We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel a bit far from Brugge in the countryside”
Review of Cleythil Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cleythil Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maldegem
Certificate of Excellence
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel a bit far from Brugge in the countryside”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

The hotel is situated around 20k far from Brugge and the route to get there through villages is really nice. You definitely need a car to get there though.
The rooms are spacious and clean and there is a very nice garden and view to the fields.
The personnel is friendly and can give you good advice on what to visit around the area.
Brekfast is average but ok.
The hotel's restaurant is very nice, with many good choices for food (meat and fish) and a good variety of wine.

Room Tip: Ask for view to the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deena_Pap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    44
    0
    0
    4
See reviews for
22
45
5
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nortumberland England
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Stayed 3 nights with family, very friendly and very helpful.Rooms were comfortable and spacious with more than enough for breakfast.The restaurant was also very friendly and the food first class,also available for a drink,although the family room has a fridge and a vending machine in the corridor.Would stay again,,a car is a must,bikes for hire and sauna if you fancy a cycle and a relax afterwards.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

We stay here for 4 nights. My husband had a training at this hotel and we decided to stay there with our kids to be close to him. The hotel is just magnificent. I can not complain about anything. The rooms are big and very very comfortable as Cousy. We had a family room and it is perfect for big families as the kids have their own space apart from the parents. The bathroom is big and clean.
The decoration of the hotel is perfect not to much and to little just about right. The breakfast was also very good with enough fresh food.
The restaurant next door is also a plus as is a really nice place to have dinner and convinent as you do not need to drive.
Eddie is really friendly and helpful. He is ready to help with what ever you need. I dare to say that this hotel is so far the best hotel that we have stay in Europe. Even if officially doesn't have 4 stars it has nothing to envy to a 4 star hotel.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jessijulais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This hotel is most modern with an eco friendly twist, low energy sensor lighting, environmentally friendly shower room detergents and so on all packaged in a tastefully decorated barn type conversion.
Attentive staff are helpful and enthusiastic, nothing is too much bother. Rooms are comfortable, clean and spacious. Breakfast offerings are basic but perfectly good. There is a restaurant situated on the same site but occupying a different building, I think this eatery it is run separately from the hotel but the hotel management will pre book your table for you if you elect to dine there, this restaurant is simply magnificent with atmospheric lighting and vaulted ceiling and serves the most delicious and high quality meals , pork ribs and salmon dishes to start followed by Vennison and fillet steak mains , pudding service was an event as it arrived flaming with brandy and was accompanied with the most beautiful acidic fruit crumble. This restaurant proves that you don't have to look for the Michelin star to enjoy high end dining, good value too at a fixed price of 38 euros per head for the three course treatment.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STEVE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed in Cleythil Hotel in Maldegem during the trip in Belgium and the Netherlands. This hotel is very conveniently located just by N44 motorway, featured an ample car parking and a very nice environment. Despite of its proximity to the motorway, there is no traffic noise inside.
This is a pretty hotel managed by the family members, who are exceptionally kind and friendly.
The room is very clean, modern and well furnished, but rather compact. The king-size double bed occupies the almost whole room space, so there is no sitting area, only the work-desk with a chair, also a very small coffee table.
The bathroom, however, is exceptionally good and spacious, featured the heated floor and perfect quality bathroom amenities.
The great advantage is a free high-speed cable internet in the room, also the tea-coffee making facilities. However, instead of the normal crockery there are provided cheap plastic cups and sticks instead of tea-spoons, which are inconvenient to use, and spoiling the good impression.
Another missing thing is the absence of the day curtains in the room. I noticed that this is a common in the most Flemish and Dutch hotels: you have either to draw the night curtains during the day time, either to sit in the room without any curtains and feel as being in the showcase...
One more thing, which I disliked - the pictures in the guest rooms. Every guest room is decorated with the different reproductions of the paintings of the famous Flemish artists. In my opinion, such surrealistic paintings (not Salvador Dali, but of the similar nature) do not fit in the guest rooms at all. Their place is in the art hall or museum. Of course, it's a very subjective matter, but I'd prefer to see some unpretentious pictures, like landscapes, flowers, city views or abstract art, which would be relaxing and would fit to the most people taste.
Probably I'm looking very captious describing such inessential things, but this is only my subjective opinion...
Overall the positives definitely outweigh the negatives, the hotel is really nice, and its value for money is undoubtedly perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the 1st floor, which are better than in the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Libra1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed here a few times now. Rooms are modern, big and clean. Good value for money.

Staff are friendly and breakfast is good too.

The restaurant next door is one of the main reasons i stay here, its fantastic. Very high quality.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mr_alanwhicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melboune Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and Dear Viewer everything what the other fellow reviwers is 120% correct , I would say a bit understated at best, the very best experience after a horrifying one in Clervaux.On arrival the Young Lady was most helpfull in showing us the environmently freindly hotel and also booked us a Really nice restaraunt as their own was booked out. Eddie made me aware of the History of the area and indulged me in the local delight Jenever (also known as junever, genièvre, genever, jeniever, peket, Jajem (Amsterdam slang) or in the English-speaking world as Holland gin or Dutch gin please read as follows:
The sudden interest in dispelling knowledge about a certain brand of alcohol started after finishing at least half a bottle , taken as shots with the motel owner near Bruges , (-) 14°C outside , we sitting in an outside covered smoking area heated of course , you fall in love for life with Jenever. As is the case with God with all the trials and tribulations we go through our lives

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBharat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maldegem
2.0 mi away
Hotel Prelude
Hotel Prelude
#1 of 2 in Knesselare
49 reviews
5.8 mi away
Het Godshuis
Het Godshuis
#1 of 1 in Sint-Laureins
414 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel de Elderschans
Hotel de Elderschans
#1 of 1 in Aardenburg
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Orchidee
14.2 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
15.7 mi away
Den Hof Hotel Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleythil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleythil Hotel

Property: Cleythil Hotel
Address: Kleitkalseide 193, Maldegem 9990, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Maldegem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maldegem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cleythil Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Cleythil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing