We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place to relax at. We will definitely return."”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Excelsior Hotel & Kurhaus
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Bad Gastein
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We had a great stay for a full week to celebrate our 30th wedding day. The location is perfect, couldn't be better if you want to be close to the center of Bad Gastein and at the same time be close to nice walks. The hotel certainly lived up to its reputation. From the welcome to check out. The concierge desk with Christoff (actually the owner) is fantastic and service minded. The hotel is also sympathetically restored with a genuine historical atmosphere. Our room was clean, well maintained and had everything we needed. The bed was comfortable and had great feather pillows that you sink into. The breakfast and the dinner was (we had half board) good. Overall a great hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 179 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2011

It was a very wonderful to live at Villa Excelsior. Excellent views, high level of service, excellent meals with sounds of classical music.. Charming old secession style which I like the best. Quiet and relaxing place.
The leading hotel Christopher and his staff are very polite and helpful. Very nice room service.
I was there with my children and we used to ski - higher in mountains there were good conditions for skiing( very good prepared ), much of sunny days and really good private ski shuttle taxis so there weren't any problems with transport of sport equipment.
Afrernoons we visited Bad Gastein -it's a very beautiful place surrounded by the mountains( great views! splendid waterfall!).
Once we visited Alpenterme in Bad Hofgastein - place worth seeing and swimming especially with children :)

I absolutely recomend this place for stay...

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LucynkaKielce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

I have just come home from a very wonderful stay at Villa Excelsior. I absolutely will recomend this hotel, and hope to go back in the future. The hotel is kept in a charming old style, and is quiet and relaxing, with very good food in the restaurant. The hotel owner Christopher and his personal, have everything in control. The massage , Thermal showers and sauna in the hotel is wonderful, and is just nice after a long walk in the mountains. Bad Gastein is a very beatiful place sorrounded by the mountains. Enjoy the walk in the mountains, but be careful to chose the route who sutes you in difficulties.
Regards, Lisbeth Pedersen - Denmark

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lfpedersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2008

I first came across this hotel in 2005, and have continued to go back every year since including my intended stay this year again. It has a lovely charm, very quiet with beautiful views. The owner Christof is a wonderful host. Private taxis are laid on for you in the morning during ski season to take you to the slopes - just remember to put your name down at reception the night before. Although I have never stayed for half board, breakfast is more than you could want, and I have heard from another friend whom I recommend they stay there, that the dinner was also delightful. It has a wonderful history with a chapel inside the actual hotel. For non religious people don't let that put you off, as you wouldn't know of its existence unless you happen to go exploring. It was also the home of Sigmund Freud when he stayed in Bad Gastein.
The only thing I will advise people on is that while the walk to the village centre is a short beautiful walk, to get up to the train station is a pretty steep climb. So you need to either be prepared for it, or get a bus or taxi if you intend on travelling out in the evening. The walk back is all downhill so that's fine! I really would recommend this hotel for its warm, peaceful, personal touch.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Lara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2006

This is an old establishment that was built in Bad Gasteins first golden age around 1900. The last major reconstruction was made in the 1960s. This means that the rooms and the common areas are very nice and festive in a cozy, old-fashioned way, but also that not every detail is perfect in a modern sense. We liked our stay because of that, and we especially appreciated the very warm welcome, and also the nice food. We would return.

Stayed: February 2006
3  Thank Kistner1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank gege582017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Vittorio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bad Gastein hotels
0.3 mi away
Das Regina Hotel
Das Regina Hotel
#1 of 36 in Bad Gastein
215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#7 of 36 in Bad Gastein
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miramonte
Hotel Miramonte
#5 of 36 in Bad Gastein
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Salzburger Hof
Hotel Salzburger Hof
#2 of 36 in Bad Gastein
423 reviews
0.7 mi away
CESTA GRAND Aktivhotel & Spa
CESTA GRAND Aktivhotel & Spa
#9 of 36 in Bad Gastein
154 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mondi-Holiday Bellevue
Mondi-Holiday Bellevue
#6 of 36 in Bad Gastein
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Excelsior Hotel & Kurhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Excelsior Hotel & Kurhaus

Address: Reitlstrasse 20, Bad Gastein 5640, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Bad Gastein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bad Gastein
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bad Gastein
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bad Gastein
#4 Family Hotel in Bad Gastein
Price Range: $115 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Excelsior Hotel & Kurhaus 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Excelsior Hotel & Kurhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Excelsior Hotel And Kurhaus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing