We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary eco friendly hotell”
Review of Cleythil Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cleythil Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maldegem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This hotel is most modern with an eco friendly twist, low energy sensor lighting, environmentally friendly shower room detergents and so on all packaged in a tastefully decorated barn type conversion.
Attentive staff are helpful and enthusiastic, nothing is too much bother. Rooms are comfortable, clean and spacious. Breakfast offerings are basic but perfectly good. There is a restaurant situated on the same site but occupying a different building, I think this eatery it is run separately from the hotel but the hotel management will pre book your table for you if you elect to dine there, this restaurant is simply magnificent with atmospheric lighting and vaulted ceiling and serves the most delicious and high quality meals , pork ribs and salmon dishes to start followed by Vennison and fillet steak mains , pudding service was an event as it arrived flaming with brandy and was accompanied with the most beautiful acidic fruit crumble. This restaurant proves that you don't have to look for the Michelin star to enjoy high end dining, good value too at a fixed price of 38 euros per head for the three course treatment.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STEVE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 105 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed in Cleythil Hotel in Maldegem during the trip in Belgium and the Netherlands. This hotel is very conveniently located just by N44 motorway, featured an ample car parking and a very nice environment. Despite of its proximity to the motorway, there is no traffic noise inside.
This is a pretty hotel managed by the family members, who are exceptionally kind and friendly.
The room is very clean, modern and well furnished, but rather compact. The king-size double bed occupies the almost whole room space, so there is no sitting area, only the work-desk with a chair, also a very small coffee table.
The bathroom, however, is exceptionally good and spacious, featured the heated floor and perfect quality bathroom amenities.
The great advantage is a free high-speed cable internet in the room, also the tea-coffee making facilities. However, instead of the normal crockery there are provided cheap plastic cups and sticks instead of tea-spoons, which are inconvenient to use, and spoiling the good impression.
Another missing thing is the absence of the day curtains in the room. I noticed that this is a common in the most Flemish and Dutch hotels: you have either to draw the night curtains during the day time, either to sit in the room without any curtains and feel as being in the showcase...
One more thing, which I disliked - the pictures in the guest rooms. Every guest room is decorated with the different reproductions of the paintings of the famous Flemish artists. In my opinion, such surrealistic paintings (not Salvador Dali, but of the similar nature) do not fit in the guest rooms at all. Their place is in the art hall or museum. Of course, it's a very subjective matter, but I'd prefer to see some unpretentious pictures, like landscapes, flowers, city views or abstract art, which would be relaxing and would fit to the most people taste.
Probably I'm looking very captious describing such inessential things, but this is only my subjective opinion...
Overall the positives definitely outweigh the negatives, the hotel is really nice, and its value for money is undoubtedly perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the 1st floor, which are better than in the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Libra1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed here a few times now. Rooms are modern, big and clean. Good value for money.

Staff are friendly and breakfast is good too.

The restaurant next door is one of the main reasons i stay here, its fantastic. Very high quality.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mr_alanwhicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and Dear Viewer everything what the other fellow reviwers is 120% correct , I would say a bit understated at best, the very best experience after a horrifying one in Clervaux.On arrival the Young Lady was most helpfull in showing us the environmently freindly hotel and also booked us a Really nice restaraunt as their own was booked out. Eddie made me aware of the History of the area and indulged me in the local delight Jenever (also known as junever, genièvre, genever, jeniever, peket, Jajem (Amsterdam slang) or in the English-speaking world as Holland gin or Dutch gin please read as follows:
The sudden interest in dispelling knowledge about a certain brand of alcohol started after finishing at least half a bottle , taken as shots with the motel owner near Bruges , (-) 14°C outside , we sitting in an outside covered smoking area heated of course , you fall in love for life with Jenever. As is the case with God with all the trials and tribulations we go through our lives

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KBharat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

A good hotel with very helpful staff. Even drove us to our business meeting when taxi wasn't possible. I arrived late and the hotel closes at 10pm so there are no amenities after this time and is a bit spooky. Rooms are great and free wifi is as it should,be.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank theparrott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed for four nights and found this hotel very clean and modern with friendly staff. The hotel owner helped us plan our trips out each day providing us with maps and tips on parking and places to visit or avoid. The rooms are very modern and well appointed with large and comfy beds, and the breakfast was excellent and all you could wish for.The hotel owner also accommodated our cycles in his outbuildings each night and this was a great help enabling us to go out in the evening without the worry of cycles in the car.The restaurant is run seperately from the hotel and is very popular so you must book early, the menu however did not cater for vegetarians but the chef soon made up a suitable dish at short notice to save the day. All in all a great little hotel for a short break away 10/10

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is hotel of which the owners are justly proud, on checking in the owner took the trouble to show me all of the facilities and then to my room. Though super-modern in many respects the hotel has a traditionally homely feel to it, all the fittings are top quality, the rooms simple, stylish and equipped with all you could need.
If you are visiting this hotel you simply must eat in the restaurant, you will experience some of the most extraordinary yet fabulous food. To give you an idea: my main course consisted of a Loin of Cod with Garlic Mashed Potatoes, Schezchuan Vegetables with a Mustard Sauce and a Veal and Port reduction! Those ingredients don't go together do they? YES THEY DO! One of the most memorable meals I've eaten in years.....and the dessert of a Salsa of Roquefort and Camembert cheeses served on Walnut Bread drizzled with Honey was utterly fantastic, sweet, savoury and comforting.
The breakfast was excellent, again, all you could realistically wish for in a small European hotel, the service of the staff faultless.
I WILL stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ormerodr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maldegem
6.9 mi away
Hotel de Elderschans
Hotel de Elderschans
#1 of 1 in Aardenburg
835 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Prelude
Hotel Prelude
#1 of 2 in Knesselare
49 reviews
5.8 mi away
Het Godshuis
Het Godshuis
#1 of 1 in Sint-Laureins
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Orchidee
15.7 mi away
Den Hof Hotel Restaurant
3.3 mi away
Hotel Amaryllis
Hotel Amaryllis
#1 of 7 in Maldegem
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleythil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleythil Hotel

Address: Kleitkalseide 193, Maldegem 9990, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Maldegem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maldegem
Price Range: $85 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cleythil Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Cleythil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing