We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and view from room and toilet!”
Review of Les Genets

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Genets
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Stay 2nights in May-13. Located at the top of a steep slope and you might miss it if you are following GPS and not looking out for their big signboard on the hillside. Not suitable if you do not have transport to take you up the slope. Was given a room at the top floor with a great view of the surrounding. No lifts but bringing luggage up isn't that bad. Free parking at the side of hotel. Nice friendly host and he make great pastries for breakfast! Room wise,it is clean and basic. Toilet is actually bigger than bedroom! Did not have the chance to try the restaurant, but given how good their breakfast is, I think it will be better!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ryan_sg_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 50 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

Perched on the side of a steep wooded valley, overlooking the river and the town of La Roche, this is a little fairy-tale of a hotel. Patrick and Myriam treat you as special guests and nothing seems too much trouble for them.
Our room would not have been accessible to anyone unable to manage narrow stairways, but it was fine for us with lovely views and a large well equipped bathroom.
The food in the restaurant is quite superb, although the choice is fairly limited, especially if you eat there two nights running, as we did. Also, if it is fast food you want, forget it.
For a romantic evening meal, with the sun gradually fading and turning the valley to gold, we could not have cared how long the meal took to arrive.
Good wine choice, reasonable cost and a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GourmetEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is a very nice family owned hotel that has a very local / rustic feel to it. Beautiful view on the valley and overall a nice little place. Prices are pretty standard and are advertised at the front door. There is a very small additional tourist tax fee (1 euro p.p.)

The room was basic and small, with a large bathroom (tub/shower combo). Old but clean. Minor point for us was the lack of wall sockets, only 1 available (bathroom) plus an additional one used by the TV, which is not enough if you each need to charge a couple of electronic devices.

The pillows were terrible - and I mean terrible. They were just square blocks of very hard foam, which gave us both neck pains. Bring your own pillow if you can.

Service was excellent and so was a breakfast. Basic, but very very fresh eggs / bread.
Local produce and extremely friendly staff.

We stayed one night and were on motorbikes. They offered us space in the garage, and when that turned out full they offered us to park our bikes on the terrace in full view of the restaurant. Since the area is very silent and safe we just left the bikes on the parking spots on the street, but it was very nice to be offered this without asking for it!

Room Tip: Bring your own pillow. Seriously.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt-from-Holland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Les Genets clings to the side of a gorge and has amazing views of the valley. The owner is a collector and the sitting room is full of fascinating objects. The bedroom was rather spartan ,but warm and clean. The bathroom was huge and had a very strange door which was very difficult to close. The greatest surprise was the evening meal which was excellent and very original. The owner was very pleasant and we felt it was good value.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheila414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Patrick and Myriam have created a beautiful hotel and outstanding restaurant in the Ardenne mountains. The view from every window is incredible. The laid back feeling made us feel at home while we were experiencing paradise.

Room Tip: the view from each room was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whenaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We truly enjoyed our stay. The hosts we friendly and very accommodating since we did not speak the language. The room was clean and the service was excellent. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The breakfast was excellent and very filling. We decided to eat in the hotel the first night. The food was wonderful. If you are looking for a base to work from for some historical touring (battle of the bulge) this proved to be a great location. The view from our room was ver special as well.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We live in Belgium and spend a lot of time in the Ardenne on weekends, We came across this Hotel in La Roche and did out booking via Booking.com. We had our meals included in the cost of the room.
The food was great the service was very good. The room was small but the bathroom was very big. Kept out thing in there.
The view was great from the big windows in each room.
The TV needs to be upgraded but we were not there to watch TV.
The area is great place to do hiking.
Will come back again.

Room Tip: "Corner room great view and sunny"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Roche-en-Ardenne hotels
0.3 mi away
Floreal La Roche
Floreal La Roche
#7 of 13 in La Roche-en-Ardenne
145 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Claire Fontaine
La Claire Fontaine
#1 of 13 in La Roche-en-Ardenne
140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Luxembourg
Le Luxembourg
#6 of 13 in La Roche-en-Ardenne
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Arcades
Hotel Les Arcades
#8 of 13 in La Roche-en-Ardenne
36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Midi Hotel-Restaurant
Le Midi Hotel-Restaurant
#3 of 13 in La Roche-en-Ardenne
34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Beau Rivage
Hotel Beau Rivage
#11 of 13 in La Roche-en-Ardenne
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Genets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Genets

Address: Corniche-de-Deister 2, La Roche-en-Ardenne 6980, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Luxembourg Province > La Roche-en-Ardenne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in La Roche-en-Ardenne
Price Range: $110 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Genets 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Les Genets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Genets La Roche-En-Ardenne, Belgium - The Ardennes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing