We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service, great breakfast, terrible pillows” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Genets

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Genets
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent service, great breakfast, terrible pillows”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is a very nice family owned hotel that has a very local / rustic feel to it. Beautiful view on the valley and overall a nice little place. Prices are pretty standard and are advertised at the front door. There is a very small additional tourist tax fee (1 euro p.p.)

The room was basic and small, with a large bathroom (tub/shower combo). Old but clean. Minor point for us was the lack of wall sockets, only 1 available (bathroom) plus an additional one used by the TV, which is not enough if you each need to charge a couple of electronic devices.

The pillows were terrible - and I mean terrible. They were just square blocks of very hard foam, which gave us both neck pains. Bring your own pillow if you can.

Service was excellent and so was a breakfast. Basic, but very very fresh eggs / bread.
Local produce and extremely friendly staff.

We stayed one night and were on motorbikes. They offered us space in the garage, and when that turned out full they offered us to park our bikes on the terrace in full view of the restaurant. Since the area is very silent and safe we just left the bikes on the parking spots on the street, but it was very nice to be offered this without asking for it!

Room Tip: Bring your own pillow. Seriously.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt-from-Holland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    22
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
32
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Les Genets clings to the side of a gorge and has amazing views of the valley. The owner is a collector and the sitting room is full of fascinating objects. The bedroom was rather spartan ,but warm and clean. The bathroom was huge and had a very strange door which was very difficult to close. The greatest surprise was the evening meal which was excellent and very original. The owner was very pleasant and we felt it was good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheila414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville,Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Patrick and Myriam have created a beautiful hotel and outstanding restaurant in the Ardenne mountains. The view from every window is incredible. The laid back feeling made us feel at home while we were experiencing paradise.

Room Tip: the view from each room was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whenaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

We truly enjoyed our stay. The hosts we friendly and very accommodating since we did not speak the language. The room was clean and the service was excellent. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The breakfast was excellent and very filling. We decided to eat in the hotel the first night. The food was wonderful. If you are looking for a base to work from for some historical touring (battle of the bulge) this proved to be a great location. The view from our room was ver special as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

We live in Belgium and spend a lot of time in the Ardenne on weekends, We came across this Hotel in La Roche and did out booking via Booking.com. We had our meals included in the cost of the room.
The food was great the service was very good. The room was small but the bathroom was very big. Kept out thing in there.
The view was great from the big windows in each room.
The TV needs to be upgraded but we were not there to watch TV.
The area is great place to do hiking.
Will come back again.

Room Tip: "Corner room great view and sunny"
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed at Les Genets for 2 nights and were made to feel extremely welcome by Patrick and his team. The views from the room were incredible and it was clean and comfortable. The food and wine were exceptional. We shall certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MazzyBHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2011

We spent one night here. Good location with great views of the town and river. Bedroom clean and small but the bathroom was large so we put our cases and belongings in here. Two large windows in each room giving a good panorama. Breakfast included in the price. It was laid on the table but there was enough and all was fresh. We were told to ask if we wanted more. We were made to feel welcome by the proprietor. Some English is spoken. We liked the place.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HChloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Roche-en-Ardenne hotels
0.9 mi away
La Claire Fontaine
La Claire Fontaine
#1 of 13 in La Roche-en-Ardenne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Midi Hotel-Restaurant
Le Midi Hotel-Restaurant
#3 of 13 in La Roche-en-Ardenne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Moulin De La Strument
Le Moulin De La Strument
#4 of 13 in La Roche-en-Ardenne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Floreal La Roche
Floreal La Roche
#7 of 13 in La Roche-en-Ardenne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Beau Rivage
Hotel Beau Rivage
#10 of 13 in La Roche-en-Ardenne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel De Liege
Hotel De Liege
#6 of 13 in La Roche-en-Ardenne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Genets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Genets

Property: Les Genets
Address: Corniche-de-Deister 2, La Roche-en-Ardenne 6980, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Luxembourg Province > La Roche-en-Ardenne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in La Roche-en-Ardenne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Genets 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Les Genets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Genets La Roche-En-Ardenne, Belgium - The Ardennes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing