restaurant in Wissembourg. We'll never be back. We never received our cheese course or dessert after a 3 hour wait we spoke to the owner/manager who was not very helpful. Terrible experience.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2015

The restaurant is nicely located aside of a small stream. Sitting outside gives you a nice view towards the city. We only ordered the usual snacks like quiche, tarte flambé and fries. All was good. The waitress was not overly friendly or attentive but we got what we wanted. Inside the restaurant looks trendy and clean. Should check that out next time.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Senor_Chang_No1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: July 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant a L'Esperance also viewed

 
Wissembourg, Bas-Rhin
 
Wissembourg, Bas-Rhin
 

Been to Restaurant a L'Esperance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing