We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff”

Original Sokos Hotel Rikala
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Rikala
Ranked #2 of 6 Salo B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This chain hotel is located very centrally in Salo, a small country town. Not the brightest star of the SOKOS brand, more or less worn out and outdated hotel. But the staff was very relaxed, friendly and helpful. And the breakfast and dinner were good. Stayed now 2 nights and some two years ago 1 night.
There are not so many hotels to choose from in Salo, this is a reasonable choice. But in a need of a renovation...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PekkR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 28 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed a night at the Rikala hotel enroute a motorbike trip, choosing this hotel because of its location, to have a nights rest to continue the trip in the morning.

The hotel is centrally located by a river that passes through the town. The hotel has its own parking garage, which makes it nice to come by bike or a car. The riverside of the area is quite pretty, which unfortunately does not apply to some other nearby parts of Salo.

The staff at the reception was friendly and welcoming, and offered us a better room with a river view at no extra cost. The room was quite standard, but a little narrow. The desk that is usually opposite to the bed had been placed on the side. The TV (an old tube TV!) was on that same wall, being in a little inconvenient angle to watch. The room looked like it was straight from the 70's with dark oak cabinets, oak trims and shabby curtains. White wallpapers had been patched at places and lacquer was chipping off here and there from the old furniture. The room was clean though, with good beds and a renovated bathroom. An okay room but mostly outdated and a little worn, probably at its best on a very short business stay.

The worst part of the entire hotel was the air. It felt like there was no ventilation at all! The air with its odors was standing still in the lobby, in the corridors and in our room. Although it was not a hot summer day, our room was too warm at night. The only window that could be opened was tiny, only about 20x20cm. The lack of fresh air made us leave with a relief in the morning. I think the whole building does not have a proper ventilation system.

The best part of the hotel was its restaurant. There are not very many restaurants in Salo. Obviously one of the best is the new Rikala Bar&Grill that is on the river side of the hotel building. The food and service was excellent at the restaurant's summer terrace. Breakfast was fine too, the basic buffet with no extras but nothing to complain about either.

Because of the A/C problem and overall shabbiness will not return. Shame for the Sokos brand that has offered decent quality in many other towns.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view. Even better would be to drive 45 mins more and find a hotel room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YukeTheTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

There are limited selection of hotel in Salo. Sokos is a reasonable hotel for business trip. The river side walk adds a nice walk tour of this town. Walking distance to train station and local shopping area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karhu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

A nice hotel in the heart of Salo, good for one or two nights if travelling on business. Quiet location near the river, still within a walking distance to everywhere to see in town. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millacilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Nr Edinburgh, Scotland
1690
Reviewed April 21, 2005

A 'homely' type of Hotel, with relaxed atmosphere. Bedrooms relatively small but comfortable. Decent choice of food at breakfast. Evening menu very appealing & food good quality. Wireless access available. Busy pub & night club attached to Hotel, but noise didn't reach my room on the 2nd floor.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled on business
Thank Riku K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled on business
Thank Rif1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salo hotels
0.1 mi away
Cumulus Salo Hotel
Cumulus Salo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Salo
31 reviews
9.3 mi away
Kirjakkalan Ruukkikyla
2.7 mi away
Vuohensaari Camping Ahtela's cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Fjalar
Hotel Fjalar
#1 of 6 in Salo
41 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Salora
Hotel Salora
#3 of 6 in Salo
6 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marent Apartments
Marent Apartments
#2 of 6 in Salo
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Rikala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Rikala

Address: Asemakatu 15, Salo 24100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southwest Finland > Salo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Salo
Price Range: $126 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Rikala 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Original Sokos Hotel Rikala is a comfy and warm-spirited hotel amidst the services of Salo town centre. Our fresh, light and homely rooms have been designed especially for you. Will you choose a hot shower or a long relaxing bath? In the hotel lobby, you can enjoy a cup of hot coffee or tea - for free! You can use all of our three parking areas located right next to our hotel free of charge. It is possible to bring a pet into some of our rooms and it is also possible to put up an extra bed in almost all of our rooms, although some of our extra beds are only recommended for our smaller guests. The free time entertainment opportunities of the town are practically served on a platter: the theatre, museums, exercise park and an abundance of shopping opportunities - all close by! Culture, shopping, sports venues and clean white sheets are waiting for you. Our unique restaurant Rikala Bar&Grill has prepared a local tasty menu for you, consisting of the best local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Rikala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing