We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy and friendly appartment”
other travelers have booked this property
Sunken living room with panoramic views of the valley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunken living room with panoramic views of the valley
Living Room with 2 sofa beds Living Room another view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Sunken living room with panoramic views of the valley
Living Room with 2 sofa beds
Living Room another view
Dining Room looking out on the valley
View from balcony on a winters morning
Summer outside our window
Spacious Bedroom with King size bed, double sofa bed,
Another view of bedroom!!
One of our usual hikes
Nearby hike
Ski Hutte on nearby slopes
Bad Gastein
Fun in the Snow
View from living room early on a winters morning
Summer Toboggan!
Lake where you can learn to sail & windsurf... a days lesson is included in Salzburgerland Card
Loipe (Cross Country skiing ) in valley
Bad Gastein
Nearby Castle and Falconry
If you dont like to ski!!!!
Grossglockner Glacier
Winter wonderland
Klamm (Gorge) Walk next valley
Gorge walk
Kitchen - everything you need at your fingertips!
Now thats what I call a dump of snow
Gorge Walk
Local Badsee
Balcony with a panoramic view of the mountains
A gentle stroll to the Bad See
Let's go
Just another great day on the slopes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Bad Gastein, Austrian Alps

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Martin Z
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Cosy and friendly appartment”
Reviewed March 4, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
6
people found this review helpful

Our family has spent a long weekend in this appartment for a short skiing break. All the arrangments with Kathleen, the owner, were smooth and easy prior to arrival. We have received detailed information pack prior to our trip which was very helpful for finding the place and handling the equipment in the appartment. On our arrival we met with the house manager who managed to get us parking place in the garage that belongs to the appartments. It made it easier for carrying our stuff into and from the appartment and our car was safe.
The appartment is specious enough, we found all the equipment we could need to feel comfortable and felt like at home. There is a beautiful view to the valley from the wide window. The appartment is not far from the centre of Bad Gastein too.
I would only have one recommendation: darker curtain in the bedroom downstairs which would stop the light from the lamps outside.
We preferred to use our car to get to the ski lifts as we did not want to squeeze with other people in the ski bus plus it gave us more freedom.
We have been in Gasteinertal for the third time. What we like on this valley is that you have five different ski resorts in the valley so you can ski in a different place each day. You can relax in one of the two great water parks which is good for your tired body after a day on slopes.
It was very relaxed break in the very nice appartment. I can recommend this to other people and would consider to stay there again if we are back in the valley in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 5, 2015
Thank you Martin,
we really appreciate your lovely review and are thrilled you enjoyed our place. Thank you for the recommendation about the curtains downstairs, We had decided on that material to keep the place feeling light and airy, we have never had this question arise before and we will certainly take this on board and review it again. We would love to host your family on your next trip, and I do agree with you Gastein IS something special. Kathleen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexSava
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It made us feel like home”
Reviewed March 1, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
6
people found this review helpful

We booked three nights in this apartment and it made us feel like sleeping at home. Overall it was a great experience. thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 3, 2015
Thank you so much Alex for your nice words. We are thrilled you enjoyed our place. That's what we aim for a home from home. There is so much to do even so we make sure theres a nice place to relax after a long days skiing or hiking. ..dvds; games, books. Kathleen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayHo...
North Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great ski holiday”
Reviewed February 13, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
7
people found this review helpful

Four of us had a 5 night stay in January, and had a great time skiing.
We took a taxi from the airport and were dropped off outside the apartment block. The apartment was easy to find from the directions sent. We did meet the owner and was made to feel very welcome, even making us a cup of tea before leaving.

The apartment is well equipped with more than enough space for the 4 of us. We cooked a couple of times, and found everything we needed to hand. Beds are comfy, and that includes the pull out bed in the lounge. The shower works well, and there is also an additional separate toilet.

Must not forget to add:- the views from the apartment are amazing!

The location is outside of the centre of town, but getting to the centre of Bad Gastein, and the main slopes is easy by bus.
To catch the bus; it stops outside the detached yellow house about 100m up the hill from the apartment block. It's worth noting that there is no bus stop or sign to suggest it's a bus stop, but we found that a bus would turn up at the hour and half past. We never managed to get the bus back to the apartment, but saw them pass us as we usually walked back, via a bar of some description.

We did walk up to the ski lifts from the apartment the first day. and it is a trek; don't forget though you are in the mountains! Just use the bus, it's included in the lift pass. It's in the centre of town (it's behind the train station),

The skiing was great in BG and it's surrounding areas, it's even worth checking out Graukogal for half day (or full if you like it), It has 4 runs and we found that we almost had it to ourselves.

The centre of BG has plenty of bars and restaurants, and you can soon sniff them out. We can also recommend the kebab shop a few metres down the hill from the First Descent rental shop; you need to put those calories back after a hard day on the slopes.

We also tried the restaurant which is less than 5 minutes up the hill from the apartment, just after you pass the church, it's on the left hand side. We all had the pizzas, which went down well with a couple of beers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 3, 2015
Thanks Nick, it was a pleasure meeting you too. Glad you had such a great time in Bad gastein it really is something special. Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We hit Graukogel in feb on your recommendation. Had a blast. Sportsgastein was amazing too. Next time you visit the area try the summer. A pleasure to host you. Kathleen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brandon44...
County Kerry, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed September 14, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
6
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a 9 day break at this apartment. The helpfulness and courtesy of the owner was exceptional. The apartment is as described, cosy,compact.clean and the view is simply stunning. If you enjoy outdoor activities then this is an ideal base. All is at your finger tips from gentle river walks to the most demanding of mountain hikes. As Badgastein is a mountain ski retreat, which is important to remember, there are some steep hills to overcome when walking to bars/restaurants/shops etc.Our experience of eating out in the area is limited as we made full use of the galley kitchen in the apartment. There is a very large eurospar on the top level of the town, which is about 100 metres from the railway station, and provides a great selection of product. A car is important,and this is advised by the owners, to fully appreciate the area and the neighbouring valleys. Overall a wonderful, wonderful stay and we would have no hesitation in recommending the apartment to either family or friends.

Liked best: The breathtaking views
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 20, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so lad you enjoyed our "little piece of heaven. Glad you took us up on the suggestion of a car - especially as you can then explore the other valleys surrounding Bad Gastein. In the winter it is not as necessary if you are skiing as the Ski bus stops right outside the complex.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColetteW...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home from home with comfort, luxury and at the centre of all attractions.”
Reviewed September 7, 2014 for a stay in July 2012
6
people found this review helpful

This is a fabulous apartment which offered comfortable and spacious accommodation to our family of six. It is easily accessible, beautifully decorated and clean. Situated in the beautiful village of Bad Gastein, the apartment offers a spectacular vista of the valley and a balcony where you can relax and enjoy the view and the activities of others, which include para-gliders and hot air ballooners. There is a tourist office a little distance from the apartment where you can find out all about the huge number of fascinating things to do locally and in the surrounding district. Every day offered excitement. We had one of our best holidays in this apartment and can't wait to return. You should bring a car.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Incredible views from comfortable surroundings
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 20, 2014
Happy to have hosted you & your family. Looking forward to tour return to start your ski memories this season
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nenaghman
Nenagh, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cosy Alpine apartment with fab views near great ski resort.”
Reviewed September 4, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
6
people found this review helpful

Lovely apartment in Bad Gastein with unbelievable views of the mountains. Very comfortable retreat after a good days skiing in the nearby resort. Have stayed here several times with two other adults. Plenty of room in apartment with shops and restaurants close by. Highly recommend it! Quiet, edge of town location, perfect for skiing holiday. Can't wait to get back there!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 20, 2014
Yes it is perfect....near enough to get to the apres ski yet quiet enough to relax. We think its the best of both worlds
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanne M
Clonmel, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed August 27, 2014 for a stay in March 2013
7
people found this review helpful

I stayed at this apartment with 2 friends during ski season and had a fantastic holiday. The apartment was clean, spacious and so comfortable with a breathtaking view across the valley. While there was a bus available from outside the complex we enjoyed walking to and from the slopes every day, taking in the wonderful scenery and exploring the unusual town. I would definitely stay here again and intend next time to bring the family (the kids will probably want to hop on the bus!).

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 20, 2014
Thank you for your great review. We are so lad you loved it....next time try summer since you like the hills so much!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing