We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AN EXCELLENT DINNER”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CESTA GRAND - Aktivhotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Bad Gastein
Certificate of Excellence
Rowlands Gill, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“AN EXCELLENT DINNER”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

While staying at a nearby property, I took my wife and two close friends to the hotel for dinner to celebrate my wife's birthday. It was a delightful experience from start to finish. The food was outstanding. Three of the group had lobster soup and all agreed it was outstanding. Two of the party had the venison and agreed it was the best they had tasted in a long while and then finally three of the group had the exquisite "Salzburger Nockerln" soufflé dessert , which is UNMISSABLE! The other food was superb, too and the service , always attentive, was understated yet outstandingly good. It was great value for money and a very enjoyable birthday treat.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    40
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
32
63
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 1 week last year during the Fasching Ferien and were very happy with our holiday. Have booked again for the Fasching Ferien this year and was extremely diappointed to find on the invoice that an extra €150 will be 'Zahlbar vor Ort' for a Heringsschmaus meal on 05.03.14. That's quite a lot of money for a bit of fish!
Please be aware of this if you are thinking of booking this hotel for the Fasching Ferien as it is not clear on all internet booking sites. You have to click through to other websites to read the small print.
To be fair, the meals at the hotel are really good, but this cost (which we didn't incur last year) should have been included in the 'Gesamtpreis' of the holiday rather than being hidden in the small print.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CazCMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiyv
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Guys. It is a great hotel! If you will able to come here? do not pass off. You would be estonished in good conditioins. I can not tell you something bad, just because there are not there. Firstli I would like to start from catering and lunch. Breakfast not bad, good. I could not forget to notice abot fresh juices: orange, apple, carrot and lemon. Lunch was excellent: If you ever had a lunch with live musik, performed by well-known pianist, you will not be surprised. Chef is a master of his job, every day he invents new course, and there is an open-kitchen.
You can be transfered to the chairlifts with two vans: Mercedes and Wolksvagen, ceartanly it is free. There is a swimming pool with hot water from mountain springs. 6 types of saunas. Also available kinder room with toys, remote control vehicles and infant bed. In hotel you have opportunity to rent ski and snowboard. Ping-pong, snooker - considered the best world sports are acceptable. All stuff are easygoing<, friendly speaking guys. Excellent hotel for winter holidays.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svitlana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

On a day trip into the Gastein valley we stopped for lunch when we saw the large terrace filled with tables and umbrellas. Being not terribly hungry we chose the "Haustoast" (grilled ham and cheese with fried egg on top accompanied by a small tomato and lettuce salad).

Rinsed down with a kleines bier it was by far the best sandwich we've eaten in a long time. The bright sun, crisp air and mountain scenery possibly helped us to enjoy our meal. And the good news, the bill came to 20.20 euro which seemed to me to be reasonable.

The hotel, although from the seventies judging by the decor, was immaculately maintained.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fraser M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

the quality of service there is amazing. waiters are always there, they "read your mind", super professional, make the whole experience. the hotel is huge, but everything is easily accessible from two restaurants and a hotel bar to ski storage and toilets, all situated so that you can reach them immediately. the sauna and pool area is there and I used it. the pool is small, so don't think about swimming, rather about floating among screaming children. sauna is available for nudes only, many rooms with many types of sauna, nice experience if you happen to be in there with people who are in shape. I did not go to the spa area, but it is quite popular as far as I reckoned passing by.

Room Tip: don't count your money, just go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asmigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

From the rooms to breakfast and facilities everything in this hotel was excellent! A counrtyside hotel, with a great view to Austrian mountains. They have even champagne for breakfast!!!
During your stay you can find anything you need. Form sauna and thermal swimming pool to your personal gymnast even more proposals to spend your day.
The rooms are spacious and the stuff very friendly. It's a little far from the Bad Gastein or Bad Hofgatsein (it's in the middle) but there is a bus station just outside the hotel.
If you need a relaxing escape I surely recommend you this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have great view to the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silver_Greece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The hotel is five star and it's n a good location. There is a mini bus that you can use to get to the train station. It is a luxurious hotel with big and comfortable rooms. Our room was tidy and was cleaned every day. The only bad thing was the smeel coming from the manure that farmers use in the area. When you open the window the room gets filled with this horrible smell!
The breakfast room is spacious enough but you cannot find a continental breakfast. All the dishes are based on german flavours. The staff was polite and helpful. The area is very picturesque and beautiful. I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank effie111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bad Gastein hotels
1.0 mi away
Mondi-Holiday Bellevue
Mondi-Holiday Bellevue
#7 of 36 in Bad Gastein
258 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Salzburger Hof
Hotel Salzburger Hof
#1 of 36 in Bad Gastein
409 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Excelsior Hotel & Kurhaus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#6 of 36 in Bad Gastein
146 reviews
0.9 mi away
Das Regina Hotel
Das Regina Hotel
#2 of 36 in Bad Gastein
184 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Miramonte
Hotel Miramonte
#3 of 36 in Bad Gastein
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CESTA GRAND - Aktivhotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CESTA GRAND - Aktivhotel & Spa

Property: CESTA GRAND - Aktivhotel & Spa
Address: Miesbichlstrasse 20, Bad Gastein 5640, Austria (Formerly Europäischer Hof)
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Bad Gastein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Bad Gastein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CESTA GRAND - Aktivhotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The team in the Hotel CESTA GRAND in Bad Gastein welcome you, to this impressive mountain setting. Here state-of-the-art comfort is perfectly combined with quality and tradition. An exclusive stay in well-being rooms and suites awaits, as does culinary delights in the restaurants. Gourmet half board with luxurious buffet breakfast served until 10:30 a.M. In the evening you get choose your own personal 4-course gourmet menu from the a-la-carte selection. A salad buffet to start with and a cheese board rounds off the menu. Home-made pastries in the Cafe, which has a sun terrace; aperitif or cocktail in the Kamin-Bar and the Klause. - which has seasonal opening hours - with tasty treats from the region.Leisure offerThe year-round sports programme comprises lots of sports, activity and motivational offers. In spring and summer as well as golf, hiking, cycling & mountain biking, tennis and skiing in the sunshine are also on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your CESTA GRAND - Aktivhotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing