We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel was the best part of the holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mondi-Holiday Bellevue
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Bad Gastein
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2010

We stayed at the Bellevue for one week at the end of March. We had come here for a snow holiday - you know, ice skating, skiing, tobogganing, snowmen etc. Obviously, as the resort was open until mid-April for skiing I assumed that there would be snow in the resort until then. Well, stupid me. I didn't know about snow cannons. When we arrived, having DRIVEN from the UK to Austria on a 20 hour journey with a five year old in the car, there was no snow in the resort. We were shattered from the journey and disappointed about the snow. The hotel staff were great, had all our stuff ready, and upgraded us for free from a one bedroom apartment to a two bedroom.

The apartment was really spacious and not only had two bedrooms but two bathrooms too! It was exceptionally clean and tidy and had everything you could need (OK, it didn't have a pasta machine). The cupboards all had lights in and there were loads of towels. Cleaning cloths, teatowels and washing up liquid were all supplied. Our apartment had views over three sides and we could hear a waterfall (charming, but of course it was only flowing because all the snow was melting....) There was also a bath, which was heaven after a day on the slopes if we didn't go to the pool. And speaking of the pool, the pool complex was very nice, very empty when we went, with a coldish pool, a little children's pool with a slide in it and a huge hot tub thing with two sorts of bubbles. The rest of the things of offer we didn't to as we had to pay extra and Austria was pretty expensive to start with. There was bowling at £15 a go which our son was desperate to do. Happily, they offered it in the children's club for free.

The hotel provided free childcare which was fantastic. Our son was the only one there some days as we went in term time, but Sissy, the chilcare lady, was fantastic with him. He came home with a toy, a book or something he'd made every day and on the last day she took him on the bus to the next town to a great playground. He loved it. Unfortunately the childcare times didn't match up very well with the ski run opening times - for instance the childcare was m/t/w 3-7 and the ski runs closed at 4, so we couldn't drop him off and ski together without him. The snow was rubbish, like sugar, as it was mostly melting (it was hotter there than in the UK most days) so we were happy to come off them early. The locals call it accident snow.

The hotel had a nice little bar, which was expensive of course, but only as expensive as drinking in a major UK city. It had happy hour 5-6 when it offered a list of selected cocktails, beers and wines, and happily the happy hour did tie up nicely with the childcare.

The town is really pretty and has a fantastic waterfall which is worth taking a look at. We also went on the walk part of the way along the river - but what a climb back up! As the town is on the side of the mountain every road is incredibly steep. We hired our ski stuff from Gastein Ski, which is opposite the bottom of the Stubnerkogel lift, and we were able to leave them there each night so that we didn't have to trek around in ski boots, thankfully. Also as others have said, cars have to be parked away from the hotel and it's a pretty steep walk to get to the car park (cue arguments about who fetches things from the car).

There was a nice bakery down from the hotel which we walked to in the mornings to buy pastries from. We also went to the Jagerhausl restaurant, which was nice. We found a lovely restaurant by mistake one night. We were heading for Steak & Mehr but found it closed, so we went over the road and down a little to a really lovely restaurant which had amazing food and was a really good price. I can't remember what it was called, but it was just up from the casino on the same side of the road. It had nice vegetarian things too (not many though - nowhere did). We booked and went there on our last night too.

I would definitely recommend the hotel - it had everything we needed and a few things we didn't, like the youth area and the pampering bit and a restaurant with expensive and bizarre fixed price menus featuring such delicacies as 'Greek Cauliflower'. Mmm.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank faithpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 262 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2010

I loved this place, the rooms are gorgeous, brand new, with a nice size.
Everything are very clean, well decorate. Don't forget your bad suit, because they have a nice spa, with swim pool and steam room.
For the kids has activities, like circus, magic, theater and bowling
Bad gastein now has a new gondola, that increase a lot the ski options.
I will back as soon as possible.
Taiza

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tkSaoPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2009

Visited the hotel between 31st October-7th November 2009
Pro's
Gym- free
Pool-free (indirectly charged for by hotel taxes). 38 lockers in mens locker room. use your room card to operate key locks. ONLY 12 LOUNGERS for the whole hotel !!!!
Rooms- very good. bed firm, pillows useless...

Cons
View- overlooked other buildings. otherside of the building has mountain views
Noise- railway line nearby
Parking- free if you're prepared to hike to it....not suitable for the infirm. otherwise 5 euros a night
Taxes- 2 Euros a night per person per day (Tourist).
RCI members an additional 2 Euros per night per person
Weekly total for two, 56 Euros !!!

Other
Bockstein- RailCar takes you to the south 17 Euros 1 way 30 return
Grosglockner Alpen Strasse- route through the highest mountain in Austria -28 Euros for a car !!!!
Hohentauren Tunnel to East Tyrol- 10 Euros (car)

Relaxing week off work, but I won't go back '

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2009

Just got back on Saturday from a 2 week holiday in The Bellevue. We had a studio apartment which had a balcony that looked like a conservatory. it was good when it rained. Would highly recommend the Jagerhaus Restaurant, which we thought was much better than the hotel. The food and service were excellent. The views from the room were amazing and the scenery in Austria is something else. We didn't use the pool or the bowling but did use the sun terrace, which was nice and peaceful for sunbathing. The town of Bad HofGastein is not too far away and we went there a few times for shopping and eating. The trip up the cable car from there is also worth the trip.
We will definitely be back.
Mrs L Petrie - Dundee, Scotland

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Les2647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Our family stayed here for five nights in July. We went all inclusive. The hotel was good value for money. Clean and spacious rooms and good facilities. Being all inclusive, we had our meals in a very large dining room. Even though this looked like a large office canteen; the food was excellent and all drinks including local beer and wine was included.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burrenlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

We spent one week at Bellevue in a two room apartment with a very large terrace facing the valley and the mountains. The apartment had a well equipped kitchen with everything you could think of. Rooms were big and we even had an extra seperate toilet. When we arrived we found the rooms very clean. We had dinner at the bistro beside the reception. They offer a buffet and we only had dinner there once. Not too bad but not too good either. On the other hand The Jägerhaus next to the hotel offer very good food at reasonable prices and a nice service. We had dinner there several times. One night we enjoyed a delicious dinner at The Lutter & Wegner restaurant which has a spacious waterfall terrace with a great view.
We didn't use the indoor pool or bowling at the hotel.
After unloading the car you have to drive up a steep narrow road to the main road and further up where you park your car as there are no parking at the hotel.
The personal at the reception desk were very kind and willing to help when we had any questions.
Enjoyed the stay very much.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milofly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2009

- The resort is built on a slope, therefore has a wonderful view of the valley (provided you get a room in the main building)
- Very friendly staff and prompt service (We had reported a jammed door lock & it was fixed immediately)
- Extremely clean premises and good facilities on-site
- We had visited Bad Gastein during an off peak season therefore the place was a ghost town with most shops, hotels & restaurants being closed. One of the few restaurants that were open and which we liked very much is the “Jagerhaus” restaurant (good food for vegetarians also).
- Expensive to wash your laundry at the resort (Euro 5.5 per load). Unfortunately, we did not see any laundromat in the town.
- If you are a couple and book a studio room, be aware that there are only three studios in the resort with a double bed – the rest of the studios have two single beds. If you are particular about a double bed, make sure you request it before hand so that you are not surprised. We were allotted a studio with two single beds and unfortunately all double bed studios were taken. The resort said they could upgrade us to a 1BR at Euro 20/ night which we found very excessive.
- The breakfast buffet was the same every day of the week, so it got boring especially since there was nothing else open.
- During the week holiday, the room is cleaned before you check-in and any cleaning required during the week will be charged. Also, towels are changed only once during the week. Something to be taken note of if you travelling in a big group or with kids.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshGsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bad Gastein
0.1 mi away
Hotel Salzburger Hof
Hotel Salzburger Hof
#2 of 36 in Bad Gastein
421 reviews
0.2 mi away
Das Regina Hotel
Das Regina Hotel
#1 of 36 in Bad Gastein
213 reviews
1.0 mi away
CESTA GRAND Aktivhotel & Spa
CESTA GRAND Aktivhotel & Spa
#8 of 36 in Bad Gastein
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Alpina Family, Spa & Sporthotel
Alpina Family, Spa & Sporthotel
#3 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Elisabethpark
Hotel Elisabethpark
#10 of 36 in Bad Gastein
331 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#6 of 36 in Bad Gastein
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondi-Holiday Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondi-Holiday Bellevue

Address: K. H. Waggerl-Strasse 9 | 5640 Bad Gastein, Bad Gastein 5640, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Bad Gastein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bad Gastein
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Bad Gastein
Price Range: $72 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mondi-Holiday Bellevue 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bad Gastein is a special place in the middle of the national park Hohe Tauern. The architecture of Art Noveau gives a Feeling about this great time. The Bellevue is part of the belle epoque History and represents Service with style. 2 restaurants, one Bar, a amazing wellness area and breathtaking views from every window of the hotel gives you unforgettable holiday impressions. The Restaurants serving breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Our lobbybar will be ready for a sundowner. especially for children we have a large playground, our famous Kidsclub with our "Toni" and for the little older ones a Club with a lot of Games. Bellevue lies in the heart of Hohe Tauern. Ready for a lot of excursions, trips and hikings. In the Winterseason we have one of the best ski areas around austria. One hour by car you need to visit the beautiful town of Mozart, Salzburg. Just like that, you need one hour to Wörthersee. Over 169 easy and heavy trails around the hotel. Come and visit a Legend! Visit Bellevue! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mondi-Holiday Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondi-Holiday Bellevue Hotel Bad Gastein
Mondi Holiday Bellevue Bad Gastein

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing