We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A few good points but not as advertised” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Weismayr

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Weismayr
Ranked #30 of 38 Hotels in Bad Gastein
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A few good points but not as advertised”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2011

I could recommend this hotel if you are on a budget and compare it with 2-star hotels and pensions. Not if you are looking for a good 4-star hotel.

Weismayr does not offer the service and facilities you should find in a 4-star hotel, and the information given on the travel agent's website was not entirely correct (Snowtrex). False marketing is not acceptable and somebody ought to sue them. Nevertheless, the most important things for a good ski-holiday were to our liking: a good night's sleep, a good bathroom and a good breakfast. And the price was ok.

Some bad points:
- Uneven standard
- Reception only open 7 am -11 pm.
- Bar never open
- Some guests are placed in a cold apartment building next door (150 m up a slippery slope)
- Our room had no telephone, no hairdryer, no cable-TV, no mini-bar, no coffee-maker, no soap (we got a hairdryer when we asked for it).
- Very old building with several eyesores (kind of charming?)
- No chairs on balcony
- The radiator in our room broke down the first night (woke up in the middle of the night freezing - the rest of the week our room was warm and nice)

Some good points:
- very large room with good beds (medium hard)
- large bathroom (no shower curtain though)
- central location close to the famous waterfall (you must take a bus to the ski-lift)
- good breakfast (by ski-resort standard in this price range)
- good coffee (Scandinavian style)
- dinner well prepared, but very boring (same dessert every night)
- professional and friendly staff in restaurant
- some pretty nice public areas: spa, dining-room, lounge

"A low class hotel in a high class wrapping"

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    19
    25
    17
    16
See reviews for
33
20
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Near London
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2010

We stayed at the Weismayr after booking a last minute holiday. The hotel is old but that added to the charm. It was very warm and comfortable. The service was good and the food was excellent, plenty of variety and good portions. The room size was great which is unusual for European hotels. We may have been lucky as we also had a balcony. The dining room waiter was great and had everything running very smoothly. It was a shame that his co-worker was not as attentive.
We had a very nice week.
Bad Gastein would be even better if it had a better bus service as they are not frequent enough and are soon very full.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tattytedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2009

this hotel has 2 buildings. They are overbooking every time. The second building is a disaster. The main building is also a disaster. This hotel is not even an 1 star hotel.

Please DON'T GO THERE

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rumania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bad Gastein hotels

Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2009

An old hotel_recomended to those over 50 years.
It 's located in the center of the city near the river .
One of the oldest hotels in Bad Gastein .

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S_Nicolae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abcoude
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2009

This hotel is really the worst we have seen, we booked for our family with 4 children a two week stay in this 4 star hotel, at least that is what they mention in the durch OAD brochure.
We arrived and met this unbelievable unfriendly staf of the hotel, as we booked connecting room we excpected connecting rooms, that was the main request for our family, 4 little children need to find the parents dut=ring the night. NO connecting rooms No solution. The rooms are decorated and cleaned up around the sitieth of the last centure, the towels are from the salvation Army and the chef in the kitchen has never tasted his own food. Don't go to this horror place

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PieterAbcoude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterford
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2009

rooms were nice (upgraded). but the food was horrible, i go to boarding school and i find the food in school is nicer than the weismayr food eg. one evening i ordered battered fish from childrens menu, and i got fish fingers another night we ordered spinage, potatoes and "beef" and spinage was purade with water running out of it and the meat was like shreded cardboard with ham flavouring in it! then after dinner on the first night we ordered coffee and the waitress replied with a "yes" that nearly killed her and threw her eyes up to heaven and then in the end it never even came. desrt was stale every night and if u wanted u could get tined fruit with it. (oh ye i almost forgot to menton the buffe of salads for starters..... ewwww) breakfast is ok, cereal, tind fruit salad, cheese and fresh bread wich you get the leftovers for dinner)

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blueberryWaterford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gottagoqueen
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2009

Expectations certainly influence opinion. I went in to this with no specific expectations. Our room was large with twin beds (too hard for my taste and flat pillows) with a sitting room area and four chairs, tv and mini fridge. I felt no drafts on the cold nights and I saw no peeling paint as others had mentioned. The bathroom was a reasonable size but no shower curtain as others have mentioned. It seemed neat and clean but the shades needed to be changed on the wall lamps. I was concerned about the locks which were awkward and could have been difficult in an emergency. The key was huge and very cool if it weren't for the lack of a quick exit. The spa area was very nice but the water was cold the night I went down there. Front desk was courteous but I never received my extra pillow. During breakfast we had an opportunity to select the evening meal from three options. Each served with a soup, coffee or tea and water always on the table. Fresh white linens on the table every meal. We selected our own salads and desserts to go with your selected meal. The lead server was very charming and old world. I expected him to click his heels as he gave his slight bow/nod at any request. I felt I was experiencing old world Austria and I enjoyed it for that very reason. The cleaning staff could be abrupt but they're there to clean rather than to charm. The two men who served in the bar area were very pleasant, friendly and accommodating. I traveled with a ski tour so I can't be clear on the value but I suspect it was good. I loved the old wood and the look of the parlor. Internet was available in the lobby. All in all I felt I had an old world experience but then I like antiques and elegance of days gone by. How will you and your home look in 50 years much less 200+? KUDOS to the dining and bar staff.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gottagoqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bad Gastein hotels
0.1 mi away
De l'Europe Gastein
De l'Europe Gastein
#17 of 38 in Bad Gastein
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Elisabethpark
Hotel Elisabethpark
#9 of 38 in Bad Gastein
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Solitude
Villa Solitude
#14 of 38 in Bad Gastein
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sanotel Bad Gastein & Residenz
Sanotel Bad Gastein & Residenz
#24 of 38 in Bad Gastein
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mondi-Holiday Bellevue
Mondi-Holiday Bellevue
#7 of 38 in Bad Gastein
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Miramonte
Hotel Miramonte
#4 of 38 in Bad Gastein
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Weismayr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Weismayr

Property: Hotel Weismayr
Address: Kaiser Franz Josef-Strasse 6, Bad Gastein 5640, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Bad Gastein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Bad Gastein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Weismayr 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Weismayr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weismayr Hotel Bad Gastein

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing