We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with loads of character”
Review of Hotel Mozart

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Mozart
Ranked #26 of 36 Hotels in Bad Gastein
Reviewed February 15, 2010

My partner and I arrived at Hotel Mozart for a week of snowboarding not knowing what to expect. Our accommodation was part of a package deal with Direct Ski and was a total surprise to us when we arrived in Austria. We were very pleasantly surprised.

I would describe Mozart as comfortable. It is not exactly luxurious or modern but for a couple of weary snowboarders the half board was heavenly to us at the end of a long day on the slopes and the beds were extremely comfortable.

The meals at the end of the day were generous and of good quality. We received a choice of 2 entres, 2 mains and a set dessert and the salad buffet was available each night. There was also a fondue night and a buffet night. Breakfast was not ideal for my Australian tastes (I prefer toast to bread) but there was more than enough to ensure I hit the slopes well fed each day.

Others have described the decor as outdated but I loved it. The place has character! Maybe a bit worn out looking but that did not bother me at all, I prefer it to some boring, generic looking place with no personality. Especially loved the bar.

Our room was on the 5th floor and the view was breathtaking. The room amenities were basic but we were not really there to hang out in our room! There was a good sized closet and plenty of storage space for 2 of us for the week.

The staff were friendly. Others have complained about rudeness but I didn't get that vibe from the staff at all. We spoke very limited German but this was no barrier, they were extremely accommodating to us. My partner and I befriended one of the staff members quite well and remain in contact with him.

Internet connection was not great. Not accessible from the room at all, we were mainly only able to access it from a "sweet spot" we found in the non-smoking lounge and even then it was aggravatingly hit and miss. Paid 1 euro per hour.

Mozart is well within walking distance of restaurants, the waterfall, pubs etc. and there seemed to be an abundance of taxis in town too. The free buses to Bad Gastein, Sportgastein and other ski resorts stop right outside the door to the Hotel Mozart ski room. It's a short (steep) walk home from the Bad Gastein slopes if you fancy.

Overall we both enjoyed our stay at Mozart immensely and would definitey stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank romanticnotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 68 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2010

It was worth the price. Breakfast could have been more nurishing. Location was good for skiiers, bus-stop very close.

Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
1  Thank Calla76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2009

It is funny how perception and reality are two completely different things, this hotel is definitely one of them. By looking at their website you’ll be easily fooled into booking a stay here, but please beware!

This hotel was built in 1912 and since then apparently never opened a window ever since: if you happen to arrive late at night you’ll have the pleasure of being welcomed by a curious attack on your sense of smell by a mixture of decades old carpet, heavy clouds of sigarette smoke from the nearby bar and lounge and on top of that the nasty fumes produced by the heavily overused deepfrier in the kitchen.

Fortunately most of the rooms have balconies where you can regain the sense that you’re near fresh and healthy mountain air. Much of the hotel was apparently refurbished in the early nineties although even by standards of that time most of the room decorations must have been pretty much “retro” already. On the positive side: most of the rooms are very spacious, have nice beds, good mountain views and a decent size safety box (won’t fit your laptop though).

Most curious though is the hotel staff, in particular the people working in the restaurant. All of them, except for one, basically have the flexibility of a bulletproof lead door. Please don’t ask for anything extraordinary (like putting your drinks on your roomtab) or you’ll find yourself in a situation straight from the TV series “Fawlty Towers”. If you’re indeed so lucky as to get them to smile or even have them trying to crack a joke: treasure that moment even if you don’t think the joke is the least funny. Be happy that they are not abusive for a short moment of time! In thirteen years of being a professional travel and wintersports photographer and journalist I have never ever met a bunch of more rude, unfriendly and completely unwelcoming staff ever!

Even worse than the staff is the quality of the food served. Appalling is really the nicest way to describe it: people from our group got sick and the food is simply dirt cheap and all of it is always fried. Don’t go here if you fancy some fresh vegetables or a salad buffet with fresh ingredients (except for the lettuce). Even to cheap hotel standards the quality is really, really low.

The hotel also has a sauna (nice but smallish) with steamroom and boosts a wireless network. That is, if you’re lucky it’s online. The manager tried really hard to convince us that “Austrian computers never have a problem with the wireless” but after intense pressure had his son come over to fix the fact that the wireless machine was simply turned off. It only took three days to get him that far! Please note that the fee is a very stiff 5 euro’s per hour for internet that is so slow it will even have a hard time opening sites as simple as Facebook. A “rip-off” seems to be a very friendly understatement for this service.

So if you’re looking for a scrappy hotel with some highly unfriendly staff and horrible services this is your place to be. Also note it’s just outside the downtown area (which means about a ten minute walk to the nearest restaurant or bar) and you’ll need the bus to get to the skilifts.

Any smart person will choose to stay somewhere else. Even the youth hostel at 25 euro’s per night for a private room with free internet across the street from the main lift sounds better than this. Simply avoid!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rudgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2009

Great location & nice rooms but the service in the restaurant was so bad it was shocking!! You felt like you were back in the school cantines with plates not served by the staff but handed out for the table to pass around. Once the meal is done you are expected to hand the plates back (across the table and over another guest's head), if you don't you will be told harshly to do so - even if you are in the middle of a conversation.
No matter which of the waitresses you ask for something, it's never that person's job to get it for you and do not expect them to go tell their colleague to help you, as it is not their job either.
But I guess one can live with somewhat bad service if the food makes up for it, unfortunately this was so not the case.

Come here to stay, but stay far far away from the restaurant!!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank acvb76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2008

The hotels location is good, slightly outside of the main town centre. The main reception is manned by pleasant, jovial and helpful staff. Sadly once you are inside the main foyer area your heart sinks. It becomes dark and dingy. There is the smallest lift ever, which you must try and squeeze yourself and your luggage into. When we tried to use the lift later, it would only take 4 adults weight before dinner, but only 3 1/2 adults after dinner without setting off an alarm and refusing to move!!
Our room itself was a decent size with lovely views of the mountains and the small garden. The beds were wonderfully soft with mattresses and duvets like marshmallows, so comfortable and warm. The bathroom was basic, with a crappy shower attachment that flew off the wall whenever you switched the tap from shower to bath mode. There was no shower curtain or enclosure, which meant the floor got soaked each time.
The dinning room was pleasant but stuck in the last century with its decor. Breakfast became tedious as it was the same every morning with no hot option, not even toast. The evening meals were basic Austrian faire and not too much of a choice. If you are a vegetarian you will go hungry as vegetable options consist of potatoes and more potatoes.
Most of the staff were friendly and helpful but one in particular was grumpy and miserable and scowled at us at every opportunity. We nicknamed her Elvis because she had quite a quiff hairstyle going on and her scowl made her lip turn up. She even fibbed to us one evening that dinner would be served half an hour earlier than usual, just to get us to our table earlier! Dinner stopped being served at 8pm and this was far too early for us as we struggled to make it in time most evenings.
Sadly smoking has not yet been banned in parts of Austria. The hotel sitting room and bar were very smokey and uncomfortable for us non-smokers and meant we were restricted on how long we could stand it for, before we were forced out wheezing.
All in all the hotel was adequate but in great need of updating and left a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skiing_sloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2008

Over-all I enjoyed my stay in the Gastein Valley but the Hotel Mozart left much to be desired. Namely our groups compalints centered around the service and the fact that the some of the staff, mainly the wait-staff, was on the verge of being nasty at times. Even the smallest request was deemed to be a huge issue by some of those at the hotel. Other issues were the room sizes, lack of clean towels, bathrooms with no shower curtains, windows not opening and the sauna was a complete joke.
This hotel is definitely nothing higher than a 2 star hotel and I would recommend looking into some of the other hotels in Bad Gastein.

Stayed: February 2008
2  Thank johnb27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kruma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bad Gastein hotels
0.8 mi away
CESTA GRAND Aktivhotel & Spa
CESTA GRAND Aktivhotel & Spa
#9 of 36 in Bad Gastein
157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Elisabethpark
Hotel Elisabethpark
#10 of 36 in Bad Gastein
331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#7 of 36 in Bad Gastein
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sanotel Bad Gastein & Residenz
Sanotel Bad Gastein & Residenz
#25 of 36 in Bad Gastein
99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mondi-Holiday Bellevue
Mondi-Holiday Bellevue
#6 of 36 in Bad Gastein
266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Solitude
Villa Solitude
#15 of 36 in Bad Gastein
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mozart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mozart

Address: Kaiser Franz Josef-Strasse 25, Bad Gastein 5640, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Bad Gastein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 36 Hotels in Bad Gastein
Price Range: $98 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mozart 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our house in the art nouveau style was already en vogue at the time when Emperors came to Bad Gastein. Viennes nobility also came here to take the waters and today our guests appreciate the fact that our house has preserved the flair and elegance of that time.The Felsentherme, bar, the casino, the romatic famous waterfall, and the Elisabeth Promenade are all within easy reach, Also Nearby are tennis couirts, the railway station and the cable car to the Stubnerkogel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mozart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mozart Hotel Bad Gastein

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing