We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Excelsior Hotel & Kurhaus
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Bad Gastein
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Excelsior was much better than I could expect for a ski holiday. It has the air of bygone times with generously decorated spatial bedrooms and a few lounges to sit and a chapel under the same roof.The bathroom though was all modern, with a big tub and very good local water. The service, the food, the ski shuttle - all just excellent. Would gladly go again, may be in summer next time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 179 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was one of my most relaxing holidays ever! I went to Bad Gastein to take advantage of the Radon treatments and in the end the quality of the entire holiday was far beyond anything I could have expected.
The Villa Excelsior is run by a young couple who are only too happy to help out with your every need.
My room was very comfortable and had a fabulous view of the valley and the surrounding Mountains.
I had half board, so my rate which was very reasonable, included breakfast and dinner. All meals were fantastic! Nothing was too much trouble for these guys.
They drove me to all my treatments and picked me up afterwards. There were helpful with advise for walks and visits around the area.
A totally charming atmosphere and a hospitality that is hard to find these days. I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: A top floor room with a view of the valley is my recommendation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

I have traveled a bit, and this may be the most enjoyable place I ever stayed. The host and his wife and staff are extremely welcoming and committed to service. You feel like a personal guest here. The pension cultivates the genteel feel of a hotel in Bad Gastein's early 20th-century heyday. The rooms are comfortable, some with stunning views. The level of service is exceptional. We were offered complimentary transportation to and from the train station on the opposite slope of the valley. An unexpected highlight was the food. The fee for the room includes a nice breakfast buffet as well as dinner in the evening. All of our dinners were delicious. We were never tempted to eat anywhere else. Between the unique character of this pension, the attractive rooms, the dedicated service, and the excellent food, this pension is a rare find and an outstanding bargain.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markoboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The Old and Stylish place. You feel like hundred years ago. Common places you can sit, read, play chess or simply think. Breakfast with all you need. The dinner with five courses - choose in the morning, savor in the evening. Absolutely delicious. Rooms furnished with stylish, old furniture. Yes, you are in Old Austria. Excellent service: competent, friendly owners help with anything you need. Rooms very nice, fairly big. OK - a few grumbling in the end because previous opinions looks almost incredibly: an armchair needs some repair, there is a problem with noisy trains (especially during nights) so closing a window is almost a must. But - definitely recommended place!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobertARz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed at villa excelsior for one week in July 2013 and it was amazing: the location is great, the food is delicious and the service (Christof - the owner himself - and his wife) was perfect. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gmarkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed for one week there. Rooms are clean and spacious. Meals are excellent, we were on half-board. The lunches are exquisite as in a 5 star hotel, no regrets. Hotel administration is very welcome. definitely this hotel is worth visiting.

Room Tip: Ask rooms on the floor with sauna. Very comfortable and with big bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LenaAlena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

My fyrst skitrip,and this is the best tripp ever,the hotel was superb,and the staff also and the food
I am preparing next trip 2014.I think the lokation of the hotel is a big plus,you feel like home
Thanks

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARNAR O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christof E, Inhaber at Villa Excelsior Hotel & Kurhaus, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Oscar,
thanks for your comment! We are looking forward to have you back here!
Best regards
Christof & Johanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bad Gastein hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Salzburger Hof
Hotel Salzburger Hof
#2 of 36 in Bad Gastein
426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Das Regina Hotel
Das Regina Hotel
#1 of 36 in Bad Gastein
218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#7 of 36 in Bad Gastein
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miramonte
Hotel Miramonte
#5 of 36 in Bad Gastein
196 reviews
0.7 mi away
CESTA GRAND Aktivhotel & Spa
CESTA GRAND Aktivhotel & Spa
#9 of 36 in Bad Gastein
156 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mondi-Holiday Bellevue
Mondi-Holiday Bellevue
#6 of 36 in Bad Gastein
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Excelsior Hotel & Kurhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Excelsior Hotel & Kurhaus

Address: Reitlstrasse 20, Bad Gastein 5640, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Bad Gastein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bad Gastein
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bad Gastein
#4 Family Hotel in Bad Gastein
Price Range: $116 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Excelsior Hotel & Kurhaus 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Excelsior Hotel & Kurhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Excelsior Hotel And Kurhaus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing