We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to be if you go for a ski”
Review of Hotel Rader

Hotel Rader
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Rader
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Bad Gastein
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The place to be if you go for a ski”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We (family with two sons of 12 and 17) stayed for a week at the Hotel-Rader. We are really enthousiastic. The rooms are nice, clean and the food absolutely nice.

The owners, Margret and Martin, are lovely people that will do anyting to make you feel at home.

The after ski with a drink and a game of pool billiard or table soccer is nice and was highly appreciated by Me, my wife and both of my sons.

Breakfast is good, dinner very good. Hotel-Rader: the place to be if you like to go for a ski in Bad Gastein, and want to be in an hotel with a very friendly atmosphere. We will no doubt book the hotel if we are vositing the Hasteinertal again!

Jacques Grossouw

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamGrossouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Gentle people, willing to help, Nice atmosphere. Value for money.
Total picture.
One advise: offer Wifi for free.

Thanks for a very nice week!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dice1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We have had a wonderful holiday at Hotel Rader in December. We stayed six nights and enjoyed our stay very much. The hotel is fairytale. The building is beautiful. We had a lovely spaceous room with an amazing view. The room was nice decorated, very clean and we enjoyed the bathroom; very nice hot showers. The sauna, the bar, the fire place and the food was all very nice. The cross country possiblities are plenty. It is just such a great thing just to walk for about 100 mtr and than you have this beautiful track. There are other possibilities for cross country skiing as well. The hosts including staff are friendly and warm, they are well informed about the skiing area, the weather and will guide you to what is the best place for you. Will surely come back !

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Resia65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed four nights at Hotel Rader in January. It was a wonderful stay, Böckstein is a 'fairytale' village, the hotel building is beautiful with lots of history. The hosts are warm and friendly, always willing to give information or answer your questions. The room we had was nicely decorated with excellent quality beds and clean as we have always been used to in Austria. Price/quality is ok. The skiing area is great, plenty of possibilities, beautiful slopes and nice piste restaurants. We will surely come back here !

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marja26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisinau, Moldova
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Nice pictures in internet, bad comodity and service in reality. Attention, it's a scam !

Room Tip: attention, it's a scam
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vlad l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

We booked this hotel for 10 nights after browsing through their website and reading some reviews but in the end we fled the premises after just two days. The bathrooms are a complete joke and look like something out of a 1970s camping van (plastic shower cabin, plastic foot mat - all in all roughly 1.5 square meters). Upon enquiring just after arrival if we could have one of the renovated rooms on the 3rd floor we were told that this was not possible as it would entail re-doing the whole reservations for the christmas period. The rooms themselves are below IKEA standard and would serve for a youth hostel at best (nothing close to 3 or 4 stars as marketed on some websites). The food is also straight out of an industrial canteen and lacks any kind of creativity (supposedly they just hired an Italian cook but from where we could not tell as the dishes looked like they were warmed up in a hurry and taste wise, it was average at best). Even the festive christmas menu (which was charged at double the normal price) was something that turned your stomach the wrong way...

The high point of our 2 day stay was when we discovered small worms in our bathroom (see attached video) - upon telling this to the managers they acted shocked and suddenly we were able to get a room on the 3rd floor - however this was only possible for two of us (we had 3 rooms booked in total). When we told them we would not be staying any longer due to all of the above, the hotel management had the nerve to inform us that they would need to charge us for the entire stay! In the end we negotiated to pay 3 days extra which came close to 1000 Euros (for what I still do not know) - all in all a horrible experience and I would not recommend this hotel to anybody who is used to better standards than a youth hostel! They definitely do not deserve anything above a 1 star rating and I hope people do not go and waste their money here or worse hope to have a joyful holiday experience!!!

Room Tip: 3rd floor if anything but I would not propose you to stay here..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mank0man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switserland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Huge disappointment! We booked the hotel for a holiday over Xmas and New Year, it looked nice in the pictures on the website and it was an utter disappointment! Bathrooms from the 1929s, not even big enough for one person to take a shower, bugs, cleanliness does not exist. The only renovated rooms are on the last floor, the rest need repairs and renovations! Breakfast really scarce and basic and dinner even worse! Beware! No value for money and pictures on website misleading!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dianaSwitserland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bad Gastein hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Elisabethpark
Hotel Elisabethpark
#9 of 36 in Bad Gastein
326 reviews
1.7 mi away
Euro Youth Hotel and Krone
Euro Youth Hotel and Krone
#19 of 36 in Bad Gastein
71 reviews
1.7 mi away
Boutiquehotel Lindenhof
Boutiquehotel Lindenhof
#15 of 36 in Bad Gastein
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Stubnerhof
Hotel Stubnerhof
#25 of 36 in Bad Gastein
4 reviews
2.2 mi away
Das Regina Hotel
Das Regina Hotel
#2 of 36 in Bad Gastein
183 reviews
2.1 mi away
De l'Europe Gastein
De l'Europe Gastein
#16 of 36 in Bad Gastein
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rader? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rader

Property: Hotel Rader
Address: Karl Imhof-Ring 22, Bad Gastein 5645, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Bad Gastein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Bad Gastein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rader 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montan Alt Böckstein (that belongs to Bad Gastein)is located almost at the end of the Gastein valley - a village which was built in the 17th century. In the middle of the fairy-tale village, our hotel Rader is located at the romantic village square. Personal attention, lovely food and drinks and the combination with a fantastic quiet location. After a active day you can rest in our lounge, make a cooling down in the fitness room or relax in our sauna wellness. We have 27 rooms with all the facility's you can expect in a *** hotel. We are sure that your first visit will bring what you where looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Rader reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing