We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and barock hotel”
Review of Das Regina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Das Regina Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Bad Gastein
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming and barock hotel”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

My son and I had a great time at Regina and the hospitality and the food they serve is more than excellent! We would like to recommend it to everyone!! Have a nice stay - we know you will have one!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    29
    11
    6
    12
See reviews for
44
67
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brno, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This hotel is suitable for young teenager or very young people who would like to enjoy the spirit of the bad gastein city and do not require any luxury equipment and are ok with lower level of quality of the equipment and the room. The food was very good and also the service and the staff was really very nice, kind and friendly. On the other side the double room was very small with old "so called" retro equipment. I red a review saying "do not go to this hotel if you expect high quality standard", but would change it to "go to this hotel if you are ok to improvize and are able to survive small gaps and like to see young and nice people" ;) The main pain was the bed so I couldnt sleep well (and I'm able to sleep almost anywhere), the main gain was the food, staff etc. Hope Regina will be able to improve and reconstruct the hotel / equipment, suppose they are on a good way to get there ...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maara79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

We have spent 6 nights in Regina with my wife; in a double-room with half-pension. Our impression is quite mixed. Good location, excellent cuisine, perfect view on the mountain panorama on one hand, very poor service on the other hand. I had already been in Bad Gastain before, three years ago, in a pension. There, I had obtained a better service for half of the price.
Pros:
• Rooms reasonably clean
• Excellent European cuisine made from the finest ingredients.
• View on the mountain panorama both for the bedroom and the dining room.
• Good location. You are right in the middle of the night life.
• The place has its Genius Loci. Ancient furniture, a fireplace...
• Nice sauna and a steam-bath included.
• The stuff is relaxed.
Cons:
• The stuff is relaxed. This perhaps might work to some extent. But here it seemed that the management (if there was any) just hired a bunch of guys on the street and that was it. To name a few drawbacks: there was a dirty dish left the tables, drinks served in broken glasses, lack of clean cutlery, the stuff had a poor knowledge of attractions in the town, the wifi zone was unreliable... In case you need something – to replace a broken glass, for example - you have to ask them several times, or just to apply a DIY approach... Finally, during the checkout, they gave me a bill with items I’ve never consumed. “Why do you want me to pay for a beer? I never had one here”. “Yep”, was the answer, “it is quite possible. But it’s only two or three euro, you know”. Anyway, I would like to thank to the nice and professional French waitress, to the cook, and to the cleaning service. They did their job perfectly well.
• The interior is quite worn-out; with insensitive quick fixes rather than after a thorough renovation. Example is a parquet floor in our room, with missing parquets “fixed” with cement slurry.
• Location is good. Yet if you are not a big fun of casinos and night bars, all the other necessary facilities (ski resort, Felsentherme thermal bads, post office, supermarket, shops, raiway station) are located a bit outside the center. Hence it would be better (and cheaper) to choose something closer to Boekstein.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Václav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

Regina, the coolest hotel in Bad Gastein

The Regina is a charming hotel with friendly staff and amazing food. Actually the food is the best we had in town, simple but delicious :-D
The rooms are supercosy, spacious and clean. The guests are a hip international crowd. Plus points are the little cinema with a good selection of DVDs to watch with your friends

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank i_love_travelling_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2010

At first we were a bit shocked as the rooms seemed to be in a pretty bad condition. They were certainly far from what we saw at the photos before the trip. Anyway we spent most of our time on the slopes so it wasn't that important. There was enough space for the skiing clothes and boots in the room. The bathroom was not good and there were some problems with the water. Towels were changed daily but the bed sheets were not changed at all during the 8 days we stayed there.
The isolation between rooms was not the best possible and one night we had to listen how a couple upstairs was fighting.
The hotel has a nice sauna section on the 1st floor. The sauna is free of charge but it can't be booked, so you won't be there alone.
The restaurant staff was really friendly and helpful. We had an all inclusive package so we had dinner at the hotel restaurant every night except one and were not dissapointed at all. The food was very tasty and there was a lot of it!
The service at the reception was much worse than in the restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauletto4ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bad Gastein hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Salzburger Hof
Hotel Salzburger Hof
#1 of 36 in Bad Gastein
404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miramonte
Hotel Miramonte
#3 of 36 in Bad Gastein
187 reviews
0.9 mi away
CESTA GRAND - Aktivhotel & Spa
CESTA GRAND - Aktivhotel & Spa
#11 of 36 in Bad Gastein
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#7 of 36 in Bad Gastein
145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Excelsior Hotel & Kurhaus
0.2 mi away
Mondi-Holiday Bellevue
Mondi-Holiday Bellevue
#5 of 36 in Bad Gastein
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Das Regina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Regina Hotel

Property: Das Regina Hotel
Address: Karl Heinrich Waggerl-Strasse 5, Bad Gastein 5640, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Bad Gastein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bad Gastein
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Bad Gastein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Das Regina Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sophisticated, slightly fusty imperial and royal charm that pervades the air at the former imperial spa of Bad Gastein in Austria, ends abruptly as you cross the threshold of the Regina. Its youthful manager, Olaf Krohne, a Bad Gastein-enthusiast for many years, has awoken the hotel from what had been a seemingly eternal slumber. The design mixes furnishings reminiscent of the old Baroque with a spark or two of irony. Special Features: This hotel is perfectly suited to young and young-at-heart individualists with or without children. Dogs are welcome. It is the ideal base for winter sports. A wonderful base from which to experience the mountains, whether you enjoy walking or any other kind of mountain sport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Das Regina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Hotel Bad Gastein

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing