We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern rooms with a great restaurant next door”
Review of Cleythil Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cleythil Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maldegem
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Modern rooms with a great restaurant next door”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed here a few times now. Rooms are modern, big and clean. Good value for money.

Staff are friendly and breakfast is good too.

The restaurant next door is one of the main reasons i stay here, its fantastic. Very high quality.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mr_alanwhicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    44
    0
    0
    4
See reviews for
22
45
5
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melboune Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and Dear Viewer everything what the other fellow reviwers is 120% correct , I would say a bit understated at best, the very best experience after a horrifying one in Clervaux.On arrival the Young Lady was most helpfull in showing us the environmently freindly hotel and also booked us a Really nice restaraunt as their own was booked out. Eddie made me aware of the History of the area and indulged me in the local delight Jenever (also known as junever, genièvre, genever, jeniever, peket, Jajem (Amsterdam slang) or in the English-speaking world as Holland gin or Dutch gin please read as follows:
The sudden interest in dispelling knowledge about a certain brand of alcohol started after finishing at least half a bottle , taken as shots with the motel owner near Bruges , (-) 14°C outside , we sitting in an outside covered smoking area heated of course , you fall in love for life with Jenever. As is the case with God with all the trials and tribulations we go through our lives

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBharat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakham
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

A good hotel with very helpful staff. Even drove us to our business meeting when taxi wasn't possible. I arrived late and the hotel closes at 10pm so there are no amenities after this time and is a bit spooky. Rooms are great and free wifi is as it should,be.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank theparrott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed for four nights and found this hotel very clean and modern with friendly staff. The hotel owner helped us plan our trips out each day providing us with maps and tips on parking and places to visit or avoid. The rooms are very modern and well appointed with large and comfy beds, and the breakfast was excellent and all you could wish for.The hotel owner also accommodated our cycles in his outbuildings each night and this was a great help enabling us to go out in the evening without the worry of cycles in the car.The restaurant is run seperately from the hotel and is very popular so you must book early, the menu however did not cater for vegetarians but the chef soon made up a suitable dish at short notice to save the day. All in all a great little hotel for a short break away 10/10

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is hotel of which the owners are justly proud, on checking in the owner took the trouble to show me all of the facilities and then to my room. Though super-modern in many respects the hotel has a traditionally homely feel to it, all the fittings are top quality, the rooms simple, stylish and equipped with all you could need.
If you are visiting this hotel you simply must eat in the restaurant, you will experience some of the most extraordinary yet fabulous food. To give you an idea: my main course consisted of a Loin of Cod with Garlic Mashed Potatoes, Schezchuan Vegetables with a Mustard Sauce and a Veal and Port reduction! Those ingredients don't go together do they? YES THEY DO! One of the most memorable meals I've eaten in years.....and the dessert of a Salsa of Roquefort and Camembert cheeses served on Walnut Bread drizzled with Honey was utterly fantastic, sweet, savoury and comforting.
The breakfast was excellent, again, all you could realistically wish for in a small European hotel, the service of the staff faultless.
I WILL stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ormerodr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temse, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is a small little hotel, with just 19 rooms. When you check in, the owner gives you all the necessary explanations about everything in your room and about the facilities. It is very neat and the staff charming. The hotel lies next to a busy road, but you hear nothing from that thanks to the good orientation of the rooms in the building.The hotel has also a restaurant: "Kwizien Papinglo". Definitely a winner! but book in time your table, because it is fully booked every evening. Also make clear that you are a hotel guest. That can help.
I wonder why they only have 3 stars, because they definetely deserve 4 stars.

Room Tip: Nothing to say: what you see on the website is what you get... As simple as that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmigoBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

stayed here for 2 nights28-29/09/11 was on a business trip and stumbled on it with the help of tripadvisor..lovely hotel not to big not to small.hotel is set in the countryside between bruge and gent. rooms are very clean and comfortable in my room was a most wonderfull power shower.
beds very big and comfortable. staff was brill had a lovely breakfast on the 1st morning however i decided on a lye in on the second (as i dont get many of these at the moment) at 09.00 my room phone rang and i was asked if i was ok and still wanted breakfast becouse it finished at 09.00..not a problem sir i will save you some..i eventually got up and have a breakfast at 10.00 a full hour after breakfast had finished ..nice for a hotel owner to actually care about thier visitors ...would really recomend this hotel and will be staying again as its only a 40 min drive from dunkirk ferry.

Room Tip: relax and enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fatbelly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maldegem
2.0 mi away
Hotel Prelude
Hotel Prelude
#1 of 2 in Knesselare
47 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel de Elderschans
Hotel de Elderschans
#1 of 1 in Aardenburg
776 reviews
5.8 mi away
Het Godshuis
Het Godshuis
#1 of 1 in Sint-Laureins
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
5.7 mi away
Hotel Capitole
Hotel Capitole
#2 of 2 in Aalter
55 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Orchidee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleythil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleythil Hotel

Property: Cleythil Hotel
Address: Kleitkalseide 193, Maldegem 9990, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Maldegem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maldegem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cleythil Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Cleythil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing