We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would recommend”
Review of Hotel Weismayr

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Weismayr
Ranked #32 of 36 Hotels in Bad Gastein
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I give the highest rating to this hotel for it's atmosphere! Staff is very kind and helpful, especially waiters in the restaurant. In the restaurant there is a big choice of different dishes for the dinner, a bit smaller for breakfast. The food was really good. Lobby and restaurant are very elegant, maybe not so much rooms, however, all is clean and tidy. We enjoyed very much their sauna and pool, spent a lot time there.
Location is also very good: just a minute away from the bus, and just a few hundred meters away from many nice bars and clubs.
However, the most important thing for us was to have a chance together with the owner of the hotel to go up to the mountains to feed local animals. Some hundred wild deers surrounded us and almost eat from our hands. Those emotions even exceeded all the other positive we had going skying! They have this option open at the reception and we strongly recommend to take this trip!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jurgita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 93 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2014

We have just returned from a weeks skiing holiday and had to put a more up to date review on. The hotel has a lovely atmosphere, with a good lounge area attached to a modern and busy cafe/bar. The reception is welcoming.
The pool is excellent and just big enough and the spa area is modern, spacious and clean.
The rooms are large and traditional, they could do with a little updating, but we're very warm and clean.
The food is very good, very traditional Austrian meals. Portions are not large for the evening meal, but there are 5 courses and you can have as much salad, soup and dessert as you want. The 3 restaurant staff are superb. Very efficient, friendly and by the end of the week the waiter had our drinks order on the table before we sat down for dinner.
The ski bus is only 50 metres away from the entrance, runs on time, and there is no waiting with frequent services in the morning.
There are many nationalities staying at the hotel which adds to the character.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We called at the hotel with a view to having a drink in the what looked as a nice conditori, on our last night. The centre of Bad Gastein is essently a ghost town so this looked a good prospect.

Unfortunately the cafe area was being used for a function, and we were introduced to the lounge area. This area is a throw back to the glory times of past with an eclectic mix of furniture, old carpets and even a brass bar area that is not used.

We sat for a while and eventually went to hotel reception who then ordered staff to attend to us! Not good. There is a Wi Fi area here which could be useful, however a couple were using it to watch football, not an inconvenience but slightly irritating when the volume was up.

The staff were pleasant but service was poor and we left.

Next day we decided to try the conditori as originally planned. Whilst looking ok from the outside, inside it is on a par with the the social area of the hotel. Worn carpets, seating and broken fixtures are all apparent. A visit to the 60's style toilets with the smell of damp as an introduction to the full old urine effect is a must.

Again, the staff were pleasant, but this hotel needs to take a serious look at it'self. The entrance and cafe are what drive customers impressions and 'past it' unfortunately, is the over riding one.

We are unable to comment on the food or accommadation as we called on both occasions for drinks.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

After reading the reviews for this hotel I was dreading stay there. The hotel certainly is old but has lots of character and unusual stuffed animals hanging off almost every wall! Our room was small but clean and the shower had lots of hot water, which is essential after a day on the slopes!
The food at the hotel varied in quality, the first few nights were great but there were a few questionable meals later on. However we ate out a few nights which was definitely worth it.
The staff were really friendly and helpful. The hotel has a cafe/bar attached to it which is run independently, it serves great bar snacks and drinks until 10pm that you can drink in the hotel lobby area, in comfy chairs.
The hotel location is quite far from the slopes but there is a free ski bus or taxis. The boot room at the hotel is small and damp so for 20 euros we left our skis/boots at a shop next to the main ski lift.
Overall the hotel is value for money, and perfectly adequate for a weeks stay. The skiing and company was great, and this ultimately makes a holiday!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TBEWC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

HI, two males used this for a ski holiday. The hotel is very tired and basic although the staff are helpful. The room was described as small but we felt it was a adequate size with plenty of storage space. The food was adequate - edible but not very much of it. (We have previously skiied in Bulgaria so are used to basic!). The main downside for a ski holiday is that the hotel doesn't provide its own ski minibus so you waste a lot of time waiting for the resort ski bus. If we went again we would definitely stay somewhere more central to the railway station as that's where all the gondolas and buses are.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeandMorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Lets start with the obvious - it's not the hotel that is described on the webbpage. It's old and worn, the restaurant use a lot of canned food, the ski-room desperately needed new carpets 10 yars ago, rooms were 3 stars based on an evaluation that must have been done in the early 70's. But we got it in a package deal including flight, hotel stay, breakfast, evening dinner for a silly price. And the lobby is cool place to hang and has free wireless that works for most people. So we're happy. Strangely enough.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeterThorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Having booked a week in the Hotel Weismayr for a skiing holiday, I then checked tripadvisor and read the reviews - I was fearing the worse after reading such comments as "fawlty towers" on snow etc! It is nowhere near this bad. In fact, the hotel was very pleasant, the staff very friendly and helpful and the food was good - albeit could have done with a bit more!

The hotel was certainly fit for purpose for a skiing holiday - spacious room, clean and warm. And to all those previous people who have moaned about the hotel, all I can say is, a holiday is what you make of it!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bad Gastein hotels
0.4 mi away
Boutiquehotel Lindenhof
Boutiquehotel Lindenhof
#19 of 36 in Bad Gastein
49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Das Regina Hotel
Das Regina Hotel
#2 of 36 in Bad Gastein
224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sanotel Bad Gastein & Residenz
Sanotel Bad Gastein & Residenz
#28 of 36 in Bad Gastein
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
CESTA GRAND Aktivhotel & Spa
CESTA GRAND Aktivhotel & Spa
#9 of 36 in Bad Gastein
158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Salzburger Hof
Hotel Salzburger Hof
#1 of 36 in Bad Gastein
438 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Elisabethpark
Hotel Elisabethpark
#10 of 36 in Bad Gastein
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Weismayr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Weismayr

Address: Kaiser Franz Josef-Strasse 6, Bad Gastein 5640, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Bad Gastein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Bad Gastein
Price Range: $137 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Weismayr 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Weismayr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weismayr Hotel Bad Gastein

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing