We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very relaxing exchange in a beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mondi-Holiday Bellevue
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Bad Gastein
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
135 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A very relaxing exchange in a beautiful location”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment at the hotel through an RCI exchange. The rooms were very spacious and accommodated our family of myself, my husband and our two daughters aged 20 and 15 adequately. For a group such as ours a second shower in the separate toilet would have been an advantage. Interestingly there was only a cold water tap in there. However the main bathroom was spacious with two wash hand basins. The main living area consisted of two pull down beds, a sofa and two armchairs which saved making up a sofa bed every morning. We also had a balcony which had a wonderful view over the valley. The streets around about are steep and take a little to get used to in terms of navigating your way around. The main business area lies above the hotel near the railway station. The hotel itself was spotlessly clean and the reception staff always very helpful. If food is not included in your rate then you would find the hotel buffet offerings a bit pricey. Breakfast, I believe was around 12.50 euros per person and dinner 27 euors each. If you arrive on a Saturday, be prepared and bring something with you for breakfast as supermarkets in general in Austria are closed on a Sunday unless you pick something up at a petrol station.
We visited the pool once which was lovely and there was a large jacuzzi and a separate children's pool. Children however preferred to play in the jacuzzi which their parents did not discourage. So it you are looking for some relaxation choose the time of your visit well! We also used the the "fun bowling" one evening which was good fun but it should be note that this is not full size ten pin bowling as you get at large bowling alleys.
One thing that we found here that we did not encounter at other timeshare locations is that you had to have a housekeeping check before you could check out. It did not delay us and it was very quick. I note other reviewers comments about trash collection and towel change. This is normal practice for timeshare locations. Towels could be changed more often if required for a charge and if you need to empty the trash more regularly then there are usually bins for the purpose. the ones here, I believe were outside the main reception.
All in all we were very pleased with our stay here and would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank The_Bear_Brigade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    106
    30
    10
    1
See reviews for
108
87
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, Australia
Level Contributor
438 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We spent a week in this hotel (via an RCI timeshare) and enjoyed it very much.
We came in summer, so the town was not as busy as it undoubtedly is during the ski season, but there was still plenty to do and see in and around the town.

Our room had a small, but well equipped kitchen, plenty of living space and an enclosed balcony that looked over the town and adjacent mountains -wonderful breakfast spot with the sun streaming in. The bed was a bit of a surprise - a fold-down 'murphy' bed. Not sure why they bother with this arrangement, as the room is easily big enough to have a fixed bed - we left the murphy down the entire time. The mattress was a little on the hard side. When we mentioned this to the hotel staff, they immediately provided a an extra 'pillow top' layer which did the trick.

Th bathroom was a little small but perfectly adequate and, like the entire apartment, it was spotlessly clean,

The hotel provides paid parking adjacent to the hotel, and free parking at a remote lot about 5 minutes walk up a quite step road. We used the remote park without any great problem, through people with walking difficulties or babies in prams would have found it very hard.

Internet is available in the rooms (25 euros per week). It is unsecured Wifi with an unfortunate habit of dropping out regularly. The PC was able to auto-restore the connection, but the iPhone had to re-log in each time it dropped out.

As English speakers, we would have liked to watch a little TV, but unfortunately all channels were in German. BBC and CNN would have been very welcome additions, as would a DVD player and library,

Room Tip: Get a room facing the town/valley. The other side of the building just looks a the next hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank ChrisandJudy1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Had an RCI exchange week which we used to stay here.stayed in a one bedroom apartment facing the valley.Room was well equipped and had a partial kitchen and pantry with refrigerator and induction hot plates and a microwave.Beds were soft and luxurious.The staff was co operative and friendly.The entrance is a downhill walk from the train station just above the hotel and is about a km and fairly steep.Skilifts are adjacent to the station.Taxis take a roundabout way for 10 Euro.My wife and I always walked,even with our strolleys. It was a good aerobic workout in crisp alpine weather and the fabulous countryside.There is a Spar store and restaurants in easy walking distance.The town is very picturesque and easily walkable with some nice boutique shops We enjoyed a drink almost every evening at the cosy bar ..Housekeeping was generally on demand.Maybe they did not want to disturb the guests.There is a small gym and steambath in the hotel.

Room Tip: Valley facing,of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Arun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kongsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This comfortable hotel is situated central in Bad Gastein, but for those that haven't been to Bad Gastein earlier, the roads are quite steap so one has to expect a bit of up-hill walking to e.g. train station, Termal bath, and Skilifts. A fairly large hotel with many facilities, nice beakfast and parking.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony towards the vally offers a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norwegian76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Isle Rossshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Have just returned from fabulous week in this beautiful area in Austria. We upgraded to 1 bedroom apartment which was spacious,well equipped,very clean and with beautiful views of the valley. Staff were very pleasant,helpful and Sissy deserves a special mention for her patience and great general information when teaching us Nordic walking! The hotel is central and ideal for exploring the magnificent countryside. Bad Gastein is in stunning location but many shops,restaurants were closed when we were there and the central square has several majestic,old buildings now in poor state of repair. Neighbouring Bad Hofgastein is great and very much alive with super shops and good choice of restaurants. We had superb holiday and hope to return.

Room Tip: Ask for view of the valley and south/south west facing balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blackisleduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

It was my 2nd time in this hotel (1st 2011), both times we had rooms towards the valley, which made it a really nice view. We had 1 bedroom aprt. which was very nice, clean, nothing to complain about except for the pillows, which were very soft and "mushy".
We stayed for a week, all this time the towels were changed once (ok), and garbage removed once (not ok). To my best knowledge, as nothing seemed moved or changed, there was no cleaning during the whole week (not ok).
Receptionists were nice and friendly, Happy Hour offers a selection of beverages for a reduced price (16:30 to 17:30), dinner consisted of a buffet, they have no "a la carte" menu, which would actually be nice. Breakfast is also buffet (we haven't tried), there is ping pong table and bowling, spa, though we haven't tried all the selection.
I wish they had a scale for luggage, as I have seen in other hotels, this would be helpful for people who need to be aware of the max. baggage allowance for their flights.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MilaMila2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed in Mondi Holiday Bellevue for 1 week, the trip was our 3rd overall to this hotel.
Hotel is very nice and clean, service is good and apartments are very good.

Negative things:
Trash was not taken out single time during 1 week (we had a pile of garbage bags in apartment kitchen corner)
Pillows look and feel like they have been in use since 1990's (very flat and uncomfortable)
In restaurant, no ala' carte but only medium-level buffet (we ate only once in the restaurant because of this)
Internet was with separate payment, and did not support multi-device usage (we were only able to log 1 single computer to web). This is 2013 after all....they should keep with progress.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mikko L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bad Gastein
1.0 mi away
CESTA GRAND - Aktivhotel & Spa
CESTA GRAND - Aktivhotel & Spa
#10 of 36 in Bad Gastein
129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Salzburger Hof
Hotel Salzburger Hof
#1 of 36 in Bad Gastein
396 reviews
14.6 mi away
Alpina Family, Spa & Sporthotel
Alpina Family, Spa & Sporthotel
#4 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#6 of 36 in Bad Gastein
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Elisabethpark
Hotel Elisabethpark
#9 of 36 in Bad Gastein
320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Das Regina Hotel
Das Regina Hotel
#2 of 36 in Bad Gastein
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondi-Holiday Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondi-Holiday Bellevue

Property: Mondi-Holiday Bellevue
Address: K. H. Waggerl-Strasse 9 | 5640 Bad Gastein, Bad Gastein 5640, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Bad Gastein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bad Gastein
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Bad Gastein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mondi-Holiday Bellevue 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mondi-Holiday Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondi-Holiday Bellevue Hotel Bad Gastein
Mondi Holiday Bellevue Bad Gastein

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing